We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent introduction to South Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Modjadji Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Modjadji Guesthouse to your Saves list
Airport Modjadji Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   42 Eland Road | Nimrodpark, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 56 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I arrived in Johannesburg after 18 hours on a plane and was met by Deon. The room was comfortable and the hospitality was great. Excellent breakfast, good price, good people. The B&B is close to a Gautrain stop so travel into Johannesburg is safe and convenient. There are decent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
10
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed a night before flying to Livingstone, and another night after returning from Kruger before flying home. Overall, we slept well at this homely and reasonably-priced place. The noise of the overhead aeroplanes was a good wake-up alarm for us tourist to start our day.

We met a lovely couple, Deon and Marida, and Wesley. They have a parrot and a dog. We were given two very clean rooms - no musty smell. The garden and dining area was clean and beautiful. We must thank Marida for the lovely breakfast. Even though she is thin, the breakfast was cooked well.

Deon picked us from the airport, and back to the airport the next day. Otherwise, the place is not difficult to find even if you were to drive. The host were very helpful and kept a luggage for us while we went off to Victoria Falls. There was wi-fi on the premise and Deon was very helpful to help me plan my early morning visit/route. He even offered me his GPS, which I should have brought along.

Thank you Deon, Marida and Wesley.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Airport Modjadji will embrace from your first moment in Jo'burg to your last with its relaxed friendly atmosphere. A short drive from OR Tambo. The Airport Modjadji is a family run guest house that can be found in residential Kempton Park. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Marida, Deon and Wesley took us to see The Union Buildings and gardens on Meintjieskop Hill, Paul Kruger in Church Square, Pretoria and Hartbeespoort Dam. They absorbed us into their family. Deon took us in search of Bruma Lake Flea Market only to find the diggers had got there before us and were tearing it up in preparation for a a new Mall> Bless Deon's heart he just went right on driving us around the areas of Johannesburg that aren't listed on any official tour guide including Nelson Mandela Bridge, the oriental mall, and so much more. We will always hold Airport Modjadji in our hearts an have vowed to visit there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

During on our holiday across South-Africa we spent several nights at the Modjadji Guesthouse. Our initial plan was to spend only one night here, but we enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay for one more night and also returned later that week after a visit to Kruger Parks.

The main reasons for this: firstly the service offered is excellent. Especially the breakfast is really nice. You just have to tell when you want to have breakfast next morning and they will prepare something that is even better than what most of the hotels serve you (at least the ones we stayed in). The owners treat you like friends and are always in for a little chat (or otherwise the parrot in the breakfast room).

Secondly, the guesthouse offers great value for money The rooms are clean and tidy and have all the basics you need. Nothing more, nothing less. There is a very peaceful and safe atmosphere in the garden at the guesthouse, unlike the chaotic dirty (and unsafe) city itself, which makes it nice to just sit and relax there.

The location is excellent, as it is close to the airport. However, this is also one of the main downsides of the guesthouse, as the noise of the airplanes can be annoying if you are not used to it. We discovered that the cabin in the back suffers the most from this problem, the other rooms inside are a little bit more quiet. But the planes do not fly at night, so you can still get some nice sleep.

All in all I would recommend this guesthouse to people who want great value for money. Staying here will add a lovely memory to your holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Truly one of the best overnight experiences I've ever had. The owners go to all means possible to make your stay absolutely perfect. I enjoyed a glass of wine with them upon my arrival in the evening and fell in love with them! Breakfast was delicious and offered plenty of options. Wifi is free and very fast. I slept like a log in the very comfortable bed and in a beautifully decorated room. Say hi to Zoe the parrot! The (free) airport transfer is so helpful due to the often untrustworthy cabs that are offered at the airport. What a bargain!!i wished I could have stayed longer, I will definitely be returning to Mojadji, hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deonbo, Owner at Airport Modjadji Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review and it warms my heart and at the same time makes me feel humble. We try our best to satisfy our clients needs and you are one of those special people that will stay in our memories forever. Trust we will see you soon and hopefully you succeed in convincing your parents to accompany you. They can be proud to have such a lovely child like you!!

Regards
Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We flew in from Atlanta on 16th to OR Tambo airport. We stood at the airport near the information sign for about 40 minutes wondering who was going to pick us up. Finally, Deon’s son came in with a sign with our name. That was a great relief since we were new to Africa and to South Africa. Deon met us outside the airport and loaded our bags into his pickup truck. He was friendly and cheerful and made us feel welcome. After a long flight we wanted to grab something quick and rest as we had flight next morning via Federal Air. Once we got to the guest house, which was not very far from the airport we unloaded our luggage. “Scott” – Deon’s wife drove us to nearby Pizza Perfect without any charge.

Next morning we were served breakfast of eggs, bacon, cereals and toast. After breakfast Deon dropped us off at the Federal Air terminal for our onward safari journey to Singita Lebombo.
If you are going to be in Johannesburg for a very short stay, I would highly recommend Airport Modjadji Guesthouse. Deon and his wife are friendly, the place is close to the airport and prices are very reasonable and they will pick you and drop you off at the airport plus you get a nice breakfast.

I asked Deon the meaning of Modjadji, he said Modjadji is an African word for Rain Queen of people of the Limpopo Province of South Africa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deonbo, Owner at Airport Modjadji Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much Bill for your kind words about our establishment. Thank you for all your innovative ideas and suggestions which I found very helpful and should implement in the near future. We try to improve on all areas but most important is that you had a great time.

Deon Botha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a lovely, comfortable, and welcoming place within minutes of the OR Tambo Airport. The hosts, Deon and Marida, are incredibly helpful. They not only drove us to and from the airport and restaurants in the area, but made two trips that went way above and beyond - to Walkerville (about 35 km outside of town) to visit a friend and to the train station in Jo-burg (which was in one of the scariest areas I've ever been). The guest rooms are comfortably and attractively decorated. All in all, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Modjadji Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Modjadji Guesthouse

Address: 42 Eland Road | Nimrodpark, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Modjadji Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Airport Modjadji Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Modjadji Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.