We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Airport and convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace

Save Saved
You added Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Kempton Park
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Close to Airport and convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is not great, but also not bad. It is well located, close to the airport and shopping malls. We had good service and staff were very friendly and helpful. What we enjoyed was the convenience of having everything "under one roof". Great places to eat, the casino, good entertainment and very easy access to the airport. The hotel even has monitors in the lobby for airport arrivals and departures. For the price you pay, there really isn't much to complain about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    109
    70
    21
    8
See reviews for
24
128
13
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Mondior several times while in transit from Johannesburg to the Kruger area and Johannesburg to Vic Falls. It is very easy to do their transport, which is free, goes every 30 minutes or so. Also wide variety of places to eat meals while there that you don't even have to go outside

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Firstly a disclaimer, we wanted somewhere near the airport for a stopover, we didn't want to use the facilities of the overall resort like the casino / food court. So we may be somewhat biased.

We really didn't like this hotel, it was totally oversold. The restaurant did not open for dinner, the wifi was only in a very limited area of the hotel, the minibar was not stocked, I was not allowed to charge drinks to the room without going back to reception and pre-authorising funds (which was not mentioned on check in).

Despite paying for a superior room, we were first checked into a standard. I had to go back to reception and complain. As we were moving rooms anyway we decided to go for a smoking room (given the restaurant we figured we would just stay in the room and watch TV). When we got the new room it stank so badly we had to summon room service with air fresheners. It smelt like a smoking area in an airport lounge! Now we have both stayed in a lot of smoking rooms in hotels and none have smelt like this.

Finally, we found that the much hyped cutting edge flat screens in the rooms were not very large, and most of the channels didn't work.

Then

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ok, lets start with the positives as there are few, so we can get through it easily:
1. well located, close to the airport
2. Attached to a casino complex, with entertainment etc
3. Very appealing lobby
4. Very appointed room - although very small

Negatives:
1. My towel on the hand towel rack was dirty !!! Yes dirty. not sure if it wasnt washed properly or washed at all
2. Mouldy bits in the bathroom, between tiles
3 Shower cannot accomodate much water (and the drain is very slow), hence it spills onto bathroom floor
4. Your get charged a fee for room service !!! First hotel in the world that i have ever seen this at !!
5. No wifi in rooms, only in lobby...have seen many guest battling over plugs points in the lobby in order to work
6. Wanted to get a connection cable in my room fixed, it is now 4 hours later and no one has pitched !!
7. Mini bar empty, whats the point of it then?
8. Room very small.

Would i recommend this hotel, never !! There are other better establishments close by

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights while I was attending a convention at the Emporers' Palace. From a western perspective, it's not much to write home about, and I'm not really sure why it has 4 stars; since I would give it a low 3 at best. The bed was the best part - big, comfortable, lots of pillows and good linens. That's about it. Wifi is not offerred throughout hotel, only a limited amount free in the lobby each day. The breakfast spread is large, and looks good, but is not really very tasty. The "business center" is a joke - just a couple of computer terminals which are not even attached to the printer, and the staff was too busy to attend to my needs. The complex it is attached to is great; however, a really nice food court, convention center, and the 5 star hotel looked great. If I go back, I will try it, but would not stay at the Mondior again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a night when boarding a flight next morning. a clean & decent place. being attached to a casino & many restaurants we did not need to leave the place and could easily pass out time. if they could add more place to shop I do not think any one would need to go out of the premises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

it's a good hotel if you are on business trip. The room is very clean, service is good, breakfast is perfect, very friendly chefs cook for you fresh meal. Big choice of fruits and pastries. Everything fresh and tasty. The only negative moment was on saturday night when we couldnt sleep because of the noise made by drunken guests who played in the casino and obviousely first they lost their direction to the exit and they simply walked along corridor and shouted and talked loudly, then the same group of people stayed outside the hotel (our windows looked at the entrance where shuttle or others cars stopped and continued to behave noisy, nobody from hotels administration tried to cope with the noise, they left at 4am in the morning after 3 hours noise, so it was awful, the next day we got apologies from staff but the night was spoilt..because the hotel is a part of casino complex you should be ready to such sleepless nights with drunken guests who only to play there and go home early morning after drinking, gambling...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace

Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel facilities include: Bar and Lounge (Silver Moon), Breakfast Restaurant (Oriana), Baby sitting services, Business Centre, Helipad, Secure parking, Complimentary shuttle service to and from the Airport, Wireless Internet access in public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Mondior At Emperors Palace Hotel Kempton Park
Mondior Concorde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.