We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place where good service, food and wine are guaranteed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zest Bistro

Zest Bistro
Greenlyn Village Centre, Cnr 13th and Thomas Edison Streets, Pretoria, South Africa
0124600275
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 356 Restaurants in Pretoria
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Place where good service, food and wine are guaranteed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We discovered Zest Bistro about half year ago. Visited them since about 5 times. We always have a good time there. We like seasonal menu which looks small and at the same time so many good things to choose from what it take time to make the final call what to order. Usually menu made for meat lovers and even so one or two fish dishes are always available too and it is not a boring dish, it is something creative and tasty.
If you are lucky to come when they offer food and wine pairing - DO IT, it is really really great pairing!
Perfect for dinner with friends as well as for romantic dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good wine and very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Zest is an intimate restaurant with very good French food and nice wines. It is really different from other restaurants in Pretoria and worth a visit. It is small, with personal attention from the very dedicated staff, good well prepared European/French style food with fresh ingredients. Try the veneson carpaccio it's delicious! They also do wine tastings and wine and food pairing. We are going to try both.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Date night heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Fantastic little gem in the east. My favorite date night spot, romantic cosy atmosphere, great food, great service. Decor is perfect and the restaurant size is small enough to be intimate but big enough not to be creepy! Will be coming back that's for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had the tasting menu with wine pairing, and the food was magnificent. The wine was great, but the food was on a completely different level. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quite and intimate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Was not disappointed at all. Great vibe and fantastic food. All you want from a french restaurant. Great feature is the 4/5 course menu pared with wine. Great parring and food on high quality.
Only reason why i did not give it 10/10 is because it is quite expensive. Do feel a bit cheated even though the food was great, don't feel the sense of value for money. Would i go again. Yes...once I have saved a bit...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zest Bistro also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Zest Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zest Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.