We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not be my first choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cornerstone Guest Lodge

Cornerstone Guest Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cornerstone Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Cornerstone Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Camellia Avenue | Lynnwood Ridge, Pretoria 0081, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Palo Alto, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Would not be my first choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is an atmospheric guest house with little light in the evenings. Hard to walk around the place at night because of the lack of lighting. There are two very nice pools and a tennis court and is nicely decorated (you can see that during the day) The staff is nice; however, they are somewhat understaffed. The food is not great. In fact, some of the things I had were pretty bad. I recommend eating out especially dinner. The place is isolated; you cannot walk around because there is no where to walk; however, a mall is about 10 minutes away by car. Over all, I think it is overpriced for what you get, but if you are on a honeymoon or there when it is hot and can swim, it is probably a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room around the pool area. it is nice to be able to sit outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The rooms are very nice and the service is very good. The owner Lyn takes care of all your needs whateve they are. 2 nice small swimming pool and a Braii are completing the experience. I stayed here several months and I didn't have one complain to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our last hotel on our roundtrip South Africa and it was the best!
We had a wonderfull stay and felt right away at home when the owner welcomed us. This woman knows what the word hospitality means! She gave us nice tips where to go in Pretoria and where to eat.
At home we saw we were given an upgrade to the Africa rooms, which were very beautiful and spotlessly clean. The bedlinnens were very very soft and the rooms were decorated with an eye for detail. Staff was shy, but most friendly.
Furthermore, it was very pleasant we could stay at the pool while our plane left at midnight without any extra cost.
We will recommend the accommodation whereever en whenever we can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay here during an educational visit to South Africa during which we visited local schools.

The lodge is very secure and all the rooms are spacious, immaculate and uniquely decorated.

The pool areas were beautiful and there were plenty of nice cheap restaurants in the local area.

Lynn, the lady who runs this place, was an absolute gem!

If I ever revisit south Africa I would definitely include a few nights back here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

If you happen to be going to Pretoria for a stay ,look no further than the Cornerstone Guest Lodge . i have been staying there since it first opened 9 years.ago,
The Proprietor is a most wonderful person who can't do enough to make ones stay memorable.
put that together with a lodge that has very friendly staff ,is spotlessly clean and is in beautifull surroundings, .plus the added bonus of two swimming pools and beautifully appointed rooms then one couldn't ask for more
One can get an idea by logging onto ''Travel Channel South Africa cornerstone Lodge Pretoria ...
I can't wait to return

Room Tip: Each room is so nice, it is difficult to really say which is the best room i think for a young cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornerstone Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Guest Lodge

Address: 25 Camellia Avenue | Lynnwood Ridge, Pretoria 0081, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerstone Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cornerstone Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornerstone Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.