We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aluvi House

Save Saved
You added Aluvi House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aluvi House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Clyde Street, Pretoria 40, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted and asked to sign a check in form and directed to our beautiful room. The room was neat and the view absolutely amazing. About 2 hours after checking in a bottle of champagne and a fruit plate was brought to our room which was completely unexpected and a wonderful surprize. My massage by Leigh was very relaxing and the room was nice and warm even though it was chilly outside. We really enjoyed the accomodation and breakfast the next day was really beyond words as it's alot more than most places give you. Excellent place to get a break from day to day stress!

Room Tip: The Luxury room has an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hazyview, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at Aluvi over the weekend and was met by the Owner and his team. They went out of their way to ensure that we had a great stay. Food was top class and they reserved me a table by the window.We then had Spa massages the next day. The therapists were professional and we enjoyed every moment. When we got back to our room we had a Ice cold bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us.Thanks Dean and Reinette we will be back.

Room Tip: The River View Luxury Rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I liked my stay at Aluvi House. The service was efficient, friendly and hospitable. They made us feel welcome and went out of their way to accommodate us. I shall definitely use them again when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London W6
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

we arrived for out 3 night stay for them to not have our reservation (booked with venere.com 5 months ago), they did get us a room etc but once we checked in and walked around to find the pool we packed up and left. They were about to close for the Christmas period but nothing prepared me for the sight of the pool, the pictures show beautiful clear water, well it was black, weeks of no care and the jacuzzi was dry. Not the relaxing stay i was after. Very disappointing after the great reviews on here, the main reason i choose Aluvi. On the plus the staff were friendly and the room large and clean, the area nice. Hopefully a one off case.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joburg
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed recently for a few nights and do appreciate the host Dean and his enthusiastic staff for creating a service oriented atmosphere.

Housekeeping staff could have been trained better - no replacement soap a couple of days in a row, bath gel, shower cap etc.
Only 4 meals on the menu is a limitation, and while the meat was good the sides we had were stock standard and pretty uninspired so only ate there once. a bit difficult to find other restaurants in the area so left feeling disappointed having gone without a really good meal when in Pretoria.
Room was fine but nothing special. A balcony on the side with a view would have been nice. Hard to get the right temperature in the shower. Breakfast was ok. Doesn't seem 4 star standard.
Not able to use the gym (2 machines) when we wanted because of private function.
I stayed here because of it's great reviews but the reviews do over-rate this place. Standards of accommodation and service in the area are improving so was left thinking it was expensive for what you got.
Dean does seem like a person who will take this advice on board and try and improve. Wish him the best in doing so.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The venue is amazing, a home away from home, the hosts Dean and his lovely wife Reinette are the perfect hosts, the staff are phenomenal and always go the extra mile to ensure you have a most amazing stay, well worth the vist and well worth becoming a regular, you must stay here if you in Pretoria.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011 via mobile

Its a place I wuld visit again if had to attend another
Conference around Pretoria. Owner and the staff were wonderful
And service was excellent,I recommend it to anyone who
Needs quiet and peaceful time to themselves. Envir
Onment is beautiful, Well done guys.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aluvi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aluvi House

Address: 2 Clyde Street, Pretoria 40, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aluvi House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aluvi is a Small Boutique style hotel with a spa. Situated above the Moreletta River with spectacular views of Pretoria.Aluvi offers an executive bar, Restaurant with a mini a la carte menu, outdoor pool, heated Jacuzzi, Spa treatment room and of course the Gecko Room with glass panels overlooking Pretoria while enjoying a refreshing beverage.All rooms are en suite and have airconditioning, free top of the range ammenities as well as complimentary tea / coffee in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Aluvi House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aluvi House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.