We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for JNB airport stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo to your Saves list
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Nevada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place for JNB airport stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

bar and restaurant with patio and indoor seating; good breakfast. Room overlooking the pool was very quiet, even that close to the airport. Prompt shuttle to airport in the morning. Be sure to confirm airport shuttle pickup; I mentioned it in the online booking but the shuttle didn't arrive for us. We managed to get the shuttle when it arrived for someone else. Lots of hot water, a little mold in the bathroom grout. Rain shower.

Room Tip: rooms on the side of teh parking garage are farther from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    97
    53
    20
    8
See reviews for
37
66
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean and functional. But make sure you stay at the side overlooking the pool, which has double glazing. The other side doesn't and some of our party found the road and airport noise unbearable. Breakfast was good, but I would not recommend the restaurant, steaks over cooked, pizza burnt and I had to fetch the water we had ordered from the bar. Service very slow.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at The Aviator one night as had an early flight in the morning. The room was nicely decorated, kind of attic/warehouse style with exposed walls and modern furniture. The food was good and I found the staff nice and friendly. The guy who served me in the restaurant wrote me a list of things to do in CT which was helpful.

There is a little noise from flights but not so much as hotels right at the airport I'd assume. The immediate area is very local and I didn't venture out as I was tired but apparently there are malls a taxi ride away if that's your thing.

Airport is about 7-10mins in the free shuttle, although that may depend on traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

beautiful hotel and rooms, very comfortable bed, restaurant with wood-fired oven pizza, pool, free airport shuttles, computer with wifi free to use in lobby - what more do you need! very "stylishly" done up aviator-style.

Room Tip: we booked through hostelbookers and got an amazing deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A great choice if you simply need a place to stay. Yes Free wi-fi but it only works in lobby and bar areas, signal does not reach to rooms. Yes 24hr airport shuttle, but you need to call them. The A/C in the rooms are mounted overhead on a wall next to the bed, remote controlled, and blew the air directly on you.. I liked that. I also enjoyed the bar at night, cheap beers and nice atmosphere to watch a soccer game. Did not use the pool but it looked clean.

Room Tip: check agoda.com I found it really cheap last minute
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked an executive twin room - there was nothing executive about it. The room stank of smoke, there were no brochures or information on the hotel services in the room, the bathroom had a glass sliding door that didn't close properly, the shower floor was at such an angle that you slipped towards the middle when in there and it was dark and gloomy. We wanted to order room service and inquired at reception - were told that we had to dial 6 for room service. As there was no menu in the room, we were told that we could get a menu from the bar area however when we went to the bar, were told there is no room service. We had to order our food there and then and went back to collect it ourselves later. Food was cold and not even covered. Will not recommend at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is fine for a stop-over or if you land late.
The offer free shuttle, but it took ages to find it and you have to go by the bus terminal, which is not easy to find.
Room is nicely decorated but was extremely noisy, and the bathroom door doesn't shut properly, so no privacy there if you're sharing.
Breakfast was not so great, though their beans were delicious!
Nice pool. Service OK but not super friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a free airport shuttle to OR Tambo International Airport (4 km), The Aviator offers stylish rooms with a satellite TV. Hotel facilities include outdoor pool and restaurant with terrace. All air-conditioned rooms at the Life Hotels. The Aviator come with a private bathroom and have a tea/coffee maker. Guests may make use of the safety deposit box at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.