We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service - Roodevallei” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faircity Roodevallei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Faircity Roodevallei to your Saves list
Faircity Roodevallei
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 81 Zeekoegat | Kameeldrift, Pretoria 0039, South Africa (Formerly Roode Vallei Country Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Pretoria
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent Service - Roodevallei”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Thank you very much for all your assistance with our two day meeting we had at your venue. Your staff is very friendly and always willing to assist. The upgrade done to your premises is tremendous and is truly a home away from. It was everything we hoped for and more.

Keep up the good work. I look forward to seeing you all again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Good Day Helen,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback! I will carry your message across to our staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    14
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
5
1
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

i have been at many resorts before but must say roodevallei 5 stars to you for a first time impression well done( lawrence reception & barend and all the friendly staff ) they even helped me out when my baby ran out of milk at no charge ( tank u roodevallei baby) thank you all see you this weekend again thats how impressed i am . only a small suggestion if possible if baby comes along again maybe a small (bar fridge) to keep babys things cool.....use dont use it . thanks roodevallei

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Chantyabegail

Thank you for your positive response
We are so delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us.

All our guests are very important to use no matter the age and we are pleased we were able to assist with the special needs of baby.

We can provide fridges in the rooms to assist in keeping items cold and fresh. Please note that this is subject to availability and needs to be requested with the reservationist at the time of making your booking

We look forward o welcoming the family back this weekend and hope you have another memorable stay with us


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I will certainly remember Roodevallei for its stunning scenery and lovely atmosphere. It definitely qualify as luxury and cosy. I never knew that we had such beautiful place so close to the city. It’s amazing how the place just absorb you from the moment you set foot on their property. You just automatically go into relaxed mode. It is great for business meetings and also fantastic just for a weekend family getaway. For hospitality I can give Roodevallei a perfect 10 out of 10 as you could immediately feel that being friendly was not a job to them, it came naturally. Good food, good friendly service with great hospitality and beautiful scenery…..what more can you ask for. It's one hotel you'll never forget. I can recommend Roodevallei to anyone for any occasion.

**A special thanks to the people who assist me in arranging everything and helped me to make our stay memorable: Brian, Debbie, Barend and all the others whose names I can’t remember (sorry guys)….You were great and very helpful from start to finish. Hope to visit RV soon.

Vernice Williams
Matthew Goniwe School of Leadership
Johannesburg

Room Tip: You should definitly get a room that look out on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Vernicew

Thank you for the very nice review of the property.
It really is a magnificent property with all the beautiful landscapes. The peacefulnes and tranquility is so calming you forget you are a mere 30 minutes from the city centre.

Our staff are very accomodating and try assist as much as possible to ensure all our guests have a pleasant stay, one worth remembering for years to come.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A recent confernce held for top executives in the country was held at Roodevallei. Delegates were happy with the level of service received from the lodge staff as well as the facilties that were accessible to them.
Friendly staff made it easy to relax despite having a very high status guest list.
Meals were pleasant and timely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Nishana N

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the conference held at Faircity Roodevallei.

We are so pleased to hear the delegates of the conference enjoyed their stay with us.
We pride ourselves on our ability to have tailor made packages suitable for all levels of delegates and guests staying over.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group in the near future


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a great time, service was excellent. Food was devine and lots of variety to choose from, from african cuisine, sea food to mention the few. the style of Buffet. We were a group of 30 people and we all fell special and were attended to even thou the resturant was full.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Vuvu Z

Thank you for your positive response
We are so pleased you and your party enjoyed the hospitality and fine food Roodevallei has to offer.

Our buffets have a variety of dishes from various cultures and countries across the world and change on a daily basis. We hope to welcome you and your party back in the near future to experience more of our hospitality and cuisine

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I booked 3 different groups that arrived at different times and days. I found the booking process easy and even easier once the people started to arrive. My group consisted of 75 people from all over South Africa, and they quickly found the place. Roodevallei was very accommodating and helpful when some people cancelled at the last minute and others just arrived without prior notification. Roodevallei’s reception office received all the guests and allocated their rooms in a friendly and professional way which gave me the freedom and peace of mind to concentrate on other priorities. The group reported that they felt at home and that they were treated with excellent service, accommodation and meals. The grounds are beautiful, green and lush. Even if one comes for a brainstorming and work, one still feels relaxed and rested in these peaceful surroundings. Our guests could move around freely, day or night, without any concerns for their safety. Some delegates made use of the babysitting services offered by Roodevallei and were very pleased with their genuine care. The billing was clear, accurate and a pleasure to pay after what we experienced.

I came to Roodevallei the week after our conference in a personal capacity and brought my family along, and found that Roodvallei’s hospitality, environment and staff kept the same high standards with us as with the group. They are consistent in their hospitality, and I look forward to spending a weekend there again.

Room Tip: Double store accommodation for business and the little units next to river for more privicay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear DebbieTCN

Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are so pleased your conference went well and that your delegates made full use of all the facilities available.
We pride ourselves on our beautiful landscapes and the serenity that accompanies it. It is indeed a tranquil place to come and relax and still be close to the city

Thank you for staying at the property on a personal capacity with your family to experience our individual hospitality and not only conferencing.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family as well as any other conference you book with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is still completing refurbishments and I am sure when done it will move up a notch. My room on this occasion was small but clean. Bathroom furnishings was fantastic. Cleaning staff are good. Negatives include water collecting in the shower and walls being paper thin. Hotel does however offer free WiFi

Room Tip: Get the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Good day sir,

thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on your stay. Yes we are doing some refurbishment work on the property (which we are excited about) and your comments will definitely guide us as to where we need to focus our efforts. Any other feedback will be more than appreciated.

Thank you for complimenting our cleaning staff. I will ensure your feedback is relayed to them...

We look forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faircity Roodevallei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Roodevallei

Address: Plot 81 Zeekoegat | Kameeldrift, Pretoria 0039, South Africa (Formerly Roode Vallei Country Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Faircity Roodevallei 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faircity Roode Vallei lies on the banks of the Pienaar's River, surrounded by a nature reserve and bird sanctuary. Set as it is, north of Pretoria and on the slopes of the Magalies Mountains, the climate and vegetation is that of the game-park bushveld to the North. A peaceful environment that is conducive to communication and decision-making enhances our lodge, which is staffed and equipped primarily for conferences.Faircity Roode Vallei offers conference planners the convenience of a beautiful bushveld setting only forty-five minutes from Johannesburg City and OR Tambo International Airport.The professional input of our Conference Coordinators will ensure that your company can personalise your activities and experience, whilst promoting interaction, co-operation and enhancing team spirit. The privacy of our lodge, without intrusion from holidaymakers and day visitors, will ensure that events remain focused. Our conference centre offers a choice of air-conditioned conference venues, breakaway rooms, registration and function areas – all named after the birds that frequent the sanctuary. Faircity Roode Vallei also offers a variety of team building events. ‘Our Valley Restaurant’ has grown from the original farmhouse, but has not lost its rustic charm and unique ambience. The restaurant kitchen is known for its generous country style buffets, creating exciting menus of traditional and international cuisine that vary daily. Fresh breads, pastries and desserts are baked and prepared on the premises every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Faircity Roodevallei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faircity Roodevallei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.