We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hedge House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hedge House to your Saves list
Hedge House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 Argyle Rd, Newlands 7700, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakleigh, Australia
1 review
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Hedge House is a lovely, friendly and relaxing place to stay. I stayed for a few days and enjoyed it immensely. Judy, her family and staff made me feel very welcome – spoilt in fact. The food is excellent and the service is outstanding. The room was quiet and overlooks a lovely little garden. Hedge House is in a quiet street in the picturesque suburb of Newlands, close to shops, several restaurants, and the famous Newlands sport stadiums. The magnificent Table Mountain can be seen from the front yard. The university is a longish but enjoyable walk from Hedge House.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
35
17
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Achiltibuie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is a really wonderful place to stay. What I loved most about it was the garden and seating areas - one could sit in a quiet and secluded leafy idyl away from the centre - but also so close to it too. The white roses on the veranda were divine with all the butterflies flipping around! The rooms were clean, white, cool and very comfy and I loved the home made rusks and biscuits to munch on in the rooms! Judy was always so kind and helpful and went out of her way to help and that really makes it feel like a friendly family home one has generously been invited in to. Breakfast was lovely too so all in all I can't think of anything that could have made it better!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I am angry! Angry that I could not get a booking for my weekly repeat stay with the Hedge House. Checked into another place and checked out after one night. Felt like I was staying in a 60's home, which might suit others but totally inappropriate for a modern day business traveler - that will teach me to make my bookings in advance. At the Hedge House you are ensconced in modern day conveniences, I particularly enjoyed the underfloor heating and other nice little touches like fresh flowers and a carte de orr choc on the pillow on your first night, freshly baked bread everyday (you miss them when you stay elsewhere)! All with the homely feel you get with Judy. I will be coming back for weeks to come on repeat business. Hear that Judy?

Tiro T

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 nights and can absolutely confirm what wonderful hosts Judy and her team were and how comfortable we were in in such pleasant yet private surroundings. Critical for me since I am in a wheelchair was full acccessibility into and within our room. The handicapped accessible room is separate from the main B&B facility, has a separate, completely accessible and secure entrance and a fully accessible bathroom, complete with wheel-in shower. Entrance to the main building for breakfast entailed a short walk/roll with assistance should it be needed available through a remote. We absolutely intend to stay there next time we travel to Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed at Hedge House for 5 nights while I was in Cape Town for business. Judy and her team were wonderful hosts, so welcoming, friendly and they made my stay incredibly comfortable and relaxing. The rooms are a fantastic size and inlude every home-comfort you could ask for. I would recommend Hedge House to anyone visiting Cape Town – be it for business or pleasure. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

July England was the consumate hostess. She was there to greet me when I arrived on a Thursday evening at 22h30 after a late flight from Johannesburg. I had a 3 course supper already laid out upstairs in a private suite, which incorprated a large comfortable king size bed and lounge suite. The electric blanket was thoughtfully on and I crawled into bed for a relaxing night's sleep. Breakfast was first class the next morning and Judy attended to every request with ease. Coffee was brewing and the newspaper was ready at hand to start the day. We had a roast leg of lamb that evening, prefering to eat at the Hedge and a great evening it turned out to be. The food was really scrumptuous. I actually somewhat wistfully remarked to Judy after my stay as I was leaving that it was very much a home from home. I highly recommend the Hedge to any business traveller.

Room Tip: Stayed upstairs in a large separate room with a lounge suite and double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was our second stay at the Hedge house and we loved it. Clean rooms and excellent service. Judy and her staff are friendly and helpful. Betty makes the best scrambled eggs. It is a calm and relaxing environment. Excellent

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hedge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedge House

Address: 12 Argyle Rd, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedge House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star guest house in the peaceful suburb of Newlands, is a 10-minute drive from Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, University of Cape Town and Cape Town's city centre. It features uninterrupted Table Mountain views and an outdoor salt-water pool.Our five rooms have their own private entrances and free WiFi. They include a microwave, a kettle, a refrigerator and a work desk. All rooms have a bath and shower.Hedge House guests enjoy a rich breakfast prepared with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Breakfast is served outdoors on the patio, in your room or in the dining room.There is also a recreational area for children, equipped with a trampoline and a swing, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lounge area and on the veranda. The hotel’s garden features panoramic views of Table Mountain and is wheelchair accessible.Hedge House is located at the foot of Table Mountain and is a 5-minute walk from The Newlands Cricket and Rugby Stadiums. Cape Town International Airport is less than 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hedge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedge House Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedge House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.