We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff deserve 5-star, hotel itself is average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas Luxury Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Villas Luxury Suite Hotel to your Saves list
The Villas Luxury Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   276 Orient Street | Arcadia, Pretoria 83, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Pretoria
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Staff deserve 5-star, hotel itself is average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was conveniently located for a short business trip to Pretoria. The staff were excellent throughout and very friendly. The hotel has sizeable rooms and comfortable beds and wifi works well. But there's no real heating in the rooms which is an issue when the overnight temperature is near zero.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel was arranged for me, and I enjoyed the stay. The breakfast was very good (compared to most hotel offerings)...large buffet spread with some cook-to-order items. The service was very friendly and attentive, and given the reputation of Pretoria, the place was adequately clean and felt safe. I would stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was booked in The Villas by our colleagues in Pretoria. Came in with low expectations; already impressed by day 1. If there is only one word to describe this hotel, it would be "service-oriented". The frontliners/reception render friendly, efficient, helpful service and it is always the first impression any guest checking-in would have (I hope). Kudos to Linda, Claudine, Elisabeth, Zaza, Anne and others in front office for work well done. Other staff whose names I can remember are Louie, Peter, Debbie, Christie (from F&B).

The breakfast spread is good as it caters to many different tastes. The group I was with never had any bad word about it. I particularly liked the omelette, warm food (sausage, bacon, grilled tomato, potatoes) and I loved their fresh slices of fruits. I do have a not-so-good rating for the restaurant though. Ate dinner once with friends and it took more than an hour's wait for three main dishes although we were the first customers to sit down (must be worse for those who came after us) and mistakes were made with drinks orders. If it wasn't for the waiter's very kind and friendly nature, we would have left because we were already hungry after the long wait. As said, this is one time experience, maybe I was just unlucky that night. But it led to my four-star rating.

The rooms are spacious, with kitchenette, complimentary coffee and tea, clean, bathrooms with both shower and bathtub, table for dining or writing. Wifi for free and always working.

Conference facilities are good. Garden and surroundings cozy. The pool is probably too small for swimmers, but it did not bother me as I am not a swimming pool lover. There is access to mobile massage therapist. I have tried it myself, very good value for money and it is a plus there is enough space for the massage table.

Will I go back to the Villas? Yes, I can bring my family or a conference group here. I know that their service level is so high so I am confident I would be in good hands.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet rooms, ask for blocks D-E. Corner back rooms have windows in the bathroom. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful and very convenient hotel. Staff was so helpful, friendly, and very accommodating. Breakfast was great. Laundry room on site to do your own or can have it done for a small fee. Wireless Internet is free. Felt very safe on the campus with extensive lighting and CCTV along with security guards. Full stocked bar and restaurant in house with room service. Great location to Loftus Field for Blue Bulls Rugby and Woolworth's 2 blocks away.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location, very friendly staff, walking distance to food grocers and restaurants. Bedrooms okay. Quite standard and limited on the charm front, but it has everything you need and is incredibly central for working trips. Across the way from the US embassy. Ideal for a stay in Pretoria of more than 2 days and if you want the option to semi-self cater. Mattresses are not great though. I could feel the springs in my bed. Time to get new mattresses!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice place and very conducive for children. Excellent customer care. Food was great, I stayed there for a week and enjoyed everthing i ordered.The suite was nice however the bathroom needs some improvement, looks a bit old and tired.I would love to stay there again. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Family-friendly accommodations are a little difficult to find in Pretoria, but we were happy with our stay at the Villas. We got a two-bedroom suite and it is always a plus to have the kids sleep in a separate room. The suite was very spacious similar to to temporary stay corporate lodging. We were very comfortable there. The breakfast spread was amazing and had lots of choices where everyone in the family could eat something they liked. The restaurant wasn't the greatest, but after a long day of travel on our first night, we didn't feel like eating out and all of the grocery stores were closed for the day. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone traveling with children.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas Luxury Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas Luxury Suite Hotel

Address: 276 Orient Street | Arcadia, Pretoria 83, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas Luxury Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Villas Luxury Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas Luxury Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.