We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, a very quick business trip and just what I had hoped for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascades Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cascades Guest House to your Saves list
Cascades Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   174 Premier Street | Waterkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 311 Pretoria B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Excellent, a very quick business trip and just what I had hoped for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Cascades is the reason I like non-chain places to stay. I know that going independent can be a lottery but this was a winner. Individual, safe, pleasant, peaceful, welcoming, comfortable and clean. While I didn't have the full breakfast it looked excellent. Close to some great restaurants and in what seemed to be a safe neighbourhood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks Bernie, you summarise so succinctly what we aim for, the welcoming friendliness, comfort and cleanliness... we are also very proud of our peaceful garden setting in the centre of the business area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
7
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending just over four months at the Cascades. Our experience was exceptional. The staff is extremely professional yet very kind and thoughtful tending to our every need as well as offering great suggestions for shopping, dining out, yoga and vacation spots. Our apartment was furnished tastefully, the beds were very comfortable, the linens were of high quality and the kitchen was appointed with everything we needed. The Cascades is located in a quiet, lovely tree lined neighborhood that is wonderful for walking to nearby restaurants, pharmacy, shopping and a grocery store. The grounds are lovely and very nicely maintained. We highly recommend The Cascades for conferences, short term and long term stays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Wow, I am so glad you enjoyed our long term apartment that much! I must say, you felt more like neighbours than clients...and we miss you now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were fortunate to spend an evening in the Guest House. A wonderful break and my husband was able to see their conference facilities as well. Lovely, tranquil setting with all the service needed plus a wonderful breakfast. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Did not require a fitness center or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I´m so happy you enjoyed the guesthouse. So THANK YOU for enjoying our garden setting and the beautiful account of your experience, for enjoying all that we love to share with all our guests. Wishing to be able to see you some day again, I send you my very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very friendly owner, quiet location, good breakfast, ver personal service

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for writing this lovely review and including the exact features that we are known for: the quiet, central location and personal service.
Happy traveling!
Ansie Sevenster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

I highly recommend the Cascades Guest House in Waterkloof. Our family lived at the Cascades for over two months and the accommodations were very close to home! Every room has one-of-a-kind furnishings and a patio. The grounds are idyllic, with two Koi ponds, fountains, a pool, a hot tub and immaculate gardens. There are two dogs to enjoy if you are homesick for your pets. The staff is courteous and helpful. My family needed a multitude of things, and their answers are always, "It's a pleasure." The last wonderful attribute of the Cascades Guest House is its convenience to shopping, and dining, I walked to all!!!! As new residents to South Africa, this was a perfect first stop.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We loved the space, calm atmosphere and privacy. Everything is immaculate, anything is available and all your needs is anticipated without having to cope with over friendly owners or managers.
The gardens and ponds are conducive for wonderful cool summer evenings.
Everybody loved the breakfast, the teenagers was super impressed with internet services and I appreciated that I could make my first cup of tea in the room.
Visiting from Canada, we especially appreciated the A/C.
Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascades Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades Guest House

Address: 174 Premier Street | Waterkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 311 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish bed and breakfast and self catering accommodation & conference facilities in Waterkloof, central Pretoria. Relax in our tranquil surrounds. Enjoy our superior facilities and those little extras designed to make yours a total experience in excellence. 14 Stylish en-suite bedrooms have private entrances. We have 2 luxury apartments (2 bedrooms) and smaller self catering flats available for long term stays. We now have conference facilities which can accommodate up to 30 delegates comfortably. Breakfast and wifi included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cascades Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascades Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.