We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best b&b in Cape Town - bar none.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernwood Manor

Save Saved
You added Fernwood Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fernwood Manor
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   35 Almond Street | Fernwood, Newlands 7700, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Newlands B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best b&b in Cape Town - bar none.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

I have tried to find fault with this guest house & failed miserably - we stayed here for 8 nights (we even moved out to try somewhere else - moved back after one night)! Nothing is too much trouble from cheerful, friendly staff & the cleanliness of the whole place reaches new levels. Congratulations to all involved & thank you for helping us to enjoy our stay enormously.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We first stayed here in 2004 when Sally Peters, the owner was running it as a Bed and Breakfast. She has since expanded it into a boutique hote.But it has lost nothing. The charm of her own home is still present and we were treated like personal guests. Breaksfast was delicious; the service was superb with a smile-nothing was too much trouble. Sally booked us tickets for the opera and visit to Robben Island. Our room was wonderfully comfortable. This is a real gem and anyone who is willing to stay away from the waterfront or who wants the tranquility of the nearby Kirstenbosch Gardens should not look any further. We cannot recommend this strongly enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Another great stay at Fernwood Monor. I am so confident of the standards of service, comfort and management that I would not consider staying anywhere else in Cape Town. Already looking forward to my next stay in February 2012.

Room Tip: I prefer a room in the main house but there are also poolside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhb
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Sally runs an excellent establishment, and has always made it a pleasure for me to stay there. I have been staying at Ferwood Manor for more than 5 years now while on innumerable business trips, and would not consider any other accomodation in Cape Town. This is because Sally and her team have ALWAYS gone out of their way to make me feel at home - truly a home from home. (On one occassion, Sally, sensing I was in a predicament, went out and found a birthday gift for my wife which I could not find in Jhb!!). Keep it up - it's great!! And a BIG thank you to you all!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. The house is beautifully decorated, the rooms ultra comfortable and the staff are attentive, happy and very good at what they do. Sally and Campbell, the owners, are perfect hosts. full of useful information.

Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: Enjoy a good breakfast!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I always stay at Fernwood Manor when in Cape Town. The rooms are regularly upgraded to enhance the guest experience.The rooms and bathrooms are large and there is plenty of storage space. Some rooms open onto the beautiful swimming pool. There are well maintained gardens if you just want to relax.

The staff are extremely helpful and the service level is better than a 5 star hotel. The location is central for Cape Town attractions, as well as winetasting in the Winelands and enjoying the beaches at Muizenberg and St James.

Fernwood Manor has a high number of returning guests and is popular with UK visitors. Sally Peter and her team will go out of their way to help guests with advice about places to visit, restaurants to try (and will make reservations).

I cannot recommend Fernwood Manor too highly and I look forward to my next visit later this year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Fernwood. The hotel has everything you need and more, the rooms are clean, the pool is fantastic with beautiful views of the mountain, the location is central for travelling around Cape town - 20min to the airport, beaches, town center and vineyards! The Staff were friendly and went the extra mile. We will definitely we back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fernwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Manor

Address: 35 Almond Street | Fernwood, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fernwood Manor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernwood is an elegant colonial style home in the leafy suburb of Newlands surrounded by lush greenery with wonderful mountain views. Our exclusive guest house, catering for no more than 16 guests, ensures warm friendly personal service in gracious and elegant surroundings.All with their own unique character, we offer exquisitely decorated air-conditioned rooms, king or twin bedded on request, most with balcony or garden patio. These superior luxury rooms with finely appointed bathrooms are complemented by two executive suites, The Almond and The Rose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Fernwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Manor Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernwood Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.