We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a 2nd attempt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kream

Kream
570 Fehrsen Street, Brooklyn, Pretoria, South Africa
+27123464642
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 355 Restaurants in Pretoria
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a 2nd attempt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was out second visit to Kream, on the last occasion (in 2012) we entertained clients and found the place to be quite disappointing. Service was average, the environment and attitude was very pretentious and the expensive food was disappointing. We said we wouldn't come back.

But then we were invited back to try Kream by a friend celebrating a birthday - we were pleasantly surprised. Perhaps it was the informal gathering, the excellent company, or the fact that we dined in the upstairs private room, but this time the service was quite good, the meal was excellent (echoed by all of our group) and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    91
    27
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

After being told by numerous friends that this eatery is a must visit, I finally went. My only disappointment is I didn't try it sooner!!! The food was scrumptious, service impeccable and atmosphere lively! Kream is all about the food and doesn't disappoint. We ordered the specials of the night and they were made to perfection. Kream certainly made driving to Pretoria worthwhile...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can't fault the food, but the service was dire.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The food in Kream has got to be some of the best in South Africa. An extensive menu, from l'escargot to salad starters to some amazing steaks for main course and a great selection of fish - it truly is a gourmet's delight. The starters are a little overpriced; the wine is certainly overpriced; and the main course is excellent value for such quality food.
However, be prepared to wait. There seems to be scores of people serving the tables but order a glass of champagne with your desert and it comes back 20 minutes later, when the ice cream is well and truly melted. This is the second time I visited and there was no improvement in service. The previous time, they forgot to bring desert.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic first meal of many”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Based on Tripadvisor reviews we decided to give Kream a try. Wow what a fantastic meal, brilliant service and great ambiance. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We went for dinner one night at Kream,after using Tripadvisor as a reference for a good restaurant in Pretoria. It is a very classy looking place.The staff is extremely friendly and professional.Our waitress,Tshepi,was absolutely amazing.The back and neck massages done at the table,didn't hurt either :-)

Would highly recommend this experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kream also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Kream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.