We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good manner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel to your Saves list
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Jet Off Special
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Mozimboa Da Praia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good manner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Things I mistakenly left behind during my last stay at the hotel was returned back to me intact.
These items can be easily taken away by the room service staff but was carefully kept for me and I was able o get them back.
Good practice. A plus to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Emmanual,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted that all your valuables were kept safe at the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    234
    87
    29
    16
See reviews for
87
136
52
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our group stayed in this hotel 1 night in March. Booking has been done more than a month prior to our arrival.

Upon arrival, around 8 pm (!), not all our rooms were ready. "Sorry, we are preparing your rooms". Really, at 8 pm you are still preparing the rooms? Some of our colleagues had to wait for more than an hour, till 9 pm(!) to get into their rooms.

The rooms and the bathrooms are quite dated, minibars are empty...
3* stars, at best.

No, I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. Your business meeting or family stay can be ruined easily in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Alex_Sb,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor Survey and providing us with some feedback on areas where we need to improve.

Please contact me should your travels bring you back to Johannesburg in the future. louis.botha@tsogosun.com

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I like Southern Sun hotels. I often use this hotel chain.
Actually, it was my first time to stay this hotel at OR Tambo.
The room is cozy and has enough space for relaxing.
It's good to rest during the transit. Too relaxed and I over slept...

Anyway, one thing I'd like to request this hotel is to renovate bathroom. It was difficult to flash a toilet...and water wasn't come out well from a tap. Well, shower was normal, so only a tap was problem.

I'd like to thank the driver who help me to check-in the plane. He was the hero for me that day to make me be able to get on board instead of missing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Lovely_lovely_Trip

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor Survey.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had an unplanned overnight stay at Southern Sun when our flight got cancelled recently and the airline put us up here. Honestly I couldn't fault it. The airline had 400 passengers to place at night-time and many of us went to Southern Sun so at short notice they had to check us all in, they kept the restaurant open past closing so we could all get dinner. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the pastries were very nice in particular. The service we received here was great, no complaints. The room had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable so we had a great sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear LKK01

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The service was great and the room with a gift of a bottle of red wine was excellent. Close to the airport and a nice drive to Pretoria in the morning with the traffic in the opposite way. The staff extremely friendly and almost like family to me. As I am Afrikaans speaking it is a pity that of the almost 50 TV channels, there was nothing in my home language. The cheapest red wine is Landskroon Cincaut at R135-00 a bottle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear JanSteve_12

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

A great place ,good value to stop and catch your breath after a long-haul flight, before progressing to your S.A adventure. All facilities you need to refresh and appreciate the good courteous service. peace and quiet good restaurant , with local culinary flavour plus a good range of old favourites

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Keith M

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

keep up the good work I enjoyed the staying to my satisfaction and I would like to come back again everything was on high quality especially the treatment from the stuff so welcoming and kind I felt home

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Seshogo K

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.