We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Hotel OR Tambo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Hotel OR Tambo to your Saves list
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Gladiator St | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1621, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our transit from Cape Town to India via Joburg.
Location : The hotel is well located close to the OR Tambo (about 7-10mins) and they run a hotel shuttle every 30 mins from the airport.
Hotel : The hotel is very clean with good interiors and a comfortable feel. The staff is very helpful and efficient.
Room : The room we were given (Twin bed) was to say the least 'huge'. Very spacious yet very effective airconditioning, large bathroom & wardrobe and very comfortable beds.
Breakfast : The food is great with a lot of variety.
Definitely recommended for transit stays though not much around the area if planning a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for the positive review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon at Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo.

Yours in Hospitality
Henk Bredenoord
General Manager Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    131
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
52
130
53
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillcrest, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is very convenient to O R Tambo International Airport as well as the Gautrain(nearby Rhodesfield Station-----easy connections to Sandton City as well as Pretoria etc.). The breakfasts were excellent. We enjoyed our 3 night stay and will definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your visit to our hotel. We are delighted to hear that we met your expectations and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo again soon.

Yours in Hospitality
Henk Bredenoord
General Manager Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A very nice and friendly place to stay near the ariport, at reasonable price. The staff is particularly friendly and makes you feel at home. The check-in and chek-out was very fast and everything was easy and kind. There is a shutle service every hour to the airport; I think it should be more frequent; I was ready at 8:10 and could not wait until 9:00 to the next shutle, so I had to take a taxi...
The room was very comfortable and the breakfast very complete and with good service.
Was a nice experience to stay overnight in this hotel.

Room Tip: There are some rooms too far from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport, great shuttle service to and from the terminal. Rooms are large and convenient with good, free WiFi connection. Friendly staff willing to help with any request.
Great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on teh airport side have good view of the airplanes and are still very quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Petrott12

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent experience at Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo. We look forward to having the pleasure of your company again soon .

Yours in Hospitality
Henk Bredenoord
General Manager Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

So I live in the Johannesburg metropolitan area and thought I knew it all, until I walked in at the Premier OR Tambo. My son is planning on getting married next year so trying to get the perfect venue seemed rather impossible, until the General Manager, Henk, started showing us the property. What a piece of heaven right on my door step. I really do not think my son has to look any further, they have big and stunning rooms for all the guest coming in from other provinces, the venue for the reception, and it takes up to 500 guest. The menu that is perfect for our needs. what I liked most of all is the technology that is in place from the time you enter right through to the reception areas, they can even convert a section into a chapel. Now that's what I call the killing a few birds with one stone. I am looking forward to having our guest spend a night at this hotel, because not only will they be able to talk about the wedding they will also get first class experience at the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are so big that you will be surprised that the family room has two double beds in with ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your comments. At Premier Hotels we always try and deliver our Guest expectations and we look forward to fulfilling the brides dreams in the near future.

Yours in hospitality
Henk Bredenoord
General Manager Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo
PREMIER HOTELS & RESORTS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The elevator when reaching the top (8th floor) makes a squeak which can only be heard by someone staying in room 828. You will get very little rest. The room in general was not too bad. I think if they do want to sell this room it should be at a deep discount of 1/3 of its normal price.

Room Tip: Avoid room 828, low sleep quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to advise us of your experience, and please accept my deepest regrets in this regard.

We pride ourselves on our service delivery and quality of offering so it is a particularly disappointing read. We have asked the engineers to investigate to remedy this shortcoming.

Notwithstanding, we constantly learn, and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo again soon.

Yours in Hospitality

Henk Bredenoord
General Manager Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo
PREMIER HOTELS & RESORTS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The reception staff are very helpful and accommodating. Though we arrived early than check-in time they made it easy for us to get our rooms ready first though they were fully booked. The room was spacious and very neat. Thumbs up to Godfrey and his team.

Room Tip: Suites are large and comfortably furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Hotel OR Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel OR Tambo

Address: 73 Gladiator St | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1621, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel OR Tambo 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo welcomes you to Johannesburg, the major international gateway into South Africa. This vibrant and dynamic area has a throbbing pulse, an awesome sense of rhythm and invites you to indulge in the extravagant comfort of the Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo. Only 800 metres from the Gautrain Station and 1.2km from O.R. Tambo International Airport, reached by a free shuttle bus, the 275 room Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo is a full service 4-star plus hotel. Far from being just a stay-over, the Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo provides all the services and style necessary to make for a comfortable travel experience.This pristine hotel offers 275 rooms (49 of which are suites with their own lounges), public areas offer free Wi-Fi internet connections, in-room dining, in-room safety deposit box, business centre, swimming pool deck, gymnasium, restaurant and two bars along with 24 hour room service and secure undercover parking.Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo also contains a large conference centre, with nine conference rooms and board-rooms, able to hold up to 800 delegates cinema-style along with state-of-the-art facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Premier Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Hotel OR Tambo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.