We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shabby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Newlands

Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Newlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Sun Newlands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Newlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not too shabby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Welcome drink on arrival was a great gesture. Standard room with constriction going on for a view but them I was on business. Comfortable bed. Continental breakfast was alright - smoked salmon with dates is an awesome combo! Whoopla! Peri-peri livers awesome with red wine. Quiet during the week but I hear Sundays are bustling. Overall, a good experience and attentive staff. Next time olive oil and balsamic wilk be available from the mini kitchen downstairs instead of running up to the top floor kitchen. *wink*

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback pertaining to our Hotel, it is most appreciated.

I am most pleased that you enjoyed the stay and the hospitality.

Apologies for the delay with regards to the balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

In addition to the above I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    38
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
20
7
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Convenience is important for me so this hotel was ideal from a location perspective. Brand name is important although there are a number of boutique hotels in the area that are providing a more personalized and homely service eg Vineyard which is sometimes at a cheaper room rate. With access to UCT close by , ideal location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback pertaining to our hotel. I am most pleased to note that the personalised service levels met your expectations.

In addition to the above the team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is fine but warrants no more than an average score, but the friendly service makes it worth the stay.

No irons in the room, no mini bar, the phones played up some days and my room safe had to be replaced are the only reasons I marked the hotel down slightly, as well as some idiot in the hotel car park sat sounding his car horn a 7am on a Saturday morning because he was too lazy to go in a call his friends.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Many thanks for your detailed feedback pertaining to your stay in our hotel.

Please allow me to apologise for the inconvenience with regards to the phone in your room not working as well as the safe having to be replaced.
On your next visit (and we hope to see you soon), please do let me know so that I can ensure that you have a minibar in your room. We also deliver irons and boards to bedrooms on request.
My email address is nabila.cassim@tsogosun.com

Furthermore I am so sorry about the hooting in the car park so very early on a Saturday morning.

In addition to the above the team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The rooms in the hotel were nice and clean. In fact on the first day they also had a machine for air purification in the room. Sad part is that there is no view to watch outside the window. The buffet breakfast was very good. The bell boy was always in a hurry. There was one in particular named Shawn who I had requested for something never came back. My bag was heavy and I needed help to put it on the table which was done very reluctantly. It would be nice if such small things were looked after for travellers like us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback regarding our hotel. I shall be sure to pass on your lovely comments regarding your room and breakfast to the Executive Housekeeper and Chef.

In addition to the above, I shall address the feedback with Shea, our Porter. Furthermore I am most pleased that you mentioned the service, pertaining to the Concierge Department, that you experienced as it gives me an opportunity to ensure that it does not recur.

The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend using our discovery vitality discount which made quite a difference! The rooms were fine, staff friendly, breakfast very good!

The downside is the location. If you are not in town for Rugby or Cricket and don't have a car, it is a bit out of the way from the attractions, but with the a car, a quick 10 min drive and you are in the centre.

The exterior of the hotel looks a bit worn down, but the the interior must have had a recent facelift as it looks nice and new.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Many thanks for your review pertaining to our hotel. We are most pleased to know that you found our hotel comfortable.

In addition to the above thank you so much for clarifying the fact that we are so close to the city centre!

Furthermore the team looks forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Hotel, is ideally situated for those who are in town to take in some good rugby or cricket, seeing that it is so close to both stadia. For the wives (or husbands) who are more into their shopping, or worst still if you have arrived and your clothes have not, the concierge will gladly show you to the nearby Cavendish Square, shopping mall. We found all the stall at the hotel to be attentive and willing to go the extra mile. Having attended a conference there, caused me to have to spend more time than usual in a hotel. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and I really loved the view of the mountain on the brewery side of the hotel. Attending the conference was good too and the facilities were all well maintained and easy to use. The morning and afternoon teas were well catered and the lunch was just the right amount of food to make for a not boring heavy feeling in the afternoon sessions. All in all. Good value and a place for the sports fanatic who enjoys celebrating his teams win!

Room Tip: Overlooking the brewery is lovely and they do have a smokers floor too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We thank you for your fantastic and informative comments pertaining to our hotel. The Team is most pleased to know that they have met your expectations in all areas of our hotel.

Furthermore we hope to welcome you back to Southern Sun Newlands, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My sister and I, and some of her friends from Kenya were attending a graduation of a close friend and were very lucky to be booked at Southern Sun Newlands. We stayed here for 7Nights and during the entire time we were amazed by the quality of their services. The General Manager Mr Sebastian was always around in the morning to make sure the Guests were happy and helped whenever we needed something. Breakfast was always superb, the receptionists were always helpful and Micheal the Hotel Cub Driver was the best, always friendly, helpful and Patient. Thank you every one for giving us such a wonderful Experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
It was indeed a great pleasure to recieve your review!

Our General Manager and the entire team thanks you for your lovely comments.

We are so pleased to know that we have met your expectations and that we contributed to a fantastic stay in our country, particularly Cape Town.

Furthermore we thank you for your custom and do hope to welcome you back to the Fairest Cape, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Sun Newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Newlands

Address: Main Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Newlands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers that prefer to be outside the city centre, the Southern Sun Newlands is the perfect choice in Cape Town. Situated in this leafy garden suburb the hotel is close to the city and its many attractions, but quiet enough for a restful night’s sleep. The decor of the hotel is truly African and luxurious and its proximity to both the Newlands cricket and rugby stadiums is a bonus for many visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Southern Sun Newlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Newlands Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Newlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.