We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal 4 Star accomodation for Transit Passengers to Tambo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace to your Saves list
Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Ideal 4 Star accomodation for Transit Passengers to Tambo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

A great hotel for transit passengers to Johannesburg's Tambo Airport (10 minutes away). We had a family room which included 1 queen bed with 2 king singles; enormous motel styled room with double vanity basins outside the actual bath and toilet area. The vanity area was much larger than the bath area. However there was plenty of room for 4 large suitcases and hand luggage.

We were comfortably accomodated, the room was spotlessly clean, and the decor appeared to be new. Although promoted as 3 star by travel agencies, it's really more in line with 4 star accomodation.

The beauty of this complex is that it is connected to the Casino Emporium, which you can walk through the building to a number of restaurants. The restaurant area is done very much in the Caesar's Palace Style with the indoor roof and clouds. It gives one the feel that your in an outdoor dining area in Italy. All levels of dining are catered for; from kiosk to family restaurant to a la carte to more upmarket. For those travelling with families and not interested in checking out the casino facilities the restaurant area is before entry to the casino, so can be avoided if preferred.

An excellent breakfast was included with great service, inclusive in the tariff. The only fault in the hotel was that the reception staff did not seem to be totally coherent in English and didn't seem to understand questions directed at them. A little odd considering Afrikaan's and English are the official languages of South Africa.

However, overall, it was the best transit hotel we have used anywhere in the worldv and we would definitely rebook should we travel to Africa again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    178
    118
    38
    26
See reviews for
66
171
45
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Basic 3 star hotel at 5 star prices. We stayed at the Metcourt Laurel as we were getting picked up from the hotel early the next morning and had just flown into the Jo'Burg so it was conveniently located.

We had a number of problems with the payment prior to arriving. They wanted us to photocopy our credit card (back and front) and send it to them. They wouldn't take our details over the phone or by a secure site. I've never had to do this anywhere in the world and have travelled far and wide. The security issues with this are laughable! They were reluctant for us to transfer the money through our bank. When we arrived to check in they said they didn't have any record of the deposit. Luckily we had a copy. They asked us for our credit card four times during the checking in and checking out process.

I also agree with previous comments that they need to sort out their customer service before the World Cup next year.

We stayed in a room on the ground floor that had been refurbished in bright colours. Some of the workmanship was a bit dodgy but I can understand the modern look they were going for. The room was beside the car park with people wandering past our window at all hours which made us feel a little uncomfortable. Also the room doesn't have a bar fridge, but ice buckets are available. Our room was quite spacious though.

You can walk through the hotel and into the casino and restaurant areas without leaving the hotel. Felt a bit like a down market and smaller Las Vegas.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

My sister had her wedding reception at Emperor's Palace (which was dissapointing) and it made sense to stay the night at Emperor's instead of driving home late. We were a group of 11 guests (3 guests stayed 2 nights) staying at the Peermont Metcourt which is the sister hotel to the Laurel. As part of the package we were given a group booking discount and thought it a bargin at the time. On the day non of us were able to check in. It was a nightmare. They were not able to find our bookings after they were confirmed a number of times. We were all on restricted time as we all needed to get back to take photos with the newlyweds. After almost an hour we all managed to check in. During the reception, one of the couple mentioned that they thought it was great that we were all offered a further "Easter" discount. Instead of paying R810.00 a night they were offered the rate of R599.00 for the night. We had no clue what they were taking about and decided to query it in the morning. That morning I asked the staff and they implied that I was lying to them and making it all up. They said if that was the case the other couple would have to pay more. No one seems to know what is going on and there was no manager to clear the problem up. They were completly incompetent and have no clue what service/hospitality is and should not be in a possition to deal with guests. Eventually my husband and I decided to pay the bill and query this later when we had all the facts and proof of the other couple, which were part of the same party/booking paid less. A couple of weeks later I wrote to the lady which we dealt with when doing our bookings to query the price difference. To this day, I still have not had an answer from anyone at Emperor's. No body seems to care about continued customer service and hoping that you would recommend this hotel to someone else or even return to stay there yourself. They clearly do not need the business, but I hope they jack up their service as when 2010 Wordl Cup arrives, they will not be able to cope as their staff are clearly not trained to handle situations like ours. My sister stayed at the D'Oreal Grand at Emperors for their wedding night. They are still waiting for their complimentary champagne and for their hot water for a bath. The Emperor's group hotels better improve as it tarnishes the Emperor's Palace name. All I can say is that it is Shocking and Pathetic!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

