We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Hills Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Misty Hills Country Hotel to your Saves list
Misty Hills Country Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Drift Boulevard, Muldersdrift 1747, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Muldersdrift
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I recently visited your beautiful hotel and I meant to write sooner but travels kept me busy! Your gardens are absolutely magnificent! We received exceptional service from a lady called Marlize with a Swiss background! My wife accidentally messed some red wine on her blouse. Marlize brought one of her own blouses to my wife to change into and cleaned my wife's blouse which we found neatly back in our room! This kind of exceptional service I have never come across! What an asset to your establishment this lady is!

Room Tip: All rooms are nestled in a beautiful garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    68
    27
    22
    15
See reviews for
24
76
7
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I completely agree with the comments made in the other reviews about the ambiance of the property. It is beautiful and the rooms remind you of where you are. However, it is not a hotel for the business traveler. Wifi is spotty at best and impossible most of the time. I realize internet connectivity in South Africa is relatively slow but this was frustrating to have to walk around the room until I found the one spot where I had a little coverage so I could do a few emails.
The rooms were clean, but the first room I was assigned had 5 conditioners and 0 shampoos. I thought it was a new property trying to work out the kinks, but found they have been around for several years, so apparently management isn't interested in making it a priority to have everything working well. I went to dinner once at the coffee shop and asked if I could sign to the room. I was told yes and then at 11:30 that night I received a phone call saying I could not and is needed to go to reception first thing in the morning. I went to reception and explained the situation and was told I didn't need to go and I could sign my dinners to the room. When I went to check out at the end of my 6 night stay I was told I needed to pay for my last night. I. Showed the receipt from when I checked in showing I had paid upfront for my entire stay. The gentleman apologized and said their system was having problems. This in a nutshell was what I experienced throughout my stay. Little items of annoyance that added up to a overall disappointing experience.
Great for a couple of romantic nights but not for a 6 night business stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Doug
Allow me to express my gratefulness for selecting Misty Hills Country Hotel Conference and Spa for your stay, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us.
Thank you kindly for mentioning about the beauty and ambiance of our property.

The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed, so that we can make adjustments accordingly and guarantee the best experience for our future guests.
I do hope you will honour us a return visit to our property and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warmest regards,

Francois Stremmelaar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I just wanted to say “Thank You” for all your assistance on Saturday and helping make the day so special for my Mom and Dad.

The breakfast was awesome and the staff were wonderful.

Everybody had such a good time at Misty Hills, and had only good things to say. Everybody there made the day so special.

Room Tip: We had a function there and used the Gin Box Venue, which was very comfortable and warm atmosphere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Misty Hills is the ultimate African experience. This was our third time to stay at this venue. Each time has been better than the last. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable. Absolutely loved the outdoor shower. The bed was very comfortable. The service incredible. The food fabulous. I'll stay here every time I come back to Africa.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our last night in SA, awesome place for a budget price. A lot of the complex was closed down as it was just before Christmas but we had fun playing with the gym equipment and using the pool. The included breakfast was truly memorable, the rooms were great. Similar price to a hostel but oh, so much nicer!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Built as a sort of bio park the entire campus is rich with flora and fauna, making your stay feel less like a hotel and more like a park. Originally booked in an economy room I was appalled at the poor level of maintenance and quality. Due to poor wifi coverage I was moved to a better room, one that afforded a better quality of stay and better internet. The better room was fantastic, probably worth the additional money in the future, and better experience. The breakfast is extensive, hot and cold options for local and international palates. Central reception was under construction during this visit but, aside from the poor signage, the staff did their best to ease the challenges.

Room Tip: This is not an ideal location if you suffer from allergies, the thatched roofs are clean and well ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We drove from Durban to Misty Hills Country Motel, easy drive, highway all the way, still have no word from the e-toll management regarding our toll costs. Found the hotel by GPS. The layout is a bit confusing when you first arrive, but once you take a walk around the property, it becomes easy enough although the property is very expansive. Directional signs in the hotel are good, the gardens, water streams and waterfalls are relaxing. The reception was still a temporary affair but the staff were fantastic, friendly and most helpful, so there was no problem. Our stay was for 4 nights, wherever we met friendly staff there was always offers of assistance, the restaurant [we only used the Gin Box] was great, breakfast we have not seen better in many years, if you can eat under the trees do it. The rooms are quiet, just the insects and birds in harmony. The golf carts assist with luggage and will run you anywhere on the property. Free wi-fi excellent. Our rooms for the party ranged from village 4 through to village 8, all found to be great. For us Durbanites, it was a peaceful haven from a year of hard work although we were in Gauteng for a wedding we will definitely be back for a long weekend break later this year, far preferable to Cape Town although you do need a car and a Garmin if you are from out of town. Pool area and swing beds are great. Very interesting history of the property and living in a botanical garden environment was a first for us, with the labels on trees and shrubs most enlightening with information.

Room Tip: The higher priced rooms have air conditioning, this may be preferable in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Hills Country Hotel

Address: 69 Drift Boulevard, Muldersdrift 1747, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Muldersdrift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Hills Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The attractive Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is a charming, stone-built hotel complex. Set in lush, landscaped gardens and surrounded by natural forest and grassland in the heart of the Kromdraai Valley , this Johannesburg Hotel promises an unforgettable South Africa Holiday. Offering unparalleled Johannesburg accommodation, exotic dining, and fabulous leisure facilities, this South Africa Hotel is a favourite with many business and leisure travellers. Just 25 kilometres away from Johannesburg , the Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is ideally positioned with easy access to Johannesburg International Airport and is guaranteed to delight the most discerning guest seeking comfort and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Misty Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Hills Country Muldersdrift

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Hills Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.