We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five-star service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One World Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added One World Hotel to your Saves list
One World Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   26A Albatross Road, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 56 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Five-star service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Definitely worth going back to given the five-star service provided by the hotel staff! My family has been picked up from the airport and assisted all the way back to the airport. Staff have, on many occasions gone out of their way to make the stay really be as comfortable as possible. What the hotel may lack in terms of location or other amenities, it really makes up for these through the very warm hospitality of the hotel team. Kudos!

Tip: Just nicely ask them for any assistance and they will make sure that they do their best to accommodate your request.

Room Tip: Tip: Just nicely ask them for any assistance and they will make sure that they do their best to acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
2
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Regularly overnighting in Johannesburg close to OR Tambo, OneWorld stands out as the best accommodation I have stayed at. They go out of their way for their guests. The staff is professional and warm and you get a sense that they care about what they are doing. The rooms are large with very high ceilings and clean and the price is excellent. Driving to the airport takes on average seven minutes. However, if you do not have a car, the shuttle service to and from the airport is free, on time and available when you need it. On my last visit, I requested a warm room in the bone-chilling Johannesburg winter and waiting for me was a piping hot electric blanket. Such attention to guests is rare indeed. Thank you to Marieanne, John and OneWorld.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel is very close to the airport and was perfect for our brief overnight stay enroute to another destination - the rooms were huge and the hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. They even prepared us sandwiches as the restaurant had already closed by the time we arrived! The rooms are perfect for a family. The shuttle service to and from the airport is very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamatu, Owner at One World Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
A very big thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very close to JNB, friendly staff, clean, free wifi and an included a hot breakfast. Awesome value. I think they will pick you up at the airport, but we had rented a car, so Im not certain.

Staff was over the top helpful.

We felt safe here, and I will use again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamatu, Owner at One World Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very grateful, and this will keep us motivated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stumbled across this place by accident after being referred to them by Aero Guest Lodge. Two things stood out to us: (1) excellent service, and (2) amazing rooms.

Godfrey promptly met us at the airport (JNB) and provided a free, five-minute shuttle ride to the hotel. John helped us check into our rooms, then took us to a nearby restaurant where we ordered dinner. We found much in common with John and considered him a friend by the end of our stay. Both gentlemen were remarkably friendly and professional. This hotel has just a few rooms, so we reveled in the highly personalized service.

Our room was huge. It had a 12-14 ft cathedral ceiling and was probably 500-600 sq ft. It was nicely furnished and included a spacious tiled bathroom. I particularly appreciated the heated bed.

The internet access worked well, and breakfast was fine. The hotel is conveniently close to the airport. It's not an ideal launching point for a walking tour of town. But, restaurants and a mall are just a two-minute drive away. The hotel staff graciously agreed to store two of my bags at the hotel during my one-week excursion to Namibia. The bags were stored securely in the hotel safe and retrieved upon my return.

Overall, this hotel was a delightful surprise and an excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamatu, Owner at One World Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
On behalf of all the staff members at One World Hotel we would like to say a big thank you for your review, we are truly honoured. We look forward to your visit again. God bless you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to One World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One World Hotel

Address: 26A Albatross Road, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — One World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One World Hotel is 7 minutes drive from OR Tambo international airport and within easy access to all major points in Johannesburg and Pretoria. Our rooms are tastefully decorated to offer every discerning traveller a comfortable stay. Try us and let us hear what you have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your One World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.