We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the best hotel in Cape Town?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vineyard Hotel to your Saves list
Vineyard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Cape Town
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Is this the best hotel in Cape Town?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I've stayed at The Vineyard several times and it continues to exceed expectations.

It's in the Southern Suburbs...Newlands, Claremont, Cavendish...and away from the desert of the CBD.

It's had a deal of money spent on it recently and is a mixture of old and new.

What I like about this place is that everything works readily...as it should do in a good hotel. The coffee area and verandah is ideal for business meetings and the restaurants do the job well.

It's much cheaper than the Mount Nelson or the Waterfront starred hotels and its value is outstanding.

Location is fine...great view of mountain from the gardens and a short walk away from Cavendish shopping.

In writing this review I tried to think of a negative...it's hard. Like all good hotels it just does the job in the way a 4/5 star hotel should.

It's an easy choice for business travellers and the England football team!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    148
    32
    15
    6
See reviews for
86
218
41
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Feel at home in one of the most beautyful cities of the world. Relaxed, friendly people, good food, service. lovely premisses in the middle of the chic suburb of Newlands, and few minutes from every place you need to go in Cape Town.
Top fitness, excelent swiming pool and a great "asian exotic spa" with top professionals. And all that for a more than reasonable room rate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My son in law treated my husband and I to a night at the Vineyard. It was heaven. Wonderfully spacious rooms and lounge area, with a really clean and light bathroom. The shower is really great. All the staff are courteous and friendly and the breakfast is one of the best. Will definitely visit again, this time for longer hopefully.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

My son and I stayed at this hotel and absolutely LOVED it! It is definitely worth getting the breakfast package as their "Continental" breakfast puts the American "Continental" breakfast to shame. The staff at the hotel was kind, polite, friendly and so helpful! The Concierge desk was reaaaally helpful! And every night the "turn down" service: the staff would come and turn down the covers, give fresh towels, leave a chocolate and (my favorite) a South African story! I loved the stories. I would read them to my son each night...we would just sit in our room each night and WAIT for the turn down service! The only drawback...be aware of how much you will have to pay daily for transport to the touristy sights...BUT I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL WITHOUT RESERVATION!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I did not stay overnight, but thought it was worth putting my opinion on this site.
I was here for a function, and loved the service given to us at their banqueting facilities. very professional, helpful staff. Hope to stay at this hotel one day for a couple of nights and enjoy their facilities.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Please be aware that the Vineyard Hotel meters the bandwidth of guests and only allows 200 MB per day. After that, you are required to purchase a voucher to pay for extra data. So, if you are updating your iPod with podcasts, chatting with colleagues or the family back home over Skype or doing one of the hundred other things that a normal business traveler does on the Internet, you will quickly come up against their limits. Better to stay at a business hotel that does not discriminate against those of us who work online.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karpathos Town (Pigadia), Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

My last time at the Vineyard was in 2006. It had already changed a lot since 1996 when we last visited the place. But this time the changes were dramatic. A fantastic venue with remarkable gardens, two nice restaurants with a great breakfast and a sushi bar done by real Japanese staff, excellent food, excellent quality of service, dont really know where to stop. Just meters away from Claremont shoping center. An oasis in the middle of an inhabited area, keeping its character unchaged through developments and improvements.

Room Tip: Mountain facing recommended, car recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 207 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue - all set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to airport, city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.