We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eisbein & Company

Eisbein & Company
Rossouwstreet | Die Wilgers, Pretoria, South Africa
0128075990
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 364 Restaurants in Pretoria
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Eisbein & Co. Willows Mall, Rossouw Street, Willows, Pretoria Tel +27 12 807 5990
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

After having been to the excellent German bakery and butchery just down the road from this restaurant, we thought this would be a winner for sure. What a disappointment. Over-cooked food, stuffy atmosphere, poor choice of German beer...I could go on. It was a waste of time, and money. We left as soon as we could after the forgettable meal, never to return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to Eisbein & Co with my parents and children.Food was very good,I had the pork shoulder,can recommend this restaurant to all and sundry.Also had a Weissbier,first time in a long while.Sevice was also outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great German food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had a most enjoyable evening at the Eisbein & Co. Fabulous food! Very friendly service! Will definitely go back soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant with Excellent German Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We are two couples who annually celebrate our wedding anniversaries in a restaurant somewhere in or around Pretoria. This year we celebrated at Eisbein & Co. It was not our first visit and as always, it was once again very good. The decor is very basic, but the food is excellent and you will not easily find better German food in a restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food and nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have been visiting the Esbein & Company for many years. The quality and portion sizes have always been good. Ronald makes without a doubt the world's best eisbein - confirmed by my German friends from abroad. The sole is also outstanding - great allround experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eisbein & Company also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Eisbein & Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eisbein & Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.