We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Constantia Hotel Midrand

Save Saved
You added Constantia Hotel Midrand to your Saves list
Constantia Hotel Midrand
Constantia Hotel Midrand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Constantia Hotel Midrand
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   546 16th Road, Constantia Park | PO Box 2995, Halfway House, Midrand 1685 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 45 Midrand B&B and Inns
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
“Average stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Old but nice hotel.
Staff needs training, Arrived to all staff watching football outside restaurant area. Twice I got over charged: 1. Waiter added own tip to bill. 2. Menu prices was lower than charged price. Staff lack knowledge of general cuisine terms. I experienced a lot of issues for such a small stay.
In General staff were friendly. Hotel support ie.Booking office and transport company were good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schio, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was at Constantia the whole past week.
Good rooms to sleep, even if the hotel is quite isolated and you need to call a taxi to move anywhere cause you are in the middle of an industrial area, no pubs, no shops to reach on foot.
Waiting times at the restaurant are quite important (long) and they do not inform you or apologize if they are delaying.. I've waited for more than an hour and a half a pasta dish............
They are used to take out your glass or your dish while you have not yet finished completely - when you are still on your drink or your meal... yes, they are in a hurry when they have to free the table.
Also at the bookkeping desk they are long and slow.... the official shuttle driver of the hotel was always busy when we called him for a transfer in the evening from the Gallagher Exhibition centre to the hotel, leaving us alone in the dark, with the well known problems of safety there are in this country..... he told us : I'm busy call another one... bravo!
The worst for me was the position of the hotel too far from anything and I surely think I will not come back here anymore..... sorry.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel several times and each time the services gets better. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The food is well prepared and tasty. The complementary wi-fi is a huge plus for me. I recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Midrand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

If you are traveling on business and require a good rest this is not the place to be. There is a bar located in the courtyard right below the rooms. It gets very noisy with guests that entertain themselves until the early hours of the morning, and every voice and song gets amplified throughout the rooms.
Wi-fi is free but a bit of a hassle, as you need to collect tokens of 150MB each from reception, and every time you want to go online you need to put the passwords in.

On the plus side, we were a group of five business travelers and reservations assisted us with a reduced rate. It is not the most value for money option in the area for business travelers though. The staff is very accommodating and helpful, and there was no issues with regards to reservations and the check in procedure. Food provided is tasty, fresh and good quality. Housekeeping does a good job maintaining the rooms, and is consistent in paying attention to all the details.

There is sufficient and secure parking space for guests, and a restaurant adjacent to the hotel reception which is very convenient. Other good quality restaurants are also close by, and Grand Central Airport is basically just up the road.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the Constantia Hotel while visiting Joburg. Again I was not disappointed for the following reasons (some a nice touch, some critical)

When you get to the room you get a personalised letter. This is a nice touch. Also they may up the room towels in the shape of a dog...which to my daughter is the most important element. As I would expect the rooms were clean, tidy and in great shape. I did not try the pool but it looked very nice.

The lunch menu was good, the breakfast fantastic (especially the mushrooms).

I also tried the wine menu and the variety was excellent with a lovely selection of spanish and south African varieties with varying prices, but easy to get a decent bottle for a good price.

For my 7 year old daughter the staff were very accommodating in letting her play and enjoy the surroundings whilst watching out for her and the other children as well. The nicest touch was the receptionist who offered to post a letter for me after she had finished work as it was quite urgent...I will be back again.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the pool...very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballitoville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Conveniently situated on Gautrain route in central Midrand great for mid-week business stays or as a base for weekends away. Good conferencing facilities, comfortable & bright rooms, fantastic breakfasts, friendly & accommodating staff, nice pool. Will always use it whilst in JHB.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I highly recommend staying at the Constantia Midrand Hotel, i travel extensively and use it as my base in Johannesburg, well positioned in Midrand , easy access to the N1 and on the Gautrain route.
The rooms are comfortable for those that use the hotel as a home away from home,affordable and well run.
I am back there later this week!
Regards
Stuart Ferguson

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Constantia Hotel Midrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantia Hotel Midrand

Address: 546 16th Road, Constantia Park | PO Box 2995, Halfway House, Midrand 1685 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Midrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Constantia Hotel Midrand 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Constantia Hotel Midrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantia Hotel Midrand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.