We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice to go with” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo to your Saves list
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent choice to go with”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel is very clean, staff all very friendly. Safe place to stay, the hotel and areas are behind a gate and it feels very safe walking around. The WiFi was good and rooms spacious. Breakfast was excellent with many choices both hit and cold. There is noise from the airport, but being so close it is to be expected. The shuttle service arrived as planned and very quick journey to hotel. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    81
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
31
55
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After many warnings about the dangers of Jo 'burg, we booked close to the airport. We found a very friendly, funky and safe hotel who picked us up from the airport, found drivers for us and gave advice when asked. The rooms are clean, the beds big and comfortable and the showers good. They could clean the passage carpets and improve the cuisine, although the breakfasts are very good. We returned several times going in and out of Jo ' burg and it felt comfortable and homely.
Some things are more important than a 5 star boring hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the swimming pool for the quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here the first and last night of our holliday. The hotel is is very modern and is located in a save area of Johannesburg. The first night we stayed on the 3th floor and it was very, very noisy. We could hear at least 3 couples having a good time.... So I advise you to take ear plugs. The last night we stayed on the 5th floor and that was much better!! The hotel rooms are modern, the beds are good and the shower is good aswel!
Breakfast is good. There is a lot of choice. They have a free airport schuttle bus. We never had to wait for a long time, and we used it quit some times. They even offered us to transport us to and from the hospital, so we don't had to wait for a taxi.
So it's good value for your money!

Room Tip: 5th floor is less noisy then the 3th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had to stay overnight in Johannesburg between flights. The Aviator suited our requirements in that it is close to the airport and provides a complimentary shuttle service. The area in which the hotel is located is a bit dodgy but we didn't leave the premises - security at the hotel seemed good. The pre arrival service was excellent and they emailed a detailed description and a map of where to find the shuttle bus. Unfortunately although I had sent our flight details there was no bus to meet us and when I phoned the cell number provided it went to voice mail. I phoned the hotel reception and the bus arrived about 20 mins later. The driver was polite and helpful. The reception staff made us very welcome and were professional. The aviation theme is strongly represented throughout the hotel, particularly in the public areas. The room was basic but clean. There was no deadlock or security bolt on the door which we would have liked. Nice touches were the multiple plug sockets for all types of appliance and a kettle with complimentary tea and coffee. No hairdryer was provided. The beds were comfortable but the room is not as sound proofed as they claim - we could hear planes taking off and landing quite clearly up to about 23:00 after which it was reasonably quiet although we heard gunshots, taxis hooting and a woman shouting in the early hours of the morning - we should probably have requested an inner facing room - our window overlooked the street. The bathroom was small but had a large shower with good pressure. The door to the bathroom is a sliding glass panel - privacy a bit of an issue. There is also a frosted glass panel between the bathroom and the bedroom which allows light through and disturbs the sleeping partner if one of you gets up in the night to use the bathroom. We had lunch, dinner (wood fired oven pizzas) and breakfast in the hotel and all were above average with really good and pleasant service. There is free internet access in the foyer. Our TV reception was very poor and although we reported it and were promised that someone would come - there was no follow up. In general the hotel provided everything we needed for our stopover.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the courtyard - not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed the night before we were flying out of O R Tambo Airport and it was ideal. The hotel has a free shuttle service and it is only a few minutes ride from the airport. The rate we paid was excellent value. The staff were very nice and helpful. The room was comfortable with a modern, unconventional decor. The bathroom door is all glass so there is no privacy which was not a problem for us but it may not suit some guests. The night we were there they had a buffet which was very good indeed. This was our first visit to South Africa and compared to airport hotels in the U.K. the bar/food prices were so cheap. Would stay here again for a one night stopover.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel just because it is near the airport with a reasonable price and the free shuttle. We had to stay a night in Jo'burg before our Kruger National Park adventure and a night after. First impression was bad as the hotel is suppose to have a pick up/shuttle at the airport. I've emailed them earlier on the arrival time. We were told to go to the bus station at the airport. We've waited for 2 hours! I even called the hotel (roaming charges) twice. 1st they've told me 10 minutes. After an hour later, they've told me the same thing. When the driver finally came to pick us up, he told us he had a flat tire. I'm not sure why, but it was hard to believe. Doesn't really matter at the time. We just want to get to the hotel and relax before our long drive tomorrow morning. The check in was smooth. We booked the hotel through booking.com. The front desk staff and the driver were really apologetic for the late pick up from the airport. They even offered us to give a ride to the nearest mall. We took it. There we had our light dinner.

The room is pretty basic. Love the rain type shower. They even have power points with international adapter on the wall. I find it very convenient. After all the commotion during the pick up, they gave us the free wi-fi password. I don't remember this being a complementary service.

If I'm not mistaken, there are 2 sides of buildings. One is the one that you have to go through the breakfast/dining room and the other is probably the one facing the swimming pool. Get the room facing the swimming pool. U don't want to go through the greasy-oily smell of cooking breakfast/dining room with your luggage and all. The breakfast is pretty standard. I can even say the food is tasty. But the dinner experience (the night we've stayed here after Kruger), was horrible. We were seated, given a menu and only after a long wait, our order is taken. Waiting for the food itself, is another long wait. They had a conference that day, so, they had more guest to attend to and there were only 2 waiters waiting. We were not the only guest that is upset with the service. Some of them just walked away after a while. They even get my order wrong! I had no more strength in me to complaint or change the order and so I just ate it.

For the price and location near to the airport, go ahead and book this hotel. If you are looking for more than that, be prepared to be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This aviation-themed hotel offers a variation on the usual sterile chain hotel. The bed was comfortable, the rain shower was nice, and the free wifi is an unusual touch (by South African standards). I wouldn't want to stay long here (the restaurant smelled of oil and grease both during the evening and during breakfast, and the maintenance of rooms was not great), but it was fine for a quick overnight stopover.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a free airport shuttle to OR Tambo International Airport (4 km), The Aviator offers stylish rooms with a satellite TV. Hotel facilities include outdoor pool and restaurant with terrace. All air-conditioned rooms at the Life Hotels. The Aviator come with a private bathroom and have a tea/coffee maker. Guests may make use of the safety deposit box at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.