We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel to your Saves list
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Jet Off Special
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I visited South Africa and Kruger Park in September 2013.
We booked a package with Chrisna at Siyabona including a rental car, one night at this hotel at the airport upon our arrival and two nights each in Kruger and Sabi Sands.
The Southern Sun hotel at the JNB airport was very nice, clean and quiet, easily surpassed all expectations we might have had for our "airport hotel". It offered a vast selection of local food at buffets for dinner and breakfast and a tasting of local wines in the evening. The gift shop has a very good selection - so much that we wanted to come back to it at the end of our trip, but ran out of time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Lars A

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    234
    88
    29
    16
See reviews for
87
136
53
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

It was along term stay once the staff got to to know me some lasting friendships were made.i was commuting to the cape for me the location we excellent. Cabs are dependable from the front door. They have a nightly happy hour with some terrific South African wines to sample

Room Tip: Take a room far from the elevator quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Jerome J

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, South Africa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Nice place! beautiful lounge. Lovely room and the dinning are has a very pleasant outside look and feel! The staff is pleasant and helpful. The hotel has a modern look but is still cosy with lovely complimentary wine and fruits

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Heila,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

Have a lovely day.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The shuttle service have to improve...no indication on pick-up point....arrived 22h00 and was only transferred to hotel at 22h45...arrived at Hotel at 23h00....fridge in room was emty with no cold water at all or any drinks..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Willie K,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and raising your concerns regarding our Complimentary Shuttle, I will raise this with our Drivers.

Please contact me should your travels bring you past Johannesburg in the future. louis.botha@tsogosun.com

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

On the airport OT Johannesburg with complimentary airport shuttles each 15 min.Each afternoon at. Lobby have complimentary difert kind of vine.juice and cheese. THE food in restorant is perfect at very reasenable price. The stuff is efficient. And friendly

Room Tip: At pool side on5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear jana948,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

it is an okay place to stay if you reach joburg in afternoon/evening and have an international flight next morning.otherwise hotels in sandton area are much better to stay.if bills are settled in cash then hotel takes more than 100% advance as if customers will run away without settling bills

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Saikat1102,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey. We have beautiful Hotels in Sandton should your travels bring you back to Johannesburg.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed one night for a conference. The room was average, the bathroom needs a bit of renovation, no minibar. I could choose between a bath or a shower. Staff was very friendly. I did not go to the 5pm drinks. I found the buffet excellent. Lots of choices and everything delicious. For a short stayover, I would recommend this hotel. Free 500MB Wifi.The airport shuttle leaves every 15 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear floristry,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your conference and stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.