We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aero Guest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aero Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Aero Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   81 Kempton Road | Kempton Park Extension 1, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 56 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
1 review
“Very friendly and good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed their overnight to catch a flight home. We were pleasantly surprised with our stay. The staff was very friendly ( they happily fittedmus all five in the one room) and the kids loved the casual open area with the pool table. The honesty bar and the free coffee station (24hrs) is a very good idea. Although the amenities and rooms were quite basic, the beds were comfortable and it was more than we expected for what we paid.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Hi,

We're very glad that you found your stay to be good value for money. We appreciate that when families are travelling they like to stay in the same room for both comfort and security for the children. We now have 3 large family rooms that can cater for between 4 and 5 people per room. I'm also very glad the children enjoyed the open area which has a pool table, television with a large selection of channels, dart board and a large outdoor pool to enjoy in the sun!

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    138
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
63
115
48
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

The Good: friendly and efficient servcie to/from the airport; well located re airport for stop over; very friendly staff who gave a good service; good size rooms and clean

The Poor: very noisy due to the airport (operates through most of the night) and the road ..... rooms are not double glazed as you find at most airport locations; the room we had (14) was tired and needed some refurbisment, certainly noy "luxury" ......... no door on the bathroom ( this was not a design feature, the door had been removed)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding the size and cleaniness of the rooms as well as the efficient shuttle service, we like to make sure our guests are picked up promptly following arrival at OR Tambo Johannesburg International airport - both pick up and drop off are free of charge. We have two rooms in the lodge that are open plan is design and both rooms 12 and 14 have won awards for there innovative design. The other 11 rooms in the lodge all have private en-suite bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Good start to our holiday. Clean, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Good breakfast. Stayed here the last night also and had a day room, as late flight home.Smooth airport pick ups and Charles the driver took us to Soweto on the last day. Great trip and he was very entertaining. Would stay again. Much more preferable to boring chain hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your kind comments mentioning how clean comfortable and friendly our lodge is. We do have our own on-site tour company that do very exicting and informative tours of local attractions including Soweto - a "must do" if you are only in the Jo'burg area for a short period of time. I passed on yoor kind words to Charles and he really appreciated the feedback on how much you enjoyed your tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here twice in January and February 2012; Once on arrival in South Africa and again on the way home. The room on the first occasion was suitable for our needs but the one on the second was much better-- much more up to date. On both occasions the airport pick up worked smoothly, even though they were both late at night.
The place is very convenient for onward trips to the Kruger, as it is on the eastern side on the city and you are already part way there and don't have to negotiate city traffic. The breakfasts are very filling and plentiful.

On the second occasion we had a whole day to fill and went on their Aero tours trip to Soweto--a trip I can highly recommend and Charles the driver and guide is very Knowledgeable.

Because we then had to wait until midnight for a flight, we arranged to have a "day room" at short notice and this was very helpful to us.

I would happily stay here for longer as its much more pleasant than a standard airport hotel, where you could be in any hotel in any city in the world.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for mentioning how comfortable the rooms are and that our staff looked after you at short notice. Thank you for also mentioning how much you enjoyed the day tour with Charles our tour guide. I passed the comments onto him that you enjoyed your tour and found him informative and friendly. I also told the kitchen staff that you enjoyed the breakfast!

Kind regards,
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The lodge close to OR Tambo Airport is very convenient. Rooms are nice and staff is very helpfull. Shuttle service to the airport or the train station (or wherever you want to go actually) is prompt, clean and safe. Meals are good value. Great place to stay before a flight

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for mentioning how you liked the rooms and the staff were very helpful on your stay. Thank you for also mentioning how prompt and reliable our complimentary airport shuttle service is. We are very experinced at airport collection so rest assured if you book with us we'll do all we can to ensure a smooth, hassle free transfer to and from the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Well located for airport. Lovely rooms. friendly staff. Good value. A great stopover.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Hi,

Thank you so much for your kind words and we're glad you enjoyed the service. I can see you that you have written a few reviews on Trip Advisor, and have done some travelling, so I'm happy that you were satisfied will all that we offered.

We offer 24 hour complimentary airport collection when you book with us.

Thank you and keep travelling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aero Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aero Guest Lodge

Address: 81 Kempton Road | Kempton Park Extension 1, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aero Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Aero Guest Lodge is conveniently located just 2.7km from Johannesburg International Airport. It offers a variety of 13 luxury en-suite rooms all individually styled and decorated to the highest standard with private outside entrances. Set in stunning tranquil gardens, which compliment the large sparkling swimming pool, it allows all guests to enjoy the beauty, charm and serenity of the lodge in an ambience that is warm and friendly. Relax and enjoy quality and service that exceeds your expectations.Aero Guest Lodge offers tours around Pretoria, Soweto, Sun City and other areas. It also provides free airport transfers in executive vehicles.Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aero Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aero Guest Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aero Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.