We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Hills Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Misty Hills Country Hotel to your Saves list
Misty Hills Country Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Drift Boulevard, Muldersdrift 1747, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Muldersdrift
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

i had a great experience being served at this hotel and will definitely come back.
Location is slightly out of the hustle n bustle of Jo'burg...
The lawns r well preserved n no noisy sprinklers.
keep up the golf carts as your means of travel within the hotel.
spa is modern n cool but suggest you increase capacity as one has to reserve n wait for long.
the meat restaurant is all fantastic with the Zulu theme incorporated.
Keep it up Misty hills.

Room Tip: they are all good....n just remember your room number promptly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rentom765, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Patrick,

Many thanks for your positive comments. It is much appreciated.
We are certainly looking at the possibility of increasing the spa capacity.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    81
    32
    25
    17
See reviews for
32
93
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Not so great ! All hype ! The rooms are not cleaned properly n the housekeeping takes 4ever when u need anything . If u want sumthing the reception wont bring it they wil tell u 2 wait 4 housekeeping 2 wake up . I was horrified by that answer !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a great stay at the Misty Hills in June. The hotel was not busy at all and we had a lovely room (deluxe superior). We found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. We ate at the Carnivore that evening and had a great dinner. We had a small lunch at the Gin Box Pub, where our food was only mediocre, however. Breakfast was very nicely prepared and offered many choices. We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rentom765, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for your valued feedback, it is much appreciated. We have taken note of your comment regarding the Gin Box Food and shall definately rectify.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The rooms are dirty and the food not up to standard. Dont bother to complain about anything cause the incompetent management is never around, and always ready with an excuse. The management doesnt know what's going on and just refer you back to the reception. There's much better 3 and 5 star places in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naVH, Marketing Assistant at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your comment. Note that this complaint is an extension of Customer Rynolw1, Incident Sunday 1 July, Rynolw1 post date Tuesday 3 July, our response Wednesday 4 July refers.
This is unfortunately a continued attack on the hotel and we believe that management dealt with the complaint in a professional manner and that it is a closed matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We went to Misty Hills for a weekend break in July. We stayed in an Executive Suite (we decided to upgrade after we heard terrible reviews from friends about the standard rooms). The room was big and was relatively well kept, but we had the following problems during our stay:
1) The shower head in our room was blocked and had to be replaced
2) We had no hot water in our room the one evening (not great in the middle of Winter)
3) I was locked in the bathroom for 45 minutes as the latch on the door handle was faulty.
4) The room was freezing cold at night. They have one small airconditioner for the whole rather large room, which didnt quite do the job.

The staff were friendly and tried to be accomodating, but unfortunately it didnt make up for our bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rentom765, General Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Misty Hills Country Hotel, Conference Centre & Spa – Arrival : 13 July 2012 – Departure : 15 July 2012. The comments we receive from our valued guests, be it complimentary or otherwise is of utmost importance to us in order to improve on any shortcomings we may have as of course we endeavour to exceed your expectations every time we receive you at our hotel.

We have conducted a thorough investigation regarding the alleged lack of hot water in your accommodation, however found the geyser to be satisfactory and in proper working order. My sincere apologies if this was not the case when you wanted to use the shower at that specific time. Due to technical failure, indeed at times door- and cupboard locks do not function properly. I followed up with our engineering department who ensured me that they tried, as speedily as possible, to unlock and fix the lock of your bathroom door. Any inconvenience regarding such is sincerely regretted. We also thank you for your comment on the shower head, although I have no incidence-report on such. We will however double-check on this comment, and ensure this is in order for future guests. Indeed, it does get rather cold on our property, as we are surrounded by water, but have taken note that you felt the heating not to your satisfaction and will ensure that this will be addressed in the future during such cold winter months.

Gratitude is presented for your complimentary comments on our team members, which I will certainly convey to them and we trust that you enjoyed your stay in general and that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrades to your Suites.

We trust you will find the above in order and we look forward to receiving you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Only stayed for one night the rooms were very far from the restaurants and the porters didnt respond to our calls the front desk was very helpfull the carnivore restaurants service was great as we had a booking and it was the lost the manager went out of his way to accomadate us in a fullhouse restaurant nice and close to local airport lanseria

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rentom765, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for your feedback.
I shall address the lack of service that you had received from the porters during your stay.
I shall convey your thanks to the Front Desk staff and the Carnivore Managment.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Misty Hills, as our valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

fantastic time at this hotel ,the staff just wanted to please you,the gardens out of this world thanks to all at this hotel for making our two weeks so memorable

Room Tip: room 23 very peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rentom765, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your comments, this is much appreciated.
We pleased that you enjoyed your two week stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Misty Hills in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Hills Country Hotel

Address: 69 Drift Boulevard, Muldersdrift 1747, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Muldersdrift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Hills Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The attractive Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is a charming, stone-built hotel complex. Set in lush, landscaped gardens and surrounded by natural forest and grassland in the heart of the Kromdraai Valley , this Johannesburg Hotel promises an unforgettable South Africa Holiday. Offering unparalleled Johannesburg accommodation, exotic dining, and fabulous leisure facilities, this South Africa Hotel is a favourite with many business and leisure travellers. Just 25 kilometres away from Johannesburg , the Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is ideally positioned with easy access to Johannesburg International Airport and is guaranteed to delight the most discerning guest seeking comfort and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Misty Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Hills Country Muldersdrift

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Hills Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.