We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food at the AIRPORT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport to your Saves list
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Food at the AIRPORT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I have suffered through so many mediocre meals at ORT only to recently rediscover a veritable oasis at the airport. A few steps from the main terminal is a chic alternative. Food is sublime and service impressive. Wine prices are a bit steep but otherwise a WOW experience!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Good Morning Donnie W and Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post some feedback regarding our lovely hotel on Trip Advisor. I will pass on your great feedback to our F&B Manager as well as our Executive Chef. A great team and they really appreciate your feedback. Hope it won't be too long before you next visit - Keep well and Kind Regards, Andrew Davidon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    171
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
111
235
63
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The InterContinental Hotel is literally steps away from the terminal. It is so convenient for the next day traveler. The rooms are amazing and the most beautiful hotel bathroom I've ever seen! There is an indoor pool on the top floor that looks out over Johannesburg and a spa. The restaurant, Quills is a great place to take a break and there is a business center with free computer use and a printer.
The concierge there was so helpful! We had an evening flight and they allowed us a late check out so we didn't have to hang out in ther terminal any longer than necessary. Yes, it is expensive, but when you start figuring in taxi fare to another hotel and time, etc., it was worth every penny. You will not be disappointed-- this is an oasis!

Room Tip: Because we so close, were able to pack our stuff and check our bags with the airline and then go bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Good Afternoon Maggiedangel and Thank You for taking time out of your day to post some feedback regarding our lovely hotel on Trip Adivsor. Most appreciated. Yes, our convinience is a great unique selling point of ours. To be able to arrive in a foreign country and just walk accross the road and your in your hotel is so - stress free. No taxi, no shuttle, no searching for your hotel - just out the terminal and you can see us across the pavement. A great comfort when traveling abroad. The team and I trust that it won't be too long before your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you back. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I really can not fault this hotel or the chain. Wonderful rooms and matching service. When we wanted to,see Johannesburg in the few hours we had free before flying a hire car was organized. When reception realized there was four of us not just two, a larger car was found. Nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant, Quills, was very nice with excellent food and the price was very reasonable. When you dine look up as the roof has a mobile or sculpture of Porcupine quills, excellent.
The best part is the location. for a transit stay it is a short stroll from the airport, just across the road. Perfect for the weary traveller. Oh and the wifi included is an added bonus with up to three log Ins per room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Good Morning dhutcho and Thank You for taking the time to post some feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor - most appreciated. I am glad to see that you had a wonderful time here with us - that's what its all about and your positive feedback keeps us encourages to keep striving harder. Yes, we upgraded our internet connect a few months ago and not only do we have complimentary offering with up to 4 devices which can be logged on at the same time, but we also offer a premium interent service, via the airport fiber optic pipeline, which is extremely fast and carries a small fee. Thank you once again for the great feedback - appreciated and looking forward to your next stay. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

So...it doesn't come cheap, but this hotel is a wonderful place to recuperate from jetlag if you are between destinations or coming from a long flight. It is the only hotel that you can walk to directly from the airport---no worries about shuttles or transportation.

The room is very comfortable (as is the bed) and it has amenities like nice toiletries, a coffee/tea maker and wonderful bathtub. I've never had a problem with noise which is a huge plus when you want to catch up on sleep.

You can also use the exercise room or the pool, which is a good way to work off some fatigue.

I've been several times, and would visit again despite the high price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Good Evening Frequentflier23, and Thank you for your wonderful posting. Appreciated. We are extremely well positioned and this really takes hassel out of transport and having to search for your hotel on arrival. We are pleased to read of your time spent with us and hope that it won't be too long before you next visit. Keep well and kind regards. Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed there last night. Service was over the top. We have stayed here before several times and always felt service lacking. NOT THIS TIME.
At breakfast which was excellent. Try the yogurt! I was having some one asking every 10 minutes what they could do for me.
Attentive and wanting to know. The executive chef even came out to ask us how breakfast was.
Had friends who had bought some wine and wanted to package it for airport. They made it happen in short order.
Beds were great and the nespresso in the room an added bonus.

Room Tip: FacingAway from the airport quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Good Evening Elridder and Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback regarding our hotel. Really appreciated. I am so happy to read that we rose to your expectations and exceeded. Yes, the special yoghurt is a new addition to our breakfast in the mornings and we have recieved great feedback regarding it.. Our Exec Chef sends regards once again and we look forward to your next visit in the not too distant future. Have a great evening, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here the evening before flying back home and were very pleasantly surprised! We travelled for a week up north and with all the traffic did not want to miss our early flight the next day. This was like a haven! We were tired from our drive and were greeted very friendly, had a lovely big room to relax in and a super bathroom. It was quiet and we could not hear any noise of aircrafts or cars around the hotel. The dinner was excellent and the breakfast was the best we had in our stay in SA! We will definitely make a point of staying there before any flight out of SA in the future.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, that was spacious and with interesting views of the airport area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Zirka2, Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us and your memorable trip. Your positive feedback gives us inpiration to try even harder and keep pushing the boundaries. We are so happy that we managed to leave you with some great memories. Keep well and hope to see you soon again. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed here a few times now just for a night before an early morning connecting flight and every time it wow's me. The rooms are spacious and very tastefully styled, with little extras like port and fresh coffee, fruit, chocolates all add to make the experience feel so special but I have to say the beds are the best, they are huge and so comfortable It really is a treat to stay here. We arrived after a long drive from Kruger feeling dusty and tired but the shower, bathrobe & slippers made me feel good, the rooms have huge bath tubs also. The staff have always been efficient & very helpful. Its so convenient in the morning to just wonder across to the airport, but you don't suffer any noise & its a real treat I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Good Morning Annettet and Thank You for taking the time to post feedback regarding our lovely hotel on Trip Adivsor. The team and I are so happy to see that we managed to "wow" you on various occasions - Thank you for this wonderful feedback. Yes, are beds are fantastic and are often mentioned in various feedback. I trust it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well and have a great day. Regards. Andrew Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2011 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.