We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace to your Saves list
Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Needs an upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is situated not far from the airport and if you like the casino environment its ok. The room was small and dont expect a view. The check in staff are rude and not helpful. Parking is not a problem but be prepared to walk a distance if the parking near the hotel is full. Room Service is expensive and be prepared for a long wait if you order in. Overall expereince ok for a stopover one night stay is recommended.The nighly rate is overpriced for this hotel.

Room Tip: this a recommended hotel for anyone that enjoys gambling try not to ask for help at reception as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    159
    93
    35
    15
See reviews for
41
211
22
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed just one night in between flights on Christmas Day. Hotel was close to airport with shuttle service. Room was adequately comfortable and staff were helpful. Breakfast was really good with loads of choice. Easy walk to large adjoining large casino and eating places for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip. My room was clean and comfortable, in fact I had no trouble getting a full night's sleep. A couple of gripes though: my room hadn't been fully serviced on arrival and I was interrupted by a rather surprised member of staff who didn't expect anybody in the room only 15 mins after I'd arrived; the wifi connection was poor, only working in the bathroom; I couldn't work out how to get the TV working and there were no instructions available.

The staff were very friendly and efficient. The breakfast choice was good, with plenty of fresh fruit on offer.

The hotel is five minutes from the airport but I only heard aircraft noises one morning when the patio windows in the restaurant had been opened. Equally, the highway borders the hotel but I didn't hear any traffic notice in my room or elsewhere in the hotel.

The rest of the complex offers a range of entertainment and eating outlets with enough to satisfy all tastes.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
2,024 reviews 2,024 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 357 cities Reviews in 357 cities
821 helpful votes 821 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is one of four hotels located in the same complex along with several restaurants. a casino and theater. The hotel was clean and very modern in it decor. This hotel is OK for a single night however I would not wan't to stay an extended time. There is a charge for using the internet and my hook up was not all that good.It worked only in the lobby. Breakfast was more than acceptable with lots of food choices. The breakfast came with the room. If you are driving there is free parking or if you are coming from the airport there is a free shuttle which runs a couple of times each hour. In this same complex there are other hotels that cost more as well as costing less per night. This seems to be their mid-priced location.Just don't expect more than a clean simple room and you will be happy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton,South Africa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were lucky to find a fabulous special deal offered at this time of year through Peermont hotel group. The staff throughout the hotel was really nice, which is a change from most establishments. Everywhere was very clean including our bedroom carpet. I find this unusual. The adjoining complex offers movies, casino, shops, restuarants, and as an hotel guest you have access to the swimming pools at the 3* and 5* hotels on the same premises. The pool at the 5* hotel is magnificent. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and the manager and staff hover around to ensure good service. There are lounges and bars to relax in and a spa in the complex. All in all most unexpectedly enjoyable as we thought it would be the usual 'airport hotel,'

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Wife and I only stayed here for one night, in order to catch an early flight back to Brazil. The room was a bit cramped, because the king-sized bed takes too much space. Bed is confortable, with plenty of pillows, but the duvet smelled of smoke, even though we were in a non-smoking room. Bathroom had enough space, with bath and shower. There is no wi-fi internet in the rooms, which I found unacceptable for a business hotel - they do have a cable for laptops. In theory, you need to go down to the lobby to get wi-fi access (which is pricey), but I couldn't get my iPhone to work there, so I had to go all the way to the food court to use wi-fi.
The hotel is part of a complex with a casino, cinema, the aforementioned food court (with plenty of options) and a convention centre. There are no shops nearby, though, which is a shame.
On the positive side, breakfast was quite good and they have a shuttle to the airport every twenty minutes, which is very convenient.
Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you are just staying for one night before your flight. It certainly doesn't live up to its 4 star billing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I would not choose this hotel if I had to stay in Jo'burg for longer than overnight, but as an aiport hotel this is definitely an experience worth having as it's a world a part from the usual idea of "airport hotel" we have in Europe: the hotel is part of an hotels/restaurants/cinema/casino complex which is very lively and won't give you the feeling of being there just for a transfer. In fact on Christmas night both the hotel and the food court were packed with people. We were later told that people from Jo'burg spend their weekends there when they want to do something different.

The complex offers 20 some "restaurants". I wouldn't honestly go as far as calling them restaurants as they are all high-street names but it is indeed a good offer of cousines and you can walk to the restaurants directly from the hotel.

What this complex is really missing are shops, in fact I had to go back to the airport (where there is a Wooloworths!) to buy something I needed. In this sense having a shuttle to the airport rather than being able to walk there is not particularly convenient. If your transfer is really short or you want to keep the option of using the airport shops I would suggest staying either at the Intercontinental or the City Lodge, in fact both can be reached on foot from the airport.

Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated, but quite small for a 4 stars hotel and our bathroom stunk so badly of damp that they had se the toilet fan to go 24hours. This had an effect om the noise on teh room and unfortunately not much effect on the smell itself. We decided not to complain as our stay was very short and we didn't want to pack and move in that lapse of time. A part for that, the room was on the side of the kitchen and we could not open the window for most of the time or we would smell of stir fry! Again, a surprise for a 4 stars but if you consider you pay 1000R for the room you'll then realise you can't be THAT upset.

The hotel's breakfast is very rich and runs till quite late. I would reccomend you take advantage of that. The hotel also allows to check-out later than 11am for 100R/hour (negotiable)

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the same side of the main entrance to the hotel. This should avoid you smellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace

Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel facilities include: Bar and Lounge (Silver Moon), Breakfast Restaurant (Oriana), Baby sitting services, Business Centre, Helipad, Secure parking, Complimentary shuttle service to and from the Airport, Wireless Internet access in public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Mondior At Emperors Palace Hotel Kempton Park
Mondior Concorde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.