We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hospitality that makes you feel right at home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midrand Wild Goose B&B

Midrand Wild Goose B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Midrand Wild Goose B&B to your Saves list
Midrand Wild Goose B&B
198 Allan Road | Glen Austin, Midrand 1685, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 Midrand B&B and Inns
Witbank
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly hospitality that makes you feel right at home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Thank you Shayne and all the friendly people working at the Wild Goose B&B for a really memorable stay during my week of training in Midrand, you are the best!

I think fact that the B&B is so close to the Olifantsfontein Off-ramp on the N1 highway, makes traveling to your destination a breeze.

My room was stylishly decorated, with an obvious focus on comfort. The television has DSTV channels, and the room has a bar fridge, with facilities for coffee and tee. The accommodation was was perfectly rounded off with a beautifully and stylish bathroom.

I can recommend the breakfast in the dining room every morning. There is a great variety of food to choose from, which will make you last well into the day.

For any future stays in Midrand, Midrand Wild Goose B&B would definitely be my first choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harare
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at Wild Goose B&B. I came for an expo at Gallagher Convention Centre. Shayne is an excellent hostess and the service is second to none. Complimentary shuttle service to the expo everyday and then to the Gautrain. Beautifully decorated rooms and convenient amenities. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for accomodation in Midrand. I will definitely be back! Well done to Shayne and her team.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My stay at the Wild Goose B&B was well planned by Shayne with transport, timing etc and I was pleasantly surprised when I got to the room - very spacious and well decorated. Amazing breakfast brought to me in my room and enjoyed on my own deck outside the room. Really great stay! Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I 100% recommend the Wild Goose B&B. The facilities and service are excellent. The room I stayed in was gorgeous - with tasteful furnishings and a comfy extra large bed. There is free in room wifi, Mnet / cable TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a well stocked fridge. There is also the bonus of a private patio overlooking the extensive gardens. The traditional thatched roof and wooden structure set off against the lovely grounds and private pool are a bonus. However, what really sets the Wild Goose apart from other similar guest houses is Shayne and her team. Amazing traditional South African hospitality - nothing is too much trouble, from collecting you from the nearby Gautrain station to recommending the local trendy hotspots, the team make sure you have a memorable stay. Thanks team for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have visited Midrand Wild Goose B&B several times and on every occasion have found it to be warm and inviting. It has a cosy, comfortable feel without skimping on professionalism and a very high standard of service.

Shayne, the owner, is everything one would expect in a host and also takes the time to add her special touch when it comes to every guest. The rooms are beautifully appointed with flowers on the towels and many other special touches.

he breakfasts are to die for and far exceeded my expectations! Well done Shayne. May grow and prosper!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

In some sunken recess of the shrivelled-up left-hand side of my brain – this is what I recall from my stay:
The food is not good… it is outrageously goooood
Gorgeous-looking host rooms
Service can unquestionably not be better

Joe Botha

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

had the pleasure of staying at the wild goose, beautifully appointed, comfortable room, superb breakfast, warm hospitality, and nothing was too much trouble for Shayne to organise. ideally situated close to midrand, but just far enough away from the chaos to make you feel you are in a country lodge. highly recommended.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midrand Wild Goose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midrand Wild Goose B&B

Address: 198 Allan Road | Glen Austin, Midrand 1685, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Midrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With twelve tastefully decorated and air-conditioned bedrooms our guests are assured of comfort in a relaxed and peaceful environment. All rooms have TV, all local programmes as well as MNet and DSTV. Luxurious spacious individually furnished and decorated rooms for a relaxed stay at affordable rates.All our bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath / shower and are elegantly furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Midrand Wild Goose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midrand Wild Goose B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.