We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Orapa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've stayed at this lodge for 5 days when i went to SA on a business trip towards the end of 2012. Everything is fyn except dinner, which i felt was expensive and did not come in varieties, one had to eat the same thing everyday. I'll advice one to have his or her dinner at the nearby restaurant within airport terminal complex as its a 5 minutes walk to get there, cheaper and with more variety provided. As for breakfast, the price is reasonable, considering the variety and self service

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    268
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
56
133
56
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions when I have had to stay overnight in Johannesburg to catch a connecting flight. Extremely efficient and pleasant check in procedure with very clean and comfortable rooms.Have never used most of the available facilities due to the short duration of the stays. Have never eaten in the restaurant because it is so easy to walk to the airport terminal for a meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night en route to Namibia after our South African roundtrip.

This hotel is situated on top of a multi-storey car parking where the rental car drop off is also located. The hotel is part of the airport terminal complex and a 5-10 minute walk from the terminal.

Fast, friendly and efficient check-in/check-out. They allowed us an early check-in. As each room can only accommodate 2 people, we had two adjoining rooms: one with a double bed and the other with twin beds. Spacious rooms with tea and coffee making. We didn’t experience any noise from the airport as the rooms were well insulated, but we asked for a quiet room away from the airport side.

Our rate included an excellent breakfast with lots of options. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant. Dinner selection was limited but the Greek salad and the ravioli ricotta were tasty and not expensive. You can also walk to the airport food court for more choice.

Nice courtyard with a small pool for a nice dip (water very cold in August) and sun beds. There are screens In the lobby showing the arrivals and departures of airlines.

A word of caution: Check-in for flights are a mess at OR Tambo, long lines and not enough counters to check-in. Very slow proceeding. When it was our turn to check-in, they were already boarding. Long lines also at security. A chaos. Take that into account and allow more than enough time.

Room Tip: Room away from the airport side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on quite a few occasions, always for 1 night, in or out of the airport and generally through Bid2Stay, because it's on the weekend. At B2Stay prices, this is a value hotel, but at R1200 a night, it's expensive, when compared to US or European hotels, especially as the rooms are very 'plastic' and the facilities limited. The restaurants are OK, but expensive and the staff not too well trained!! Breakfast, when there 3 months ago, was R95 ($12), very expensive. It's often easier, cheaper and you get a lot more variety, to take the 5 minute walk to the airport and eat there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

hotel, I stayed here on a few occasions now travelling as always part of a flight crew staying overnight.

The reception staff are very friendly. Hotel is very clean. Room tidy. Beds comfortable. Pool small but god for just a dip! The hotel does have a gym but never had time to use it or see the size of it.

Breakfast is excellent choice of food. Fresh cooked omelettes if you want. Continental or full English if you want.

Excellent location for the airport. Ideal on a transit stop or first/last night of a holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is easy to access and within the airport, there is no need to take a shuttle. Very well designed and an engineers dream.

Rooms are very clean with sufficient space. Staff is friendly.

Food wasn't very good and breakfast very over priced. I would recommend to eat in one of the coffee shops or restaurants inside the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toamasina (Tamatave), Madagascar
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed twice at City Lodge over the holidays at the end of 2012 as part of transfers with the safari company Go2Africa. The accessibility to the airport is very good and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are very good (though it requires extra work to get a second coffee) and we had a nice meal on New Year's Eve as the only guests in the restaurant. There were only really two negative experiences that make me lower the rating: (1) we had to move floors (after unpacking) after learning that the air conditioning on our entire floor was out of order, and (2) having housekeeping knock on our doors at 8:30 AM on New Year's Day ( the one day you really want to sleep in) asking us when we planned to check out and then mistakenly telling us check out was at 10 AM (it was really 11). Had it not been for these two problems, we could have easily rated the hotel as "very good".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.