We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Capital House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Capital House Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   369 Victoria Street, Pretoria, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 303 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at The Capital House in November along with 2 colleagues during a short business trip to South Africa in November. What a wonderful place! We all travel extensively on business (more than 100 years of travelling experience between us) and we all agree that this place is a true oasis. It was a real pleasure to find ourselves in a "home" rather than a corporate soul-less hotel. Pat and her entire staff made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived, in fact it is fair to say that they treated us more like friends than guests. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The rooms were spacious and beautifully appointed (I got to sample two of them because we went to Botswana for a few days and then returned). The setting was wonderful - in the most upmarket suburb of Pretoria. Very safe and very peaceful. It was a real pleasure to return there in the evening, once our business was complete and settle down with a cold beer before being fed with a superb dinner. I really hope I get the chance to return some day!

Aldo, Angus and Ben

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have stayed at The Capital House twice and have already booked our next trip. The accommodation is exquisite with beautiful architecture and nice large suites and bathrooms. The house is located in Pretoria's most prestigious and safe suburb alongside many of the diplomatic residences (right next door to the British and US ambassador’s homes) and has easy access to the main transportation arteries. Both times, we have stayed as a base for recreational travel but it is well set up for the business traveller with high speed internet access and several semi-private areas for informal meetings and larger areas for small conferences.

The employees were courteous and very helpful with arranging transportation and dining suggestions around Pretoria. In terms of breakfast, the kitchen makes the most amazing fresh bread in the morning. I highly recommend a stay at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at Capital House during a brief business trip to South Africa in November 2012. The premises is very well maintained and located in the embassy district of Pretoria, The US embassy is around the corner, so the area is very safe and secure - a big plus in SA.

The room was very spacious, clean, with a large comfortable double bed, balcony with views over the city, and a jacuzzi bath and double shower. I had breakfast on two mornings which was very good and ejjoyed a few glasses of wine with the very hospitable owners and the other guests. This is a much more pleasant way to travel than staying at anonymous chain hotels.

I would recommend it very highly for business, family travel (there is a pool) and the romantic getaway too!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 15 which was great! I didn't see the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a beautiful and elegant Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are terrific, the water pressure awesome and the owners are very interesting and charming. The breakfasts were delicious. The owners were so gracious and willing to allow us to have a party there so we were able to easily renew old acquaintances. We were there late in October so we were blessed with gorgeous blooming jacaranda trees. There is a lovely pool but it was a little to cool for us to swim. The accommodations and service were excellent so we can highly recommend The Capital House without any reservations.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor overlooking the city and it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I spent only one night at Capital House - but it was magnificent. I had an enormous bedroom with an emperor size bed and elegant antique furniture The CH is situated at the top of Waterkloof Ridge and has wonderful views over the mauve jacarandas of the city's eastern suburbs. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the shower was hot and forceful. The service was excellent and friendly and included a delicious English breakfast in the elegant dining room. Little wonder that CH has been chosen by VIPs as their base while visiting Pretoria.

Room Tip: Chose the bedroom suite at the eastern end of the residence. It has a magnificent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I booked the Capital House through a travel site as it had nice reviews on Tripadvisor. After my three weeks stay I have to say that all the reviews were absolutely true!! It is a charming lavish villa in an absolutely safe part of Pretoria. Staff is incredibly friendly, highly professional and definitely goes the extra mile. I was upgraded to a huge stylish room with a large balcony which overlooks Pretoria. Breakfast is a la carte and you can order whatever you wish. If I return to Pretoria for business again, Capital House will be my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed in Pretoria's Capital House for a three week business trip and by the end of the stay I felt like home and didn't want to leave at all. The owner Pat, her husband Jake and the rest of the staff really looked after me, including a lovely decorated surprise breakfast on my birthday. The rooms were very spacious equipped with all necessary amenities and breakfast was good, including fresh home made bread and fresh fruits. The staff was very cordial and gave me a lot of advises, amongst others on restaurants, sightseeing possibilities and shopping malls. The rooms and the entire guest house is tastefully furnished and made me immediately feel very comfortable. I can highly recommend Capital House to all travelers that appreciate an accomodation with a personal and genuine touch.
Igor R. from Munich

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital House Boutique Hotel

Address: 369 Victoria Street, Pretoria, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capital House Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Capital House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.