We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient to airport, pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel to your Saves list
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Jet Off Special
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very convenient to airport, pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

After pushing through the fake "guides" to find the hotel shuttle behind the Intercontinental at the Jo'burg airport and a ver short shuttle ride, we checked in with pretty much no problems. Coming off a 15-hour flight with jet lag, my major complaint was the male clerk who checked us in could not understand my English and I could not understand his broken English. However, the restaurant experience was very good. The servers were friendly and very accommodating and the food was excellent. The room was clean and wireless internet worked well. Funny thing though, at 7:45am, we were awakened to a very loud choir singing in the lobby for some reason. Never did find out what that was about. Any other time we would have enjoyed it and marked it up as another experience in Africa; however, we were exhausted from our long flight there and jet lag. But we would stay there again and ask for a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    235
    89
    30
    16
See reviews for
87
137
54
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

Stayed for one night en route from Australia to Mozambique. Service and pricing was good. Didn't sample the full buffet, but the salad bar was not as fresh as you might hope. Breakfast was enjoyable, with a wide range of options.

Direct shuttle is appreciated to navigate the maze of carparks, although we had to ask for directions to find the pickup point (behind the InterContinental).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We chose this hotel for an overnight stay after arriving from a long flight and having a connection early the next morning.

They provide a shuttle from the airport which takes 5 minutes - although it is hard to locate where the shuttle leaves from (so get directions from the airport information).

It is very good value as compared to other airport hotels at J'burg, and is quite modern and clean - but it is nothing special, just somewhere functional to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We were booked here by the airline because our flight was canceled. We were at the hotel on X-mas eve. We requested a table with the pool view. After we sat down and looked out, there was trash all over the lawn. There were lot of people working at the restaurant but no one cared to take care of the trash outside. The hotel is just dirty. The tables are dusty. The plates had food stuck at the bottom. Please do not waste your money on this one. There are lot of good hotels nearby who have free shuttle to the airport. We travel a lot and this was the THE WORST hotel we ever stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stayed here 1 night before our flight home. We had a large room with 2 double beds. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I called down for a travel adapter and it arrived 5 minutes later. The iron and board took a little longer but no more than 15 mins.

The breakfast wasnt included in the cost of the room but was exceptional with lots of choice. Eggs were cooked to order and they made fresh waffles too with a variety of toppings.ie chocolate sauce, cream and cinnamon sugar. Wonderful dining room with views out to the pool area.

We asked concierge to ring Emirates help desk to check our flight and that was done straight away with no hassle. Free wine and cheese in the evening in the front lobby too. All in all a wonderful stay and a lovely end to our holiday in South Africa. Well done to the wonderful staff that made this hotel a pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We had a pleasant stay at the Southern Sun at the Johannesburg Airport. It has a free door to door shuttle which took five minutes. The rooms were comfortable, and the service very good. The restaurant buffet is fantastic, both for dinner and breakfast, very good value for the price. There is a welcome drink and food upon arrival in the afternoon, a very pleasant free welcome. Not too far away from places of interest, especially Sandton which is a great place to shop. A very pleasant stay in Johannesburg and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

We had a one night stay here after an overnight flight from the UK and before moving on to Natal. Watch out for scams at the airport if you ask for instructions at the information desk. We asked for directions to the shuttle bus and the staff sent us to a car park where youths insisted on walking with us 50 yards to the bus stop wheeling our luggage and then demanded a huge tip with menaces.
The hotel is a comfortable enough place with an outdoor pool and a decent restaurant - buffet, very close to the airport.
If you eat in the buffet or leave your room, DO NOT trust the hotel room safe; DO NOT book a table in the restaurant (just show up); and DO NOT let children wander about the hotel on their own. We booked a table for dinner at 7:00pm and left some belongings in the safe. When we returned at 8:00 the room had been broken into using a chisel, the safe had been forced open (apparently you just jimmy off the front panel, the batteries drop out, and the door pops open) and a mix of money, credit cards, mobile phones, camera and binoculars had been stolen. No other room was robbed so I assume someone knew we were out.
Staff were very helpful - moved us to another room, summoned police so we could make a report, waived charges. Police were sympathetic but not very efficient. e.g. they did not take our fingerprints to eliminate us. Fortunately I had taken passports and some money and credit cards with me to dinner and the rest was just money and things and inconvenience. Theft and crime in Jo'burg are widespread problems and our experience is almost certainly not unique. The hotel may well have made security improvements after our visit. But do keep your wits about you.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.