We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay near the Johannesburg airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aero Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aero Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Aero Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   81 Kempton Road | Kempton Park Extension 1, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 56 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay near the Johannesburg airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed at Aero Guest Lodge both going and coming from our safari in Botswana and had a wonderful experience. It could not be more convenient (just a couple of kms from the airport); we waited just 10 minutes for our transfer from friendly van driver Charles, and owner Adrian gave us a warm welcome and showed us around the property. Our family of four was very comfortable in the Family Room (a queen bed and two singles), which also had a spacious en-suite bathroom with both tub and freestanding shower. While the winter nights were chilly, a space heater in the room kept us toasty. Daytime temps warm up to the 20s(C)/70s(F), however, and while it was still too cool to brave the swimming pool, we enjoyed sitting in the sunshine in the chairs that look onto the verdant gardens that surround the lodge. It's a beautiful oasis in the middle of your typical light-industrial feel to most airport-proximate neighborhoods, and we felt very safe. The room was an excellent value, considering the high price of major hotels near Tambo Airport that are a lot less atmospheric or personable. An added highlight was the terrific hot breakfast that came with the price of the room--we were able to order off a menu that included eggs benedict, omelettes and a large traditional English or South African breakfast, as well as cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc., and brewed coffee, which is surprisingly hard to come by in much of Africa! The little restaurant on the premises also serves simple dinners (additional cost) in a cozy setting, with a wood fireplace that lends added ambience. We loved Aero Guest Lodge and we'll definitely stay again if we return to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    138
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
63
115
48
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed at the family room for two nights recently. The rooms were extremely spacious, lovely, comfortable,clean and had heaters. Excellent value for money. Booking was easy via an email and we were shown our room before we paid for it. What we appreciated the most was the warmth and cheerfulness exuded by both the owner Adrian and the staff. It is a ten minute drive from the airport. And in another ten minute drive, u can reach the emperor palace casino which has many restaurants to dine in. The apartheid museum was twenty kms away and so not far... Recommend as a great place to stay in...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed at Aero for 2 nights during our recent stay to Johannesburg. We booked via email and their response was immediate with confirmation. The pick up from the airport was effecient. Charlie the driver was very freindly and since we landed at almost midnight this was exactly what we were hoping for! when we got to the Lodge Belinda who was on duty was waiting for us, she showed us around the lodge and took us to our room. Since it was very cold there was already a heater so by the time we were inside the room it was warm.
Everything was perfect, the duvets, the beds, the showers we didn't see or find anything to complain about. Yes i do agree that the area can be noisy but then again so are most areas in New York and London. I don't see why this needs to be an issue as i feel some of my fellow readers have exaggerated about the noise. There are tea & coffee making facilities in the room, a tv with local and a few international channels and there is also a menu from the nearby fast food chains where you can order the food and it will be delivered to the lodge and your room!
The breakfast was nice and there is a very homely and cosy feeling to Aero. There is a lovely fire place too. The staff are really nice and helpful & since it is small, they give you personalised attention. There is a little plunge pool, a lounge with an english pool & table, an honesty bar and they even arrange for tours if you want. They can also arrange for trips to the shopping malls at a reasonable fee depending on what you want. The gardens are lovely and so is the setting in general. What i loved most about this place was that their rooms are strictly non smoking and therefore there was always a fresh smell and feel to them. They also provided a private transfer for us to Sandton.
I would have absolutely no problem in recommending Aero Guest Lodge. Please do not allow other people's negative and petty opinion discourage you from staying at this beautiful place! What makes a place worth staying at is the people who make you feel welcome regardless of the size and location and I can say that Aero was the highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: Loved the family room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here on our last day in South Africa,we had a pleasant surprise in the guest lodge.

The room was nice(yes there was a bit of noise but nothing that kept us awake),lovely powerful shower,honesty bar,a great little place for stop offs .
We had a lovely breakfast and hung out for a few hrs in the sun by the pool and in the nice grounds which was lovely prior to our transfer to the airport (which is literally a stones throw away).
The owner Adrian was very nice,very informative and helpful.We had half a day to kill before our flight and he set us up with a very experienced tour guide called

Walter Rabothata of Ketedi Travel & Tours.
This guy is from Soweto and was involoved in the1976 student uprisings and trains all the local agents.We did a half day tour in Soweto with another couple with Walter (booked the night before through Adrian) which was so personal and very interesting,he took us to the best spots and areas.Soweto is not as expected,it is very modern and up & coming.

The area that the Guesthouse is in looks a bit dodgy and all the guesthouses & homes all have security guys & gates....but this is just how it is in South Africa and especially Jberg.We felt safe here.
Anyway for an airport lodge-exactly as it says on the tin.Thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

After reading all the reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to stay here for our first 2 nights in South Africa. When we arrived at the airport we called the lodge and were picked up very fast by the complimentary shuttle service. The room we had was very nice but had a few major drawbacks. At night it was cold in the room and there was nothing available to heat it. Also there was a LOT of noise from the street, traffic going through almost all night. Other reviews stated noise from airplanes but that was nothing compared to the noise of the traffic. But the worse thing was the shower. It didn't get very warm and almost no water came out. I have long hair and decided not to wash it because I was afraid the shampoo wouldn't come out... The breakfast was good and the lodge has a beautiful garden with swimming pool. The surroundings of the lodge were kind of dodgy, we didn't feel good walking in the surrounding streets so we didn't. Conclusion: it is a nice place to look at (after you passed the gate) but wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Pleasant location near Tambo Airport with comfortable and spacious rooms and bathrooms,
Very friendly staff, warm welcoming and reception when arriving and departing, very good breakfast.
It is not near the center of town, but close to the airport, easly reachable with complimentary shuttle transfers from Tambo Airport.
Nice place in a quite neighborhood, good price/quality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We spent one night at the hotel before a trip to the Kruger park. The location near the Tambo airport is perfect, the complementary transportation is very efficient. The hotel is pleasant, with nice rooms and excellent service. Friendly owner and staff, Good breakfast served in the morning. Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aero Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aero Guest Lodge

Address: 81 Kempton Road | Kempton Park Extension 1, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aero Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Aero Guest Lodge is conveniently located just 2.7km from Johannesburg International Airport. It offers a variety of 13 luxury en-suite rooms all individually styled and decorated to the highest standard with private outside entrances. Set in stunning tranquil gardens, which compliment the large sparkling swimming pool, it allows all guests to enjoy the beauty, charm and serenity of the lodge in an ambience that is warm and friendly. Relax and enjoy quality and service that exceeds your expectations.Aero Guest Lodge offers tours around Pretoria, Soweto, Sun City and other areas. It also provides free airport transfers in executive vehicles.Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aero Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aero Guest Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aero Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.