We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget priced stay-over between flights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Save Saved
You added The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Kempton Park
Namibia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Budget priced stay-over between flights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel offers good quality for price for a stay-over between flights at the OR Tambo Airport. The rooms are somewhat basic and the service is no-frills, but you get what really matters: a clean, functional and reasonably quiet room with toilet and shower facilities, a comfortable bed, free and efficient transport between the airport and hotel, and quick and efficient check-in and check-out. The restaurant and separate bar next to a generous swimming pool complete your creature comforts. I have used this hotel as a stay-over several times, much to my satisfaction, except that on December 11, 2012, I was unfortunate in that my shower yielded only cold water. Fortunately, this was summertime!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    64
    40
    14
    7
See reviews for
25
44
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Modern, spacious and functionally-designed rooms. Comforters and pillows are of 5-star hotel quality. The breakfast was definitely something to look forward to. Service was excellent and warm in spite of the cold weather when we were there in the early part of this month (December 2012). Airport transfer was certainly appreciated after a long trip. Can't beat the value for a two-bedroom package!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Having stayed at the Premier Hotel OR Tambo several nights before, we were really dissapointed with the Aviator. But serves us right, we wanted to save 20 eur and got a much worse hotel. Towels stink, the bathroom is flooded after a shower, tiles in the shower are visibly old, there is no bathroom door and towels, which stink, come in a single set for 2 pax.
The sound insulation in the hotel is bad.
On a good note, their pizza is good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Everything you need to know about this hotel you can learn from Tripadvisor reviews. I had no problem with check-in or the restaurant. In fact, dinner was good. The problems are mainly in the bathroom. They don't provide guests with wash cloths. Bring your own. They have no shower curtains. Bring your own. They have a fixed glass door that covers half of the shower. That would be ok, except that the shower head is in the middle of the shower, right in line with the glass door. The entire bathroom gets flooded!
And the wifi signal as a problem making it past the door, so you need to stand in the hall to get a signal where we were placed.
Perfect airport hotel, so long as you don't need to shower or get online!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Reasonably priced overnight hotel/motel only 4 Kim's from ORT airport. The airports located at the airport are grossly overpriced. They provide a good, reliable, regular shuttle service to and from the airport and Gautrain, which was a huge plus for me as it meant I didn't need a car while I was there. However, find out exactly where they will pick you up at the airport, because it is NOT at arrivals. I expected someone with a plackard showing my name, but I waited for nearly 30 minutes before having to hire a taxi. Apparently I was expected to know that they were waiting somewhere else.... I didn't have breakfast on either morning, but they did provide a breakfast pack on the second morning which I didn't need. The restaurant on site is open till fairly late so I had supper there one night. Approx R150 for 3 course buffet, drinks and tip. Above average, but not an outstanding meal. Biggest drawback was the lack of sound-proofing in the rooms. Location is not for tourists. Don't stay here if you want a base to see Johannesburg. It seems very much a transit hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, if there is such a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilden, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Unfortunately we can´t recommend this hotel although the equipment of the hotel and the room is quite nice. When you take a shower, the bathroom is flooded as the shower is half-open. But even worse the service was not good at all. When we arrived in the early evening, there wasn´t any internet connection as the system broke down. Also the next day the problem wasn´t solved which is especially for an airport hotel very bad. We really needed the internet in order to make important calls and internet researches as our luggage was stolen the day before. One manager (Daniel) was very kind and tried to support us but the rest of the team unfortunately not.They recommended us to go to the airport to use the Wifi there which was unsatisfying due to our big time pressure. In addition we had to pay not less for an international call in spite of our bad situation. The food was totally ok - nevertheless we wouldn´t come back once again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is in a bit of an unsafe area but has excellent security. Its about 5 minutes away from the airport and offers a complementary transfer service.

Check in was quick and efficient, staff were friendly and knew exactly how to manage guests.

The rooms are average in size, modern and well equiped. Bathrooms are decent in size - showers only. The only downside, the shower does not have a door and water goes everywhere!

Food was great and the hotel has nice aviation themed resturant and bar.

All in all I would recommend the hotel for a cost efffective short stay when one needs to be close to the airport.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a free airport shuttle to OR Tambo International Airport (4 km), The Aviator offers stylish rooms with a satellite TV. Hotel facilities include outdoor pool and restaurant with terrace. All air-conditioned rooms at the Life Hotels. The Aviator come with a private bathroom and have a tea/coffee maker. Guests may make use of the safety deposit box at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.