We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wedding Venue and/or just a great getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Monte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castello di Monte to your Saves list
Castello di Monte
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   402 Aries Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0102, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 310 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Wedding Venue and/or just a great getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We hired the entire venue for our wedding! Worth every cent! Food was amazing, rooms, service, cosy atmosphere, fire place burning (got married in winter 2 years ago)! Just a perfect place for a perfect day ! Got compliments of the best wedding ever! Thank you Castello!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Good day Hannelie

Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent exclusive use wedding.

I'm sure we will see you for your anniversary next year, if not sooner..

Kind Regards
Ferdi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
59
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had a fantastic time at Castello di Monte!
The beautiful guesthouse with breathtaking views of Pretoria, great food in the private sitting room with a cosy fireplace and superb service made it really a special and memorable stay to celebrate my husband's birthday.
Thank you for making it so special! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Good day LindaDeLange

Thank you for your review of your and your husband's recent visit.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Ferdi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
488 reviews 488 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

A small boutique accommodation in the better part of Pretoria. Rooms are very very spacious and well appointed.

The greeting and welcome was well done and personal. The meals were great, all prepared after order, but served in a timely manner. We had dinner and two breakfasts, all very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Good day CocoTampa

Thank you for your recent visit and wonderfull review of Castello Di Monte.

It's always a pleasure to welcome our guests who appreciate our efforts.

Kind Regards
Ferdi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We flew in from the UK and went straight to Castello. We loved this guest house. The room was superb. Large, clean, tidy and with an enormous bed. Our only regret was that we only had one night there. I would wholeheartidly recommend Castello and will stay there for longer next time.
Anything wrong with it ? The Wi-fi was very weak, but worked if you sat on the toilet !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Good day David

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Castello Di Monte and pointing out the issue with the wi-fi, we will be looking into it.

We hope to see you again in the future, this time for a longer stay.

Kind Regards
Ferdi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic Of The Congo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

As I frequently travel and stay over at a number of hotels, I can confidently say that the luxury and extravagance one might expect from a boutique hotel, have been more than met. Thank you to OJ and his highly skilled and welcoming team for a fantastic weekend, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Good day George

Thank you for your review.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Castello.

Kind Regards
Ferdi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Thank you very much for such a wonderful experience. When we entered the magnificent entrance, we knew that we were in for a treat. We were greeted with juice and shown to our room in person. We are not quite sure why, but we were given the Presidential Suite! It was truly the grandest room we have ever stayed in.

We had a private dinner on the terrace and the next morning we had a very satisfying breakfast, included in the charge.

This is truly a place for relaxing and we plan to recommend it to all of our friends! The manager and all of the staff made this a perfect experience.

Room Tip: We had a look in some of the other rooms and honestly, they are all beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Good day SherTexas

Thank you for your recent visit to Castello Di Monte, we are very happy and satisfied of your wonderfull experience.

We hope to see you again on your travels.

Kind Regards
Ferdi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, Sandton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Castello di Monte is truely a beatufiul and tranquil property. The rooms are very well appointed high up on the high, you have the best views 360degrees from various terraces and balconies.
Sunset is so pretty, food is wonderful and service is great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Good day Loralie

Thank you for your recent visit and wonderfull review of Castello Di Monte.

Hope to see you soon..

Kind Regards
Ferdi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello di Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monte

Address: 402 Aries Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0102, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 310 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Monte 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Monte Is a Five Star Guest House, situated in Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria. The Tuscan style estate portrays pure luxury and elegance and offers spectacular views of the hills in and around the capital city. The landscaped gardens with mature olive trees and lavender bushes give an Italian flavour to the African landscape.You will hardly notice that you are in the middle of a bustling city. At Castello di Monte it is easy to believe that you had found paradise Introduction If luxury is in the detail, then a stay at Castello di Monte is filled with pure indulgence whether you are walking the dramatic stairways made of the finest granite or feasting on the elegant art that adorns our walls you will be pressed to find a more extravagant surroundings. Be it for a corporate meeting or a romantic getaway on our Panoramic deck, Castello di Monte offers the perfect setting. When it is time to retire, you will be spoiled for choice. Will it be our presidential suite complete with a grand fire place and a four post bed or our honeymoon suite decorated with hand painted murals or our freshly made classic rooms fit for royalty, a sumptuous night is ensured. Castello di Monte's sixteenth century splendour is complimented by every modern amenity. Fully stocked minibars and DSTV right down to underfloor heating, air-conditioning and the creature comforts of tea, coffee and local papers, at Castello di Monte your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Castello di Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Monte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.