We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive, good value and good place to stay near airport.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aero Guest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aero Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Aero Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   81 Kempton Road | Kempton Park Extension 1, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #12 of 56 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Attractive, good value and good place to stay near airport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had an unplanned overnight stop on our way back to the UK from Zambia. We rung for the airport pick up, and had just missed them so had to wait, but once we were picked up and arrived the driver showed us to our room and where to find everything. The rooms were a good size and good value. The evening meal was served to 9pm, and was very reasonable priced and very enjoyable. There is a self service bar, and honesty book to record your drinks. We had a good night sleep. The breakfast was also good and more then enough to choose from. Our flight back was not until the evening. We paid to keep our room, and relaxed in the very pretty garden, next to the pool. The pool was cold but we braved it, overall it was a lovely place to relax in. There was a pool table, and plenty of seating. It was all layed out nicely. They had a small gift shop in the reception and was great for us as we had had very little chance to shop to date. When it came to leave they took us back to the airport with no problems. Aero Lodge is a little gem, especially if you don't want to spend too much but have a lovely environment so close to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    122
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
59
102
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at Aero Guest Lodge in September 2013 for the day (10am-3.30pm). We were able to negotiate a half day rate (approx. US$33) which made this a great option rather than staying in the airport. I would highly recommend this as an option to other travellers who are in transit.

We had quick and helpful email responses from the staff. The lodge offered a ‘meet and greet’ service for around US$30. This meant a staff member would be in the arrival hall of OR Tambo airport holding a sign with your name on it. I felt this was an expensive service. The transfer service is free and just as easy. All we had to do was call from an airport phone box and let them know we had arrived and what we were wearing. We were asked to wait at the help desk in the arrivals hall. Around 15 minutes later a staff member arrived with a sign that said ‘Aero Guest Lodge’. It was a 10 minute drive to the lodge.

The lodge grounds and common areas were nice and homely. There was a pool, billiards table and a bar. I loved the dining room with the fire. I also thought the free tea and coffee provided was a nice touch.

We stayed in room 8. It was close to the street and we could hear some street noise. Some airplane noise was audible but was not intrusive. The room was clean, roomy, nicely decorated and suited most of our needs (shower, lunch, sleep). The bed linen and towels were good quality. There was no air-conditioning in the room. There was some mould and cracking around the ceiling cornices. The TV had 5 channels. Free Wi-Fi was available, but we didn’t use this service.

Lunch was not available at the lodge so we had to walk 50 meters to the hotel next door. We felt ok to do that, but we were offered to be driven there if we felt unsafe. Not really that familiar with the area, but there were some local people hanging out on the streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A really nice place, ideal if you are staying overnight and need transfer back and forth from the airport. Beautiful place, very nice staff, nice rooms! The dinner was good and the self-service-bar excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anaheim, california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Give Aero Guest Lodge the highest possible rating. This small 15 unit hotel pick ups and delivers to the JNB airport. Both breakfast and supper were great. The Lodge is set in a nice garden with a nice pool. Very good spot to relax before a long flight home.

Room Tip: all rooms have good QUIET locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay between flights or before heading to the airport.

It is close to the airport.
The pickup/drop off service is free and very efficient.
The staff and friendly and helpful.
The food is good.
The WiFi works.
The rooms are clean and comfortable.

All in all a very good option close to the airport and much cheaper than the city lodge or intercontinental..

Only thing to bear in mind is that the pool is currently out of order.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I found the Aero Guest Lodge on Hotwire and got an exceptionally good rate for a one night stay near the Joburg airport. The room itself was extremely neat and clean with beautiful decor and bathroom fixtures. I was also very happy that wifi was included in the room rate. But it was the extra assistance of their employee Ishmael that really caused me to write this review. I arrived into Joburg late in the evening having of course forgotten to write down the phone number of the hotel. The info desk at OR Tambo rang up the hotel and as promised Ishmael met me at the info desk within 15 minutes and brought me back to the hotel (which was exceptionally close - less than 10 minutes at that time of night from OR Tambo to inside the very secure walls of the hotel). As the reception was already closed for the evening Ishmael himself gave me a tour of the grounds, showed me where the complimentary tea and coffee were, and how to order food in the immaculately laid out dining area (unfortunately I ate on the flight so I didn't get to try to food which according to others is delicious). Then the following morning he saved me (and my friend's wedding) by waking me up at 4:30am when I overslept and making sure that I got to the airport fast enough to not miss my flight. Thanks again Ishmael, I owe you one!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very reasonable cost! Also free shuttle from airport, free hot breakfast, and free WiFi. Everyone was pleasant and welcoming. Neighborhood is not the best, but we never felt unsafe. Pictures on web site are accurate – the grounds are charming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aero Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aero Guest Lodge

Address: 81 Kempton Road | Kempton Park Extension 1, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aero Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Aero Guest Lodge is conveniently located just 2.7km from Johannesburg International Airport. It offers a variety of 13 luxury en-suite rooms all individually styled and decorated to the highest standard with private outside entrances. Set in stunning tranquil gardens, which compliment the large sparkling swimming pool, it allows all guests to enjoy the beauty, charm and serenity of the lodge in an ambience that is warm and friendly. Relax and enjoy quality and service that exceeds your expectations.Aero Guest Lodge offers tours around Pretoria, Soweto, Sun City and other areas. It also provides free airport transfers in executive vehicles.Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aero Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aero Guest Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aero Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.