We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the greatest stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/O Jeppe and Trevenna | Sunnyside, Pretoria 136, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #16 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not the greatest stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

stayed here over the long weekend in september,asked for a family room but got a room with a double bed and sleeper couch which we had to make and had to dress the couch as well for the night,the aircon didnt work in my room when i did inform them when i arrived ,i was told it takes time to come on.The breakfast is not one of the greatest,definetly wouldnt go back ,surrounding is not to my liking ,way too many people lurking around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Wahida H,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the air conditioning and for the poor breakfast selection. We will look into this. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
16
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vila Velha, ES
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
220 hotel reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We loved the location of the Holiday Inn Express Pretoria with easy acces from the highway when coming from Jo´burg. There is a mall attached to the hotel, where we had a good dinner in pub type restaurant. The room was spacious and parking was free.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I keep coming back to this hotel because it is nice and central, very good from which to conduct our business around Pretoria. It is adjoined by a mall, so you have easy access to a variety of food if you prefer to eat outside the hotel. Great rooftop pool too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I booked a group stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Pretoria based on reviews from Tripadvisor. When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised at how updated and nice the hotel was. The location was central, and the attached shopping mall offers many food options (costs less than the hotel restaurant).

The one issue that we had was when we checked in- our initial room did not have a knob to turn on the shower. After calling down to the front desk, a maintenance person did not come up until after we went down ourselves. We were eventually moved to another room (it wasn't that big of an inconvenience but worth noting).

Notes:
Pool was under a two day maintenance while we were there but was surrounded ya nice patio.
The higher floors have a great view of the Union Building (especially in the evening).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The hotel is OK, bit hard to find if you put "holidayInn, Pretoria" into your sat nav. You would be led to two other places where hotels of other brand are located. Hotel itself is clean and quite above HI Express standards I know from UK. There is no gym or pool but common area is good, also rooms are more of US than UK HI Express size. The hotel is attached (there is direct walkaway) to shopping center and parking so if you do not like hotel's restaurant you have more choices handy.

Staff was helpful and nice, the only conflict caused by false information of car park operations was sorted out quickly and efficiently.

Area of "Sunnypark" around the hotel is bit of local nightlife spot, to not say red light district but if you stick to hotel and shopping center you are safe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

I was at this hotel in May 2012. The rooms are ok in size and clean however I was disappointment that there was no cupboard or small fridge (even not on request and that's a bummer if you are staying for long). There is also no gym however the hotel does have a roof top nice size pool. The access to mall was very convenient plus the location if you have work in downtown is quite convenient too. The rates are reasonable which makes the hotel a very good place to stay for a small duration trip.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We found the hotel quite easily taking less than an hour from Joburg airport and entered the shopping centre car park that gave direct access to the hotel. The check-in was friendly and efficient and every effort was made to get the three rooms booked as close together as possible. The rooms were not big but comfortable and spotlessly clean and we had great views across Pretoria. The kids liked the pool and we went to the mall for dinner as there were a number of places to eat. We slept well and hotel breakfast was good and check-out very swift and easy. Overall we had a good stay and exactly what we expected, there was security staff in the car park and the direct link to the mall gave us all the options without even going outside

Room Tip: Best views from the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark

Address: C/O Jeppe and Trevenna | Sunnyside, Pretoria 136, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Holiday Inn Express Pretoria Sunnypark is ideally located in the heart of the Capital City of South Africa, Pretoria. Located above the newly renovated cosmopolitan Sunnypark Shopping Centre. The Holiday Inn Express Pretoria Sunnypark is surrounded by embassies, consulates, goverment departments and historical buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark Hotel Pretoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.