We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vineyard Hotel to your Saves list
Vineyard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

the Vineyard Hotel and Spa was my first stop in Cape Town. It's a beautiful hotel with 3 restaurants, pool, spa and a beautiful view from the rooms of Table Mountain. I stayed in Room #356. The staff were very helpful especially Rainardt (sorry if I mi-sspelled your name) and Heidi and really the whole staffwere great. I am off for Stellenbosch and their sister hotel the Oude Werf this afternoon.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 356, facing Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel and team including Reinhardt and Heidi. Please to see you enjoyed your stay at our little, but older sister in Stellenbosch. (Oude Werf Hotel). She is the oldest hotel in South Africa.

Kind regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    168
    36
    16
    11
See reviews for
105
266
46
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the restaurants on site - Myoga and The Square. We had dinner in Myoga on New Year's Eve which was an incredibly experience - 7 courses and amazing wine. However, the main hotel restaurant was delicious and we ended up eating here on our other two nights we stayed here. Everything I ate here was delicious.

The rooms were nice but quite small. However, the views of Table Mountain are stunning and while the position of the hotel means it can get quite cool because of the wind, the views are worth it.

The hotel was very busy when we arrived but our last day was much quieter and the pool area much more tranquil.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Helen

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Did you also get to sit on the patio and watch the sunset?

Regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The Vineyard has a nice set up, excellent service, good restaurants and the new rooms are quite good. The breakfast service is very good and the travel desk offers a good set of day trips and other tourist attractions. While the service is very good everywhere, the front desk is in particular exceptional.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Carlos

Wow, thanks for the review, especially on the Front Desk Team. We have shared this with them. Did you get to count the freshly baked items on the Breakfast Buffet? Everything is done in house, and a minimum of 35!

Warm regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Vineyard because the Westin was booked for part of my stay. I wish I never left! What a great hotel! Beautifully located as everyone has mentioned in reviews here. I thought the service was outstanding. The only place for improvement is the WiFi which needs to be thrown out and rebuilt. Having a one-device per room is not how people do business anymore. I need 3 Wifi devices during a stay, 4 if my wife is with me.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Eric

We are pleased you got to experience the Vineyard. Thank you for your comments on the WiFi. You are correct the whole system needs to be dumped! It is the biggest project we are undertaking this year and have already sourced suppliers. I would welcome comments by private message from here on what you would think is reasonable in download speed and volume.

Kind regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent four nights in the hotel and it was a very good experience. The location is good, the service is fantastic, food really good, service very friendly and the pool and fitness facilities were great. Only caveat, internet connection is a challenge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Carlos

Thanks so much for taking time out to make some comments here. Internet is our biggest priority this year. We are working to take our free wifi to hotel guests from an unmanaged system to a free managed system.

Warm regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful setting. The gardens are a site to behold. Table mountain forms a beautiful backdrop. The staff are efficient and professional. They gladly assist and give great tips and advice. The restaurant is a gastronomical delight. From breakfast thru to dinner. A beautiful lounge area to unwind in. An outdoor terrace area that overlooks the gardens and a lovely setting for cocktails. Great pool and gym facility. The bedrooms are beautiful and spacious. Definitely worth the experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Debbie

Appreciate the wonderful comments. Look forward to seeing back at the Vineyard.

Kind regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in Cape Town it is a little far from downtown and definitely needs a rental car but it is worth it, the place is unbelievable if I ever go back I wouldn't consider any other place to stay, and I. Many others during my visit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful comments.

Regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 207 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue - all set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to airport, city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.