We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it for a tired layover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport to your Saves list
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it for a tired layover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Relaxing atmosphere, fountain pond with duck behind the checkin set the tone. Needed after 17 hours on a plane. Room, bed, and pillows were all very comfortable. It was quiet too which made for a very restful stay. I ordered room service for dinner. A giant burger, was awesome. Reasonably priced too; burger and 2 beers was about $22. High end coffee/espresso machine was great in the morning. It's right outside the terminals so it was so convenient.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good Afternoon burnszey and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Adivsor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and you even got to see our Carolina Duck behind reception. A new addition to the family. Hope it won't be too long before your next visit, keep well, kind regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    171
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
111
235
63
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We arrived after a very long delay with dreadful Etihad Airways,the rain was falling and we did not fancy getting our hire car and trying to find our accommodation in the pitch dark.

We looked out and there was the Intercon Hotel,I am a group member and we received avery good rate with breakfast. The room was first class as was the late room service. The breakfast service and choice was first class.

Thank you Intercon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Good Evening alexanderSpain and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you decided NOT to venture into the traffic, but rather spend the night with us, and then we still left you with great memories. That's what its all about for us and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We Stayed one night before catching a domestic flight the next day.

Very convenient location just in front of the airport, it is a 5 stars hotel so rooms are to a very high standard. Very comfortable huge bed, large bathroom with shower and bath, separated toilet. Very quiet at night, efficient air conditioned .Pleasant small heated pool, slightly salty, we enjoyed it a lot to relax after a long flight .

The door of our fridge didn't close properly so drinks was not too cold. Carpet got a large red stain near the table.We didn't take breakfast at the hotel due to our early domestic flight.

But it is really too much expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Good Evening alexperry2013 and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are pleased to read that you really enjoyed your time with us and found our facilities and services to your satisfaction. Please note that the pool is a salt water pool and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed it. We hope it won't be too long before your next stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

When I am in cities with the Intercontinental Hotel I always try and stay there. You will not find a better accommodation then the Intercontinental.

Great food lively environment and great staff here at the JNB airport hotel.

I tried out city lodge as well which is right next door which is not shabby but the Intercontinental knocks it's socks off.

If you have a choice experience this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Good Evening Carolinablue26 and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post some feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Enjoy the weekend, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We used this hotel just to have a shower and breakfast before heading to the office after a 12 hour flight.

It is literally in front of the airport - took us literally 2 minutes to get there.

Breakfast was good and the room seemed quite decent too. Wifi worked fine with no issues.

We didn't sleep, so can't pass judgment on the quality of sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Good Evening Amit H and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Yes, we do have quite a few guests that use us for what we call "day use" like yourselves. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your short time with us and hopefully next time you will be able to sleep over. Keep well and Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our trip: we stayed 1 night after a long haul flight before catching a domestic flight the next day.
Our room: we stayed in the basic king room - a deluxe room I think. It was well appointed and well maintained though in style terms a little dated. The bed was extremely comfortable.
The hotel: lovely public areas. The standout feature was the hotel's proximity to the airport terminal - a couple of minutes walk.
The service: very friendly and efficient.
Other comments: breakfast was excellent - great range and good quality. Room service dinner was very ordinary (it is very difficult to get a basic hamburger wrong, but it was awful - completely undercooked with cold fries). The other dinner we ordered at the same time was barely acceptable. The pool is warm and pleasant, though very small and more of a large spa really.
The cost: very pricey for the standard of the hotel but you get the great benefit of location.
Overall: we'd stay there again, but wander over to the terminal for dinner next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Good Evening rqf55 and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us overall and apologise for the hamburger experience. Our hamburger is actually a signature dish, in that its hugely oversized and more than enough for 2 guests - but hopefully we can rectify this experience on your next stay. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

If one needs a place to overnight between flights you'll not do better than the Intercon. Just a very short stroll from the terminal building, there's no hassle with taxis.
Of course, one pays for the convenience but the rooms are good, comfortable and contain everything needed. Food in the restaurant is very good and the service charming.
Efficient WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Good Eveneing Hasherd and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Our buidling is tripple glazed and thus the great sound proofing that you experienced, even though we are only 68.7 meters from the airport. We also recently temporarily upgraded our internet offering and are receiving favourable feedback - so lets we can get it permanently installed. All the best for the week ahead, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2011 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.