We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aluvi House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aluvi House to your Saves list
Aluvi House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Clyde Street, Pretoria 40, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Joburg
1 review
“Decent but not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed recently for a few nights and do appreciate the host Dean and his enthusiastic staff for creating a service oriented atmosphere.

Housekeeping staff could have been trained better - no replacement soap a couple of days in a row, bath gel, shower cap etc.
Only 4 meals on the menu is a limitation, and while the meat was good the sides we had were stock standard and pretty uninspired so only ate there once. a bit difficult to find other restaurants in the area so left feeling disappointed having gone without a really good meal when in Pretoria.
Room was fine but nothing special. A balcony on the side with a view would have been nice. Hard to get the right temperature in the shower. Breakfast was ok. Doesn't seem 4 star standard.
Not able to use the gym (2 machines) when we wanted because of private function.
I stayed here because of it's great reviews but the reviews do over-rate this place. Standards of accommodation and service in the area are improving so was left thinking it was expensive for what you got.
Dean does seem like a person who will take this advice on board and try and improve. Wish him the best in doing so.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
White River, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The venue is amazing, a home away from home, the hosts Dean and his lovely wife Reinette are the perfect hosts, the staff are phenomenal and always go the extra mile to ensure you have a most amazing stay, well worth the vist and well worth becoming a regular, you must stay here if you in Pretoria.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011 via mobile

Its a place I wuld visit again if had to attend another
Conference around Pretoria. Owner and the staff were wonderful
And service was excellent,I recommend it to anyone who
Needs quiet and peaceful time to themselves. Envir
Onment is beautiful, Well done guys.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Clean and modern guest house with great value for money.
Staff was always friendly with smiles on their faces.
Have a look at their specials. Aluvi offers everything you need, including a nice private spa.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

This hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly & welcoming. It's in a quiet area but well located for access to the highway & it felt very safe, with 24 hour reception and secure parking. Don't expect super speedy service though, everything is done in "African time", which is fine if you are on holiday & not on a tight schedule.

Our room was big and the bathroom was huge, but it all felt a bit "tired" & in need of a large injection of cash. It didn't really resemble the pictures on the website. To describe it as a "Boutique Hotel" is misleading, it's certainly not in the luxury end of the market.

For instance the security gate on our bedroom door had to be lifted to latch it as it was broken. They have a potentially lovely pool area but the sunbeds were broken & the pool itself was in desperate need of a thorough clean. It looked more like a pond and we didn't feel inclined to sit around it, much less actually swim in it and the jacuzzi had no water and appeared to have been out of action for some time. There were buckets & tools lying around & it just wasn't very inviting, the same applied to another garden area outside the restaurant which was also in need of attention. The whole place needs a refurb, although not dirty it shows signs of age and needs some attention to bring the sparkle back.

We had a dreadful meal in the restaurant. Admittedly it was a Sunday night , we were the only ones there and it obviously wasn't the regular chef on duty, but they should have just said the restaurant was closed (which we gave them every opportunity to do) as it was a disaster. We didn't complain as the chef and duty manager were both clearly stressed out by the whole experience & totally out of their depth, in hindsight we probably should have done but we just laughed about it & put in down to experience. Others have probably had decent meals there & we chose a bad night. I was just glad I hadn't invited my family to eat with us (as we had considered at one point) as it would have been very embarrassing.

Breakfast was ok but not spectacular. They make much of their "Award Winning" breakfast, but they got a "Highly Commended" certificate back in 2006 & I suspect there has been a change of hands since then, although I don't know that for sure. We had better breakfasts in all other places we stayed.

You will get woken early by noisy hadedas flying overhead every morning. Not the hotels fault but something to be aware of.

There are a lot of steps both inside and outside so not ideal if you have mobility issues.
Overall it was okay, as already stated very friendly, clean & felt safe but could do better. It needs some money spent on it to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed at the Aluvi for 2 weeks in December.
We initially booked over the Internet and were not 100% sure what to expect until we arrived.
AWESOME Spa room, for us and Superior room for our 2 Teenagers.
Clean, Modern and extremely well looked after.
Staff more than friendly and serviced any wishes we had with a smile.
Food was excellent and in plentiful supply and so were drinks.
Prices well below what we pay in Hotels.
All in all I would happily recommend the Aluvi to anyone travelling to South Africa & wanting to stay near Pretoria.
The Hotel has everything you need, including being close to the Motorway, but QUIET location with lovely grounds and not overlooked.
My Wife & Family are very happy to have found this Hotel & hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Aluvi House is terrific. The beds are comfortable, the food is excellent and the service is great. I can't say enough about the proprietor(s), Dean and Reinnette. They are dedicated to making everyone's experience at their hotel the best it can be.

I really felt "at home" here and anyone looking to stay in Pretoria must consider this place. When I return to South Africa, I will most definitely stay here again and visit with my new friends at Alluvi House.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aluvi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aluvi House

Address: 2 Clyde Street, Pretoria 40, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aluvi House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aluvi is a Small Boutique style hotel with a spa. Situated above the Moreletta River with spectacular views of Pretoria.Aluvi offers an executive bar, Restaurant with a mini a la carte menu, outdoor pool, heated Jacuzzi, Spa treatment room and of course the Gecko Room with glass panels overlooking Pretoria while enjoying a refreshing beverage.All rooms are en suite and have airconditioning, free top of the range ammenities as well as complimentary tea / coffee in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Aluvi House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aluvi House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.