We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't confuse CL OR Tambo with CL Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't confuse CL OR Tambo with CL Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I have stayed here twice now, once overnight with my wife, as we collected our daughter from a flight into OR Tambo. The second visit was 3 nights on business with a colleague.

The hotel is very well laid out, and very convenient for the business traveller. Coming from Zimbabwe, and using an Innsider benefit card has significant advantages. I love being able to walk through to the airport, eat a meal and feel the buzz of the travellers. There are a number of shops in the airport which only close at 22.00, which makes getting some essentials together very easy.

I enjoyed using the well equipped gym, which is open 24/7. There is plenty of lounge seating for meetings and guests, with internet access throughout the hotel. There is complimentary 15 minute access daily, and we did not find the tariffs too expensive.

There are a couple of drawbacks, the breakfast is very expensive - walk into the airport if you must eat before you go out. After breakfast closes at 09.30, there is no way to get coffee until 12 noon!! Not sure why, just seems to be the way things are done.

Our check-ins were handled efficiently, and our early entry was facilitated for no extra charge.

City Lodge OR Tambo, you have a repeat customer right here!!

PS, to avoid confusion, City Lodge Airport is located 2 km westward on the R24.... you can't walk to it from the airport!!

Room Tip: I like to leave my curtains open - ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    308
    65
    18
    7
See reviews for
66
161
62
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nauru
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed for a day (not overnight) while in transit.

The hotel is really convenient, which is it's primary drawcard (no shuttle buses), but it is also new so the rooms are not worn and the bathroom is nicer than in many hotels of this category (separate bath and shower - bonus!). The room was very comfortable and we have no complaints on that front.

The indoor restaurant area is quite sterile and airport-loungey, but there is a nice little courtyard by the pool which is pleasant to have lunch in. The lunch menu is limited but adequate (room service can be ordered from a couple of restaurants external to the hotel).

Will definitely stay here again if I have a long layover or an early morning flight.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytmoss
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I had to stay one night at a hotel near the airport and this was recommended to me based on price. The rooms were average but clean. I was not looking for luxury nor did I find any. They do charge for internet access but it was pretty expensive.

I did need some assistance from the front desk during check out. I was being picked up by someone and I realized that I did not know if they knew how to find me. The lobby access is not on the ground floor. All of the staff there was about as unhelpful as they could be. There is no concierge desk, so all the staff could do was refer me to a pay phone. I had no rand on me nor knowledge of how the pay phone system worked nor how to call information. I was absolutely astounded on how useless the staff was.

I had breakfast there, the food was OK at best. There was a buffet and much of the food was not hot, only luke warm. It was edible.

I would stay there again because of the price, its 1/2 the cost of the Intercontinent, but do not expect much other than a nice warm bed, a TV and convenience of walking distance from the airport.

Mike

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

You just cannot get a hotel better than the City Lodge OR Tambo for an overnight stay while you wait for your connecting flight. There are "I" Information counters in the airport to assist you on how to get to the City Lodge. You walk from the airport across to the hotel along side the parking structure which has all of the rental cars parked in it as well. We did not want to have to deal with a shuttle when we arrived and certainly did not want to have to deal with a shuttle for our early flight the next morning! The signs to get to the hotel are well displayed. Our check-in was fast and friendly. We were offered a welcome drink and given the room of our choice...a quiet one on an upper floor. The room was nicely furnished. The bathroom was clean and well outfitted. Only drawback was there was no mirror close enough to do make-up so that was a bit of a stretch. We had dinner in the cafe downstairs. Unfortunately, the menu is sparse. The wine offerings were nice. The room service menu offers more selections, but after sitting on an airplane we wanted to stretch our legs. We got our rate on bid2stay which was a bargain! Staff everywhere was friendly. Checkout was fast! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on an upper floor facing the interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
585 helpful votes 585 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We have stayed here many times, since the hotel opened up two years ago. It's convenient especially when we have an early morning flight, or have a lot of luggage to bring back to our home in Luanda, Angola.

The rooms are well-laid out, good size, and the bathrooms are very nice, including a nice bath tub; there are plenty of towels. The bed linens are good quality, and there are plenty of pillows.

There is a 21" TV, which is a good size, with several channels for viewing.

There is a safe in the room, a desk, with several plug ins, and a regular size hairdryer (love that feature!)

Dislikes: having to pay R90 for breakfast (approximately US $15.00), normally, a double room goes for R1,309 when booked online. That's slightly over $220 a night.

Love: being able to walk over to the terminal, and whenever I have a lot of luggage, any of the porters inside the hotel will gladly help bring over the luggage to the terminal.

The gym is very nice, by the way, small, but functional.

Overall, I would recommend staying here when you are tight on time, jor have a very early morning flight. But if you have some time to spare in the morning, better stay at any of the other hotels nearby (including other City Lodges), and save almost $100!

Room Tip: All the rooms are basically the same. Ask for a room facing the Gautrain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We chose the City Lodge because we didn't want to be waiting for a shuttle bus at the airport at Johannesburg after an evening arrival. They responded to our booking email promptly, and as we were booking multiple rooms for a family made sure they were close together and interconnecting.

The location turned out to be great. Just follow the signs to the the Parkades from Terminal A, and and the signs are easy to find from there. Only 5 minutes walk and easy with luggage. Easily close enough to have dinner at the airport They had our reservation, and the room numbers were as promised in their email.

The rooms were clean, not cramped, and nicely furnished. Perfectly fine for an overnight airport stay. I'd even consider this hotel for a couple of night stay in Joburg, as the train from the airport gets you into Sandton shopping cheaply in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Another night in Johannesburg was not on our itinerary but an unscheduled and long flight delay meant a change in plans. City Lodge was about a third the cost of the nearby Inter-Continental and things only got better. The hotel is part of the airport complex and the international terminal was only a few minutes walk via a safe undercover walkway past the carparks. This also means easy access to shopping and food outlets in the airport if you have some time to spare.This was a last minute check in but the process was friendly and efficient. The room was new, clean and well appointed. We had a decent meal in a bistro style restaurant and a good nights sleep.

We had stayed for a few nights in suburban Johannesburg earlier in the month and had enjoyed our stay but if we return to Jo'berg City Lodge would be our choice,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.