We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport to your Saves list
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Promotional Packages
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed here in transit from Australia to Botswana, it is only a short walk from the airport which is very convenient as we didn't want to have to go into Johannesburg after a long flight and we were leaving at 10am the next day. The rooms are lovely with large bathrooms. The restaurant is modern. Very nice hotel. Unfortunately we were too tired to see what else the hotel had to offer

  • Liked — Modern
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    189
    37
    13
    6
See reviews for
116
258
73
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

As practically all reviewers have noted, this hotel is ridiculously over-priced, and almost certainly relies on the fact that it is highly convenient to the airport, and that almost all guests will be one-nighters, like us, in transit at JNB. Unlike other reviewers, we had no problems with the hotel, and had a room on the 7th floor which appeared to have been recently renovated, and was nicely furnished, with plenty of little touches that made our short stay very enjoyable. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant, and enjoyed both: nothing to complain about here. Good selection, good service, pleasant atmosphere. We also enjoyed excellent service from the staff, especially with assistance regarding our complicated baggage arrangements. The porter even pushed our luggage trolley all the way from the hotel to the airline check-in queue for our flight out. The only negative thing was that internet access in their little business centre (with 2 pc's available) was slow on one occasion, and non-existent on another ... however, this is a problem endemic to the region. I had to think hard about spending the money for just one night, but after a tiring long-haul flight, the convenience of not having to look for a shuttle bus and being able to put up our feet in a very comfortable room and enjoy the hotel's facilities turned out to be a happy choice. Finances permitting, I would stay here again in similar circumstances.

  • Liked — Convenient to airport
  • Disliked — Way over-priced
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We booked in here after trying to find another hotel with two twins in close proximity to the airport. We were to scared (hijackings, shootings, robbery) to venture further afield. We were in transit from London to Hoedspruit for a safari. Outrageously over-priced and then to top it off we had to pay an extra amount for an "upgrade" because the room we had asked for was not ready. The room was dirty, no internet and few frills. Restaurant was mediocre. When we checked out they tried to charge us for two nights instead of one. All a big rip-off, especially the highly inflated price, for the convenience of staying right at the the really horrible airport. Avoid if possible.

  • Liked — At the airport
  • Disliked — Way overpriced - a ripoff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We have just returned home from our honeymoon where we spent just one night at the Intercontinental Hotel at Johannesburg airport.

We had literally booked the stay due to our connecting flight times, but a one night stop over turned out to be one of the nicest of our honeymoon!!

All the staff were more than accommodating and I can highly recommend the hotel to everybody needing a stop over, it is just a two minute walk from the airport doors and is very ideal if you have an early get up the following morning.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

This hotel is literally a few minute walk from the International Terminal at O.R. Tambo Airport in Johannesburg. We arrived late evening after two long international flights and needed a place to catch some sleep before a morning flight to Cape Town. It was quiet and comfortable - just what we needed.

  • Liked — proximity to JNB
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

Very nasty Airport hotel – only stayed there as we had to – will never visit it again……………… (I Hope). Rooms dirty – tired – room safe pulled off the wall. Thankfully we had an early flight

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

We booked this hotel thinking the extra money would be worth it. It was not. The room was comfortable, but the restaurant service was just ok, swimming pool was gone, and the work out facility was moved to 2 small conference rooms next to the smoking lounge. I had higher expectations for an InterContinental property; this did not meet them.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Renovations were not mentioned on website or at time of booking
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2011 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.