We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility near the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lombardy Boutique Hotel & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Lombardy Boutique Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lombardy Boutique Hotel & Conference Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot no 4, Lynnwood Road | Tweefontein, Pretoria 1033, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tranquility near the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very relaxing hotel with a great atmosphere. Dining is superb! Rooms anr clean and very comfortable, and the newer rooms are very tastefully decorated. The old rooms outside the coutyard need an upgrade, but are clean and comfortable. Great place for a night or 2 of peace and some fine dining!

Room Tip: New rooms are superb (Superior rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryno B, Front Office Manager at Lombardy Boutique Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear TradewindExplorer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience with us and giving feedback on the dining services available.

I’m really glad your overall expectations were met and that everything you needed was provided.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Ryno Badenhorst
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had an overnight stay which felt more like a weekend away! My compliments to the friendly staff for making our stay so enjoyable. Room was spacious enough, yet cosy & comfortable (loved the plunger coffee!) and bathroom well equipped. The food quality & presentation was excellent - we dine out a lot and admittedly, expect a high standard and quality - beautiful presentation is a bonus!
Also visited the Soulstice Spa next to the hotel where I've had the best facial in years! Very spacious & modern, serene and welcoming is best to describe this spa. Thoroughly enjoyed our massages as well. Have already decided to visit both hotel & spa again later in the year.
I'm definitely proud that our South African hotels can compete with the best in the world!

Room Tip: A good mattress, separate shower & good quality coffee is our main requirements - after all, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryno B, Front Office Manager at Lombardy Boutique Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear JustJudi,

Thank you for staying at the Lombardy Boutique Hotel and providing us with feedback on your stay, especially since your response is such a wonderful compliment and a true reflection of all associates’ true commitment and dedication to provide the best service all our valued guests expect and have come accustomed to.

It was such a pleasure having you here and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Ryno Badenhorst
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

As a businessman that does not always get to spend quality time with the family, the occasional romantic getaway is important to me. Lombardy Boutique Hotel offers the perfect retreat, with excellent service, and very clean and tidy. Though I did feel forgotten about at one stage while having dinner. Their facilities are of the highest quality and another thumbs up from me for the business man or romantic getaway, not for a jolly time with the crowd.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryno B, Front Office Manager at Lombardy Boutique Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Mouritz,

Welcoming you as our guests was a great honor and it's wonderful to know that you had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed your meals at the restaurant by friendly associates.

Thank you for highlighting the slow restaurant service. More emphasis will certainly be placed on improving this process.

Warm regards,

Ryno Badenhorst
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We were so blessed to get married at Lombardy. Needless to say we made the booking quite late and were a bit disorganised! But the team (especially Madelie) really went out of their way to make our day special. The food was spectacular, all the guests agreed. And the service was great. We were offered complementary accommodation in their honeymoon suite which was stunning!!! It's a pity we had to leave early in the morning to catch our flight as i'm sure the breakfast would've been terrific.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

One night stay with my husband was a little short, could have had two nights. Staff pleasant but a little scarce at times. Rooms lovely, big and clean. Wasn't keen on the view from our mini patio (just grass and trees, no flowers or garden). No bar or cocktails available. Dinner at the small restaurant was a bit of a let-down. We sat outside and had a couple of drinks before dinner, when we got up to go shower/change the waiter placed a 'reserved' sign on our table and promised to keep it, when we returned half hour later there was another couple sitting at our table! We sat inside and were given our menus, waited a long while before a waiter took our order for food and wine. Starters were good. Mains not so good, my Rump Steak was bland, my husbands Sole was sent back to kitchen (rotten) and was replaced with Fillet Steak (good) but no starch was given only a small dish of steamed vegetables. Dessert was nice. Slept well in lovely big bed.

Room Tip: The hotel is very quiet and private so any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We only had a one night (Saturday night) stay over at Lombardy but it was enough have a good rest. The service was very good and they were very accommodating when we requested a late check out on the Sunday as we wanted to have a treatment done at their new spa (Solstice spa was fantastic). The service at the restaurant was a bit slow but the quality of the food made up for it - every meal we had in the restaurant was top quality.

The only drawback was the sleep quality - we were woken by the auto air freshener that works on a timer and started quite early in the morning and was loud enough to wake us. Ask for this to be adjusted for a bit later in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed here on 2 separate occasions in May and both times we were blown away by this fabulously beautiful place. It is so luxurious but so unassuming. The staff were so friendly and helpful that we felt like invited guests. Our first trip was a stopover on our way to Vic Falls so we really only slept there. We thought our first suite was wonderful – it was very spacious. Attention to detail showed in things like the TV being on a swivelling board for watching in the lounge area or in bed. The bathroom was lovely with separate cubicles and generous amounts of quality toiletries.
We choose to go back to Lombardy for a second visit before leaving South Africa because we wanted more time to enjoy it. On this occasion in another room and it was even nicer (which we didn’t think possible). The bathroom in that room was incredible with a shower and deep bath in the same enclosure. We were shown several other rooms when we admired their style and they were all different and very beautifully appointed.

We choose to spend a lovely day just relaxing in these beautiful surroundings – we could have gone into Pretoria shopping but could not bring ourselves to leave the sunny guest lounge. The food at Lombardy is brilliant. Generous breakfasts in the library overlooking the courtyard, a delightful lunch outside overlooking the beautiful gardens, an exquisite evening meal in the dining room (with lovely wood fire) and the wonderful room service - we tried them all and were most impressed.

Lombardy felt like France, Italy and Africa all rolled into one and, whenever we talk about our trip to Africa, Lombardy is always the first place mentioned. We would go back tomorrow if we could !

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lombardy Boutique Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombardy Boutique Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Plot no 4, Lynnwood Road | Tweefontein, Pretoria 1033, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lombardy Boutique Hotel & Conference Centre 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Lombardy Boutique Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lombardy Boutique Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.