We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and Sound in Pretoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opikopi Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Opikopi Guest House to your Saves list
Opikopi Guest House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   581 Verdi Street | Erasmuskloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 303 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Ware, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Safe and Sound in Pretoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in early June.

The guest house is located in a quiet residential area that includes a gated area. Initially it was a trifle difficult to find but once achieved it is an easy journey from the M10.

Opikopi is an extensive complex of rooms, conference centre, chapel, restaurant and bar plus small swimming pool with outside seating plus adequate parking.

We stayed in room 6 which turned out to be the honeymoon suite. It was a very well appointed room with large bed, easy chairs, a large bathroom with Jacuzzi bath with views over Pretoria and a large walk in shower. The room had nice touches which included robes and a small decanter of sherry which was refilled everyday. In addition there was a small kitchen with microwave and fridge plus plates and cutlery. Finally there was a small terraced area with table and chairs and a view over the surrounding area.

The guest house has a restaurant in which we ate at during our stay. The menu was well priced and offered a range of dishes that turned out to be tasty and well cooked. I had the fillet steak that was exceptionally well cooked and ranks as one of the best meals we have had in South Africa only to be outdone by Yum Yum in Tzaneen. Breakfast was an extensive affair with eggs cooked to order with bacon and sausage on a hotplate. Of note was the most sophisticated toaster in the world which despite being complex did provide evenly cooked toast.

We weren't sure what to expect from our time in Pretoria (and Joburg). But with the help of Duncan we quickly had all 4 days planned with trips to downtown Pretoria, Cullinan Diamond mine, Soweto, the Vortrekker monument as well as a trip on a train which was an eye opener. In addition to Duncan we must thank Corneille and Sonnyboy for all there help and good humour.

We enjoyed our stay at Opikopi and it passed the acid test that means we would be more than happy to stay again and recommend it to others. Thank You.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
13
Solo
0
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Spacious, nicely decorated, comfortable rooms; suberb breakfast, very friendly host and staff; everything is top level! Unfortunately we had dinner somewhere else (which turned out to be quite a mistake), so we only took our dessert at Opikopi’s restaurant. The chocolate vulcano was delicious. We will come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Opikopi is great. The atmosphere and the rooms are lovely - very homely and comfortable, complete with extra little touches like a small carafe of sherry on the dressing table. The hosts Pieter and Helen are so nice and welcoming, and their staff are friendly and capable - Sonnybill's smile will stay with us forever! Anything we wanted to do was no problem, and organised in a flash. After a four-day stay we went back two weeks later and were greeted like family! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I organized a tour of Southern Africa in light aircraft. The group stayed 4 days prior to the trip commencing & another night after returning. We all found the rooms & amenities to be up to a high standard, but the point that was the most noticeable was the friendliness & willingness to help from Peter & Helen & their staff. From organizing transport for the group & taking guests to shops, to personally meeting us at airports. On return there was a genuine interest in the happenings of the days events. The meals were always of a very high standard & well received.
They went the extra mile for guests to make all feel welcome, sometimes in stressfull times. I thoroughly recommend a stay at Opikopi.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is such a pleasant surprise. Excellent,safe location with beautiful views of Pretoria from the heights of Erasmusrand.This close to the major shopping district in Pretoria.

The units are large.The one that we are in has a main bedroom and 1 room adjascent. A seperate bathroom with a jaccuzzi bath. A double shower was such a treat.

Also a seperate walk in cupboard and dressing area.

Breakfasts are great and dinner is available a la carte.

Large swimming pool in a tranquil setting with meticulously tended gardens.

What a delight to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Lovely, pretty place. Very clean with gorgeous bed linen, soft robes and good room facilities. Fridge is a nice touch. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and I had a great stay. It's in a very nice part of town, and very quiet. I need to come back in summer so that I can use the pool; bit chilly in June! Thanks xx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This Guesthouse is situated in a safe part of Pretoria East. The rooms are apcious and very stylish - loved the bed. The breakfast was good and there's a sparkling swimming pool to cool off on the warmer days. Well located. I can definitely recommend this one!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opikopi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opikopi Guest House

Address: 581 Verdi Street | Erasmuskloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Opikopi Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA Tourism Winner as BEST GUEST HOUSE IN SOUTH AFRICA WITH DINNERS IN 2012 AND 2014. Tshwane Tourism Award Winner 2010: Guest HouseOpikopi is situated centrally in a quiet Eastern Pretoria suburb called Erasmuskloof and is close to numerous attractions and offices: Botanical Gardens, Voortrekker Monument, Union Buildings, Menlyn shopping Mall, Sita Offices, Kloof Medic Clinic, Waterkloof and Wingate Park Golf Course, N1 freeway and only 20 min from OR Tambo Airport! This makes our Guest House ideal for the local and international visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Opikopi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opikopi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.