We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion and Rhino Nature Reserve

Lion and Rhino Nature Reserve
520 Kromdraai | Krugersdorp, Muldersdrift, South Africa
(011) 957 0349/0106/0109
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Rustenburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

That was a day I would long remember. The Lion and Rhino reserve is a full day amazement! Playing with little lion cubs is just one of the may things on the list to do!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    82
    12
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Quick, plentiful and easy to do from Jo'Berg airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

About an hour from the airport is this expansive, open and cheap preserve. Lots of animals in reasonable environments considering the location. The White Lions are amazing and if you stay and just watch a while, many of the animals will move, approach you and provide lots of photo opportunity. Milton Travel and Tours at 27 83 685 6640 and email: miltontravelandtours@yahoo.com can pick you up at the airport take you to the Lion and Rhino park (and other places if you want) then drop you back off for your forward flight. Cost about $100 per person. Good for kids as well and may be cheaper per person for more people.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful for a day out with African animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We didn't really know what to expect from the Rhino and Lion Reserve, but whatever we did expect, those expectations were wildly exceeded. While the park is relatively modest compared to its cousins in Kruger National Park, it's proximity to Johannesburg and the accessibility of its animals make it an absolute must-see-and-do destination.

Arriving by car we did the self-drive option, as we hadn't booked the 9.30am game drive tour. You can take as long as you like driving around the reserve and there are plenty of game around. Zebras, wildebeest, ostrich, buffalo, and various species of antelope roam around freely.

We made for an early visit to the animal crèche and couldn't believe our eyes when we got to see, touch, cuddle and play with white lion cubs and a pair of adorable little caracals. You pay R30 per person for the privilege of getting up close with these wonderful cats. That's only about there dollars! Amazing... We'd be happy with our visit to the Reserve for that reason alone.

One word of caution: the food at the kiosk is not great. Next time we'll eat at the restaurant instead.

We then went on our drive and ended up in the specially fenced off Predators section where they keep Africa wild dogs, cheetahs and brown and white lions. Having never been on a game drive before it was quite exciting seeing lions and cheetahs lounging about in the high grass very close to our car. The feeding (not sure if it's daily) was quite cool as well, even if there were dozens of cars around.

A perfect day was capped off with a nice cream at the Neck and Deck cafe at the entrance where we could feed the resident giraffe.

We'll definitely return (maybe even next week)! We'll take a 4x4 so we can do the rhino track. And we want to spend some more time with our new friends, the caracals....

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as wonderful as Promised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Well the animals were good but thats about it, the rangers are extremely rude(an example, during the feeding round I was driving behind the ranger's bakkie out of the lion camp when suddenly I got shouted at to stop because I am going to be in the way of them making a u-turn without indicating beforehand, from there i was just stared down and I asked what's going on because it actually felt like a security stop after again I was just smirked off as if he didn't care, all four rangers had this attitude except for one playing with the wild dogs.) The whole feeding process turned out to be a waste of time because its poorly planned and consists of throwing pieces of a carcass of the back of a bakkie and driving off, its the same "wild" as in a zoo. If you plan on attending the feeding don't bother coming early for a good "place" as you are forced to park in a circle around the wild dogs, from there nothing is organised and they way you are told to park the earlier you come the worse it gets, cars from the back of the que make their way to the main route faster and you end up last, i was an hour early for the feeding and the 3rd vehicle there but by the time of feeding the lions I was not in time and had to try squeeze in to see anything. So your friendly ranger ended screaming at a person who got out of his car, but strangely enough drove off leaving people un attended in the lion enclosure, I have to say thou the ladies attending the gates at the open lion enclosures and cheetahs and wild dogs, they are nice and friendly and helpful. From there we went to the creche. Yay small animals,but again service is rude and horrible and the reptile centre isn't much more to see than the display cases at a petshop. We traveled to the cave from there. Went down the LOAD of stairs before getting in the lift. But it was beautiful and the guide was friendly and nice.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park
1 review
“So nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We wanted to see game and didnt have time to visit the National Park. We spent the entire day at this Reserve and saw so much game including White Tigers. We will definitely visit again and plan to stay overnight in the luxury Cabins.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion and Rhino Nature Reserve also viewed

Chartwell, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Lion and Rhino Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion and Rhino Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.