We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vineyard Hotel to your Saves list
Vineyard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went back to the Vineyard after a number of years and were absolutely charmed as we have always been. The junior suite was magnificent with a patio and fountain with an unbelievable view of the mountain. The blond wood, glass bathroom - Wow, how beautiful is that. We always love windows that can open !
We have stayed with the Petousis family since the seventies at the Townhouse and saw the miracle wrought by them on the Vineyard.
Every member of staff we encountered loved their jobs and made us welcome.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: The junior suites - mountain facing - are magnificent. Our room was 172. I think ground floor with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments which I will share with the team and the family. It is great to have a family that are so passionate about their hotels and never stop reinvesting.

Kind Regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    168
    36
    16
    11
See reviews for
105
266
46
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Incredible hotel, grounds, dining and rooms with incredible views of the mountains. Loved this hotel. This hotel has incredible rooms, gym, spa, and dining. The owners and staff are very outgoing and is run by a family that are third generation hoteliers. You can really tell they love what they do and are very glad to show you the property and tell you all about the grounds, how the matriarch make unique pieces of art that decorate the hotel and rooms, etc. The head chef makes very special meals that are so good you will want to come there just for the dining experience.Incredible upper tier hotel, grounds, dining and guest rooms with incredible deck and patio views of the mountains. Love this hotel. This hotel has incredible boutique guest rooms, gym, spa, and dining. The owners and staff are very outgoing and is run by a family that are third generation hoteliers. The staff has an average tenure of close to 20 years which says a lot about the family own and run business. You can really tell they love what they do and are very glad to show you the property and tell you all about the grounds, how the matriarch makes unique pieces of art that decorate the hotel and rooms, etc. The head chef (Mike Bassett) of MYOGA makes very special meals that are so good you will want to come there just for the dining experience. I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Edwin

Thank you very much for your posting. I trust the rest of your trip was enjoyable. It was our pleasure to host you in Cape Town, perhaps on your next trip you get to spend a bit more time with us.

Warm regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We, husband and wife in our sixties and from Wales, UK, spent three weeks holiday at the Vineyard Hotel. I could repeat so many positives mentioned on this site but will stick to just saying how impressed we were with the running of the hotel and the great attitude of its employees. Every member of staff we encountered treated us with the utmost friendliness and respect. The food and drinks staff were always low-key but somehow always available (bear in mind we spent 21 nights b&b here so had plenty of time to notice). The front desk, customer services desk and travel desk were helpful and efficient in every way. The general manager seemed to spend so much time around the public spaces, in touch with visitors and residents, and appeared to be on the nicest terms with his staff. We are sure this link plays a big part in why this hotel is such a pleasant place. Each staff member gave us the impression they were properly trained and had the most wonderful work ethic. Would we recommend the Vineyard to friends or, indeed, visit again? And how!

Room Tip: Mountain facing room, top floor, at far end of hotel far from action so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for comments and feedback which I will share with the team.

I trust you had a good flight back and are now looking forward to summer.

It was great having you with us, see you next year.

Warm Regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

When you read my reviews you will see I am fair and equal. I understand you can't expect the same things from a $100 room versus a $500 room hotel. Here's the positives. Location. It's spectacular to look out the window and see the mountains. The windows open so you can hear water from the garden and fresh air. The hotel has a cool vibe like a step back in time. Here's the other side. Listen, if you don't have high expectations for the room itself then this won't matter to you. The room was redone to have a modern feel to it. But you can't put lipstick on a pig. It's old and tired. The bathroom is very small and looks like the 1950's. The decorations in the room are fine and the bed is very very firm (I tend to like that myself). But a King room is two twins put together so there's a hump in the middle. It's clean and good enough. If you're here for luxury, keep looking. If you're here for a day or two and want a quiet place to chill that's cheap. I would say this is for you. In terms of five stars? Not even close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Brian

Thank you very much for your comments and I am pleased Kristine was able to speak with you prior to your departure.

We replaced 86 bedrooms' beds in the hotel in October 2012 including your room, which had a King mattress on a Twin base, we unfortunaltey don't get a king base.

We are looking forward to showing you that this experience was not the norm for the Vineyard on your stay next month.

Warm Regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely lovely gem in the heart of newlands! Stunning view from the room. Best buffet breakfast!!! Very well equipped conference faculties. Cute little gift shop. Close to cavendish and Kirstenbosh. The gardens are amazing!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. "Music for my soul" is just so apt, especially if one is sitting on the patio looking at the mountain.

Looking forward to having you back soon.

Kind Regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is not in a great tourist area , but is fantastic for business , there are always lots of seminars in the conference centre and the food is fantastic . The rooms are finished to a high standard modern and clean

Room Tip: new rooms are the best , the breakfast is the best in any hotel in south africa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Superspider

We appreciate the time taken to review the Vineyard. Thanks for the room tip, and the comment on breakfast.

Warm regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Vineyard for a combined business and leisure weekend in Cape Town. Excellent service from attentive staff. The garden is just spectacular and the room was lovely. Will most certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks very much for the review.

Warm regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 207 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue - all set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to airport, city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Splendia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.