We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Airport hotel - is says it all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel to your Saves list
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Jet Off Special
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An Airport hotel - is says it all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I needed to stay close to the airport, so was booked here... It was not clean - at least on the floor there were old dry flower petals, hair.. Check-in was relatively fast, check out not so fast but it is close to the airport.. and as it is my experience with most airport hotels where I have stayed, the air quality was not good and there was smell ...but as I said, it is an airport hotel real close to JNB.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Lora Traveling

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey.

Would you please contact me on louis.botha@tsogosun.com to discuss the above mentioned comment.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    234
    87
    28
    16
See reviews for
86
136
52
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have stayed at 3 other area airport hotels. The Southern Sun I think provides the best balance between cost and quality. Of course the Intercontinental is great, but the prices are so high. The Protea is ok, but the shuttle service is inadequate. The welcome reception is a nice touch, and the rooms are quite nice. The internet also worked better here than in the other hotels, except for the Intercontinental. Next time I overnight at O.R. Tambo, I'll stay at the Southern Sun.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear TeenFoodiesMom,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

During the December holidays we had to fly from Cape Town to JHB for a stop over en route to Zanzibar. We decided to go for the nearest hotel to OR Tambo airport. Southern Sun had space. We did not expect much as the rates were very reasonable and because it was just a stop over, we didn't really want to go for the most luxurious hotel.
Just outside arrivals, we were met with a very friendly guy who escorted us to the Southern Sun shuttle. It was a matter of 5 minutes from the airport and then we were welcomed by the friendly staff at the hotel. Our luggage was whisked away and we were made VERY welcome at the reception area. The foyer is really lovely and they had a table set up with cold white wine or red wine and cheese platters. They brought us some towels to refresh ourselves and then we could sit and relax and enjoy the cheese and wine while our luggage were taken to our room. The room was really nice and comfortable. Our TV gave some problems and within minutes from reporting it, the staff were there to sort it out.
Before supper, we sat in the bar and were served bar snacks with our drinks. Supper was also great. The variety of foods available as well as the quality were really good.
Next morning we had a very early departure, but the friendly staff were again there to assist us with the complimentary airport shuttle.
I would really recommend this hotel when you have a few days to spend in JHB. I am just sorry that we only had a stop over there. We will definately use this hotel again and will also recommend this to our business associates who might need a hotel for a night or two.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Michelle T

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our stay at Southern Sun OR Tambo International Airport was incredible and we will stay here in again in a heartbeat!! Our stay at Southern Sun OR Tambo International Airport was unintentional as our international flight back to the States was canceled, and the airline put us up in this hotel. We were not informed of the cancelation until 22:00, and did not get to the hotel until 01:00. The shuttle to airport (less than 5 minutes) is complimentary, and the driver was wonderful and took care of our luggage without fuss (even though all of us were in a tizzy because of the cancelled flight:)!

We were shuttled to the hotel in a lovely and very spacious van with a tow along carriage behind. It was so nice not to have the van filled with luggage, and riders hitting one another with their bags. The driver was so nice and took care of all of the passengers' luggage. When we arrived, the hotel had three receptionists working. At 1:00 a.m., we were surprised and amazingly grateful for the quick and excellent service we received. They have a concierge service, a bar that stayed opened until very late, and room service late at night.

The rooms were very spacious, we had 500 mgs of wifi access, and the showers were just wonderful! The bathroom was well-appointed with very nice plush towels. The bedding was soft and luscious and the room nicely decorated. There was mineral water waiting for guests, and tea/ coffee for the taking. The room has a flat screen television and the amenities that one would expect.

We were offered an amazing complimentary breakfast (paid by the airline) which was divine. A HUGE assortment of wonderful items--six hot entrees, a chef who made fresh omelets, fresh fruit, juices, breads, cheeses, meats, and the list goes on. I'm not sure that I have ever seen such a buffet and all so freshly made. The wait staff was wonderful and seated me immediately and gave me coffee right away. The food was lovely!

Perhaps the most important part of our stay was the convenience they offered us. Our flight did not take off until 10:00 pm that day; however, the front desk informed us that we could stay until we needed to leave for our flight. This was such a luxury!!!! We didn't feel hurried to leave the hotel and enjoy the grounds and the public spaces.

All in all--this was amazing!!! When we return to Jo-burg, we will stay here again!

Room Tip: My room was just fine--on the first floor--quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear ALT495

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Pleasant ambiance but the usual small things that shouldn't happen at a wellrun hotel: dripping faucets, broken drain plug, VERY noisy plumbing (that woke me at 6 am) and drapes that can't quite close (so the sun streams in early).

Staff seem helpful- a crucial component.

Overall, for an airport hotel, as usual, the convenience overrides the minor flaws.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear trippman,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey, would you please contact me on louis.botha@tsogosun.com to discuss the maintenance issues in the room mentioned.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here on our stop over from Johannesburg to Cape Town during our recent trip to South Africa. After 12 hours flight arriving in Johannesburg, we were pleasantly surprised about the really close location of the hotel. We were able to checkin early and relax from the flight for the rest of the day, before checking out early the next morning and heading further on our trip.

The room was fine, spaceous and enough for a short stop over, service, as everywhere in South Africa, was good!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear AngryAngMo

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I visited South Africa and Kruger Park in September 2013.
We booked a package with Chrisna at Siyabona including a rental car, one night at this hotel at the airport upon our arrival and two nights each in Kruger and Sabi Sands.
The Southern Sun hotel at the JNB airport was very nice, clean and quiet, easily surpassed all expectations we might have had for our "airport hotel". It offered a vast selection of local food at buffets for dinner and breakfast and a tasting of local wines in the evening. The gift shop has a very good selection - so much that we wanted to come back to it at the end of our trip, but ran out of time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Lars A

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.