We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wifi = 1 hour/day. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Free wifi = 1 hour/day. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

No problems checking in.

They say they offer free wifi internet. Here I was thinking unlimited wifi. Nope..
They just don't advertise that you get one hour each day. For a business person that would be unacceptable.
When Internet was not working I was told that maybe I should just buy one of their wifi packages so I wouldn't have any problems.

Please don't advertise free wifi when you only give 1 hour per day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have arisen with regards to our complimentary Wi-Fi offering. Please note that as of January 2014 we increased the complimentary Wi-Fi limit from 15 minutes to one hour per day and plan to continue upgrading this offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    271
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
57
135
56
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jabbeke, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We arrived at 10pm at the airport and at first we wanted to stay in the airport, waiting for our 7am flight. We then stumbled upon the City Lodge hotel and they still had a room available. The service was wonderful, price affordable and the room was great. We were glad we could still sleep for a couple hours and freshen up. Would definitely stay here again if we have another layover at OR Tambo Airport!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We’re so glad that you “stumbled upon us” and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The City Lodge OR Tambo is very convenient for the airport and is located wholly within the terminal complex so there is no need to go outside. The room is of a good size, clean and with a good bathroom. There is a restaurant at the hotel serving basic food at a decent price. Don't expect gourmet dining but if you want something to eat before a morning flight without going outside of the airport then it serves its purpose.
There's not a lot to really say. Front desk were helpful and friendly and the overall experience was very satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We’re happy to hear that you found your experience with us very satisfactory. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

A gluten free meal seems beyond the in house restaurant. The rest of the hotel seems really fine - nice rooms, well appointed, and friendly staff. The restaurant seems to believe no meal is complete without a sandwich, a baguette, or a wrap. And if you ask for the chicken without the noodles - don't expect extra veg. #sigh

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and friendly staff. We will look into your comments regarding our food offering. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very nice hotel right at JNB. A little further walk than the InterContinental. But, less cost, very nice, great breakfast buffet. Nice beds, small TV, only 1 hour free Internet service. Very clean and modern.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I've stayed here twice in the last two months.. plus several times in recent years. I regularly book clients there who need an overnight at the airport. I know of no other airport hotel so accessible from the Terminals. I timed the walk through the covered walkway from the Terminal to the elevator that takes you to the hotel lobby - 5 minutes. Compared to the competing off-airport hotels, this one is so easy to use that the extra maybe $20 a night is money well spent. Rooms are clean, have a tub and a shower, coffee and tea. Breakfast is a good buffet of cereals, fruits and cheeses, breads and juice.. and then you can order a hot meal, too. I'll be there twice again later this year on my next trips to South Africa.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are always pleased to have you come stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is very easy to get to and convenient from the terminal. There is no need to leave the building and it is easy to walk back to the shops and restaurants in the terminal if you want to without leaving the building even.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped, the hotel has a nice pool and courtyard, the food in the bar/café/restaurant is fine although nothing fancy or amazing.
Very much quieter than I would have thought and a good comfortable, safe and convenient place to stay if you want to be close to the airport. Could even come just for 6-8hrs as very quick to get to although clearing customs to get out of the airport is sometimes slow.....
I would definitely return here if flight connections meant an overnight stay in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the clean rooms, pool area and restaurant. We hope hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.