I booked and paid to stay at the Metcourt Laurel on TWO seperate occasions during my trip to Africa and on arrival both time's I was told my booking was not with them but was at the hotel opposite which is part of their chain, the Peermont. The second time this happened I made it very clear how unimpressed I was and I had all the documentation with me to proove I had booked and paid for the Laurel. They could not have cared less and told me it was because they were having renovations and there was too much noise (yet the room i had to stay in at the peermont was next to the runway!). After speaking to reception the person i was travelling with went back and pretty much asked the same question as to why we have been moved, he was told it was because they were full. Change of story within about 2 minutes.

So we had to stay at this Peermont which had tiny rooms and only a curtain between the bathroom and bedroom!

Don't get me wrong, this hotel looked beautiful from the foyer and i have had friends stay there that said the rooms were large and really nice. It is also located inside a compound that has security everywhere and is really close to the airport. But when there is the possability that they will move you elsewhere with no refund, maybe you should look elsewhere first before booking. After speaking to the company I booked the hotel through I was advised that they have been having this problem with them on a regular basis, and they basically don't seem to care and wont change their policy.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Only stayed 1 night but would have been happy to have stayed longer. The room was huge and clean and modern. Very good Buffet breakfast. This place only has 3 stars because it doesn't provide room service, mini bar etc, but is one of the nicest / cleanest places that I have stayed and so on the surface doesn't deserve to be labelled as a 3 star. Being a part of the Emporers Palace is a huge bonus. There are restaurants, some shops, swimming pool and the casino so you don't need to venture out into J'Burg. Very close to Airport...Ideal for travellers with a limited timeframe. I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We stayed here purely for the convenience and moderate price as a stopover. But we were pleasantly surprised. We were able to catch a convenient and free shuttle from the airport. For the price our room was nice. We were able to send out our laundry which gave us time to enjoy the facilities. The hotel is part of a much larger complex and is very good value for the facilities to which it gives access. We were able to use the internet facility in the business centre of the more expensive hotel in the complex. The complex houses a casino and a huge domed roof painted with a blue sky full of clouds. Beneath the sky is an indoor village with cobble-stoned streets lined wiht game parks, shops and restaurants. We found an exhibition about the history of Apartheid, nelson Mandela and the struggle for the South Africa of today, which really touched us. There were plenty of restaurants to choose from and we had a game platter of Kudu, Ostrich, Impala and Warthog for dinner. When we returned to our room, our laundry had been delivered. The next morning we had a very good breakfast of the standard you would expect from an inner city hotel, and returned to the airport on the free shuttle which was right on time.

You couldn't ask for more for a stop over hotel. We had all the facilities at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

Rooms were great - upgraded to a suite because we were on our honeymoon. but when i handed over my credit card to be photocopied for room charges at reception -they must of skimmed it and made a copy because they spent up big all over joburg.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace

Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#8 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace Contemporary convenience at its best...the 3-star Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace offers stylish and comfortable rooms as well as a "group-friendly" experience for corporate, convention and leisure guests. The hotel offers a variety of room configurations and amenities which include LCD flat screen TV, satellite DSTV channels for all languages, tea and coffee stations, secure internet connections, laptop safe, working desk with business-convenient plug points. The hotel's clean and modern façade is complimented by a private and sheltered pool terrace, set in a beautifully landscaped garden, providing guests with food and beverage service throughout the day. Specifications include a comfortable, large ground floor reception area with enough space to accommodate large tour and convention groups with ease. The hotel features (248 rooms) with 176 Classic rooms, 69 Superior rooms and 3 Special assistance rooms. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Check-in after 15h00 / Check-out before 11h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Metcourt At Emperors Palace Hotel Kempton Park
Metcourt Laurel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.