We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guest House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oak and Vine Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Oak and Vine Guest House
Save
You added The Oak and Vine Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   19 Keurboom Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Excellent Guest House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed at the Oak and Vine for one night while on businesses, but I would highly recommend this guest house to other travelers - the room I stayed in was clean and comfortable! Derrick and William are the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
22
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Oak and Vine is a guest house that has a couple of self contained units in the grounds of the main house. We stayed in one of the units. We had a bathroom and a combined bedroom / kitchenette and dining area. The grounds are secure and staff live on the premises. Breakfast is offered daily and offers a good selection at a very reasonable price (about £6). Staff are courteous and very keen to help. They offer advice about local facilities and the tourist attractions of Cape Town.

The rooms are cleaned and serviced daily. The pool is welcome on a hot day and towels are provided in addition to those in your room. Rooms have wifi (but this is temperamental in certain areas of S Africa). The local area is quiet and residential. Access to Cape Town waterfront takes about 15 minutes in a car (traffic allowing). This was a great base for us whilst visitng the attractions of Cape Town.

Room Tip: One of the units is a bit larger than the other. Try this first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife, baby boy, and I have been staying in the Oak and Vine Guest House for the past 2 weeks. I transferred with my work from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town, and this guest house has served our needs perfectly while we have searched for our own permanent accommodation. Since we arrived in Cape Town, Derrick and his team have helped to make us feel warmly welcome and have catered for all our needs with enthusiasm. In fact, Derrick even went over and beyond his call of duty with our baby's needs. Our room doesn't have a bath, so we asked if he perhaps has a basin we could use, which he didn't have...however the next night there was a brand new baby bath with stand waiting for us in the bathroom! That is amazing service. The breakfasts are also delicious with a big range of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, and warm meal cooked as requested. The croissants are wrapped to keep fresh and the staff offer to warm these up for those interested to enjoy. They also considered our dietary requirements by providing chicken slices to put on the croissants. My wife and I are very thankful to Derrick and his staff, and will always have warm memories of our first few days in Cape Town at the Oak and Vine Guest House. I would highly recommend this guest house to other travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We found the Oak and Vine Guest house disappointing. The room, upon arrival was set up as 2 single beds when we had booked it as a king. This was eventually rectified but what we found odd was that Derek the manager never left his desk (just around the corner) to apologise or explain the mix up and only did so as we were leaving for our night out. We stayed in the King Protea room which is next to the front door to the house and was incredibly noisy from 6am! When I made the reservation I asked Derek if it was a quiet room and his reply was "all our rooms are quiet" sorry Derek - I beg to differ. Breakfast was also bellow par - croissants still in their cellophane packaging and therefore cold and scrambled eggs over cooked and almost inedible - clearly the cook needs a little training.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlands80, Manager at The Oak and Vine Guest House, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Lauren
Many thanks for your feedback with regards to The Oak and Vine Guest House. Please allow us to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your one night stay with us.
Your constructive criticism has been noted and further training of staff will take place as per your suggestions. We thank you for bringing this uncharacteristic situation to our attention and we will definitely improve our service in the future.
Warmest regards from O&V Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had to attend a University function and this location was very convenient. I didn't actually go into the main house other than to get my key and I didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that. The little cottage I stayed in was quite quaint and had all the facilities I needed. One can self cater and that is convenient but a lot is squeezed into one room so you do feel as though you are sleeping in a kitchen - but it is not a problem. Parking is also good and the staff I met were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you want to stay in the Southern Suburbs then this is the place to be. It is only 5 mins walk to Newlands Rugby & Cricket grounds.
The accommodation is excellent, great bed, en suite, flat screen tv, wifi, mini bar (not expensive). Breakfast is superb, with a great range of cold and made to order hot food available. Derek is so helpful and let us keep our room on until late afternoon as we had an evening flight back. Will be booking here again next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I come to Cape Town three times a year for business, and unless it is fully booked, I always stay at the Oak and Vine. The location is great for going into the city center, down to the Southern Suburbs, or heading out in the direction of Stellenbosch and the Garden Route. Derek and Co provide delicious breakfasts, the house and rooms are kept immaculately clean, and there is secured parking. You can hang around and drink coffee in common room any time of day. Best of all, is the general vibe of the staff: friendly, welcoming, helpful. I will keep coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oak and Vine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak and Vine Guest House

Address: 19 Keurboom Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oak and Vine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak and Vine Guest House is a Cape Dutch character house set in the secure and leafy suburb of Newlands, Cape Town. The Oak and Vine Guest House caters for up to 12 guests and offers four luxurious en-suite rooms in the main house and two separate self-contained cottages on the estate. This graciously restored house is surrounded by the lush greenery of the Keurboom regional park and has wonderful mountain views. The Oak and Vine offers stylish accommodation for the business traveler or holiday maker alike. It is within easy access to Cape Town's business hub and is also within easy reach of many tourist attractions in and around Cape Town. We also offer a venue for small business meetings. The Oak and Vine Guest House is a homely guest house and room facilities include cotton percale linen, luxury towels, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions, DSTV channels, wireless internet access, hairdryers, safes, air-conditioning in loft rooms and cottages. The property is safe and secure with off-road parking behind remote-controlled gates, CCTV and even has a full-time security guard on the premises. If you are looking for central accommodation, the Oak and Vine Guest House is an ideal choice where guests can enjoy full use of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing guest lounge with fireplace, braai / barbecue area or take a stroll or cycle in the nearby family-friendly park. Four en-suite rooms within the main house and two separate self-contained cottages on the estate. King Protea Room - en-suite(bath and shower with luxury towels); queen bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; flat screen television; DSTV channels; wireless internet access; tea/coffee making facilities; safe; hairdryer. Cape Robin Room - en-suite (shower with luxury towels); double bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; flat screen television; DSTV channels; wireless internet access; tea/coffee making facilities; safe; hairdryer. Cape Disa Loft Room (upstairs) - en-suite (shower with luxury towels); double bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; air-conditioning; flat screen television. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Oak And Vine Guest House Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oak and Vine Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.