We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience is key to its attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Convenience is key to its attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

This was our first lodging in South Africa and based upon on later experiences, the value for the money comes in the fact that it is an inside walk from the airport terminals to the hotel.

After 30 hours and 3 flights we were greated by a professional, but not very friendly, front desk person. Our room was looking away from the airport. The wind was so strong that a breeze was coming through the entire circumference of the window and creating a very loud whistling sound. When we called the front desk, we were told that was the condition in every room and nothing could be done about it and they wouldn't change our room. We proceeded to do a makeshift
weatherstrip of the window, which helped considerably.

After getting past that incident (and a few hours later the winds calmed considerably), the remainder of the stay was very pleasant. The room had both a big bath and shower. The linens were nice. The lighting could be improved.

The breakfast buffet was outstanding with plentiful choices and cooked to order eggs.

For the location, I'd stay here again. Otherwise, I expect that I could get better value and service elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We thank you for the constructive review. We're glad you enjoyed the standard of the rooms as well as the various breakfast options. With regard to the issue of the wind, we will certainly look into this. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    309
    65
    18
    7
See reviews for
66
161
62
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

City Lodge is probably the most convenience airport hotel I've stayed in anywhere. An easy 5 minute walk from arrival hall. Excellent staff and service, nice rooms. The only thing that keeps City Lodge from a 5 star rating is the food. Coffee shop food––sandwiches, salads, snacks––not a real restaurant––lot's of room for improvement.

Room Tip: Third floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We thank you for the informative review. We're glad that you enjoyed the convenience and standard of the rooms as well as our friendly staff. We will look into your issue regarding the food offerings as we do with these matters. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We arrived in Johannesburg after 24 hours hours of flying and layover time from Seattle, WA. After exiting the immigration area it was a 5-10 minute walk inside the terminal and a one floor elevator ride to the hotel. That is actually shorter than some of the walking required to get from the plane to the baggage claim area.

The hotel was very nice, the staff were also very nice. There is a dining area that that serves light meals for dinner: sandwiches, wraps, soaps and other related items. While probably not what most people would want if you were staying for several days (but most people would stay more than one night anyway), but it is find for a meal after hours of flying and eating on the plane. The breakfast buffet was another story. There was a huge assortment of foods and everything was tasty.

After breakfast, it was just the short 5-10 minute walk back to the terminal area and the rental car locations where we picked up our car. No taxi's, airport shuttles, rental car shuttles. Just a very easy place to stay.

We were only there for about 12 hours,but all was good. The only complaint was the 1 hour of free wifi. It is all dependent on how many users there are. 1 user gets one hour,if you have a family of four it works out to only 15 minutes. Although we did find out that the 1 hour resets each day, so if you stay over night you can have two hours total, which is enough for 1 person and pretty good for 2.

Room Tip: Don't have a tip. Our room was perfect, other than being almost at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We thank you so much for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed how easy our hotel is to access for airport visitors. We're also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast service and that the staff were friendly too. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I am writing to thank the reservations department of City Lodge for booking me a guaranteed reservation for my late-arriving flight. My browser would not work with the online reservations, and I emailed to secure my spot.They were wonderful.

Since I am traveling alone, and have never been to the country, I truly appreciate how the reservations department went above and beyond to secure a room. Additionally, they made sure it would be held until my flight arrived, which is after the 6pm release time.

The reservation agent also offered airport tips (exact walking directions) and travel advice. She truly put my mind at ease.

I am looking forward to my stay. Thank you Rose, Phumzile, Mariska and Zanele.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We thank you so much for the wonderful review. We're happy that your reservation and check-in went smoothly and we're glad that the staff were friendly and helpful. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libreville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The location of this hotel is very strategic.
You would hardly miss your flight, in fact I left the hotel in the morning, went and completed my check-in processes, then went back to have my breakfast and was still on time for departure.
Good helpdesk assistance, nice meals at breakfast and dinner (was not able to have lunch here because of time).
Nice place to stay, check it out.

Rgds,
Xavier Talla

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We thank you for the great review. We're glad that you had a smooth check-in and we're happy you also enjoyed the meals you had with us. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great hotel, fine welcome by staff, reservations all ready, no errors in booking, check in fast and efficient. These are all the things you want when you arrive late at night and you are tired after a long flight. Well this is what you can expect to receive at this hotel.
The walk to the hotel is quite far from the terminals when you are tired, but so is everything along the huge airport. Be warned that after around 10h30 to 11h00 PM there is no food available, the Delivery services in the area don't deliver, the hotel does not have room service, the local fast food back at the main terminal closes. There are some snack machines and soda machines in the lobby at the hotel.
Rooms are comfortable, beds are comfortable, nothing wrong for an overnight stay, all was very pleasant. check out was fast, concierge were very friendly.

Room Tip: Remember to inform the Hotel about your arrival time especially late arrivals. The rooms are fairly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We thank you for the great review. We're pleased you found the check-in smooth and efficient, as well as the friendly staff. We hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Hotel for a night. The rooms were loverly and clean but the customer service ranged between poor and excellent depending on which staff members you dealt with. Faith at Reception being EXCELLENT!! Lunch service on the pool deck was poor.... We tried to give hotel the benefit of the doubt and invited family to join us for dinner, 2 out of the 5 orders arrived after 30 minutes and the other 3 meals arrived 20 minutes later. Unimpressed one of the people in our party requested to see the manager. Upon her arrival she was not very apologetic and mumbled something about speaking to the kitchen, that the portion size was the portion that they served. She sighed and said "i will put your drinks on to my own account". I had ordered a beef curry for R90 and received soggy rice and a small bowl of curry that was mainly potatoawaits 6 small peaches of beef. So if you are looking for a nice room and average service then this is the place to stay but please eat out.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.