We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airport Hotel but nothing more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg to your Saves list
Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg
Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good airport Hotel but nothing more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

It will give you anything you need: a clean room and bed, a breakfast and free airport transfer. The restaurant is good too. But two things were disturbing: the staff was overcharged when there were three people trying to check in at the same time. Second: they will provide you with a Voucher for free WiFi use but WiFi will work in lobby and restaurant only, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lautoka, Fiji
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

The free airport transfers are extremely efficient.

Staff were very welcoming and, although I arrived at 9am, a room was made available for me almost immediately. The hotel is not much to look at externally but the bedrooms (I was in the main hotel and not the annex) are nicely decorated and clean with a very comfortable bed.

I had lunch and dinner in the restaurant and was more than satisfied with the menu and the quality of food. Breakfast is included in the rate and there was a cooked option available.

All in all, incredibly good value if you are transiting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The Aviator is a really nice place if you are looking for a stop over hotel close to JoBurgs airport. It has all the flair you come to expect from a modern, hip place and the staff is just lovely!! Free (fast) wifi, free shuttle, free breakfast, etc. The water in the big pool was a little cold though.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimbabwe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I had problems to book on line and so phoned through my reservation. I then discovered that would be 40% extra !! I explained the problem to the manager by e-mail and they promptly gave me a credit. There are two hotels in the same group ( Life Hotels ) facing each other across a narrow street. The Aviator is a bit more up-market than the OR Tambo , which seems to be a block of flats converted. Its rooms are quite odd therefore in lay-out. However the noise wasnt too bad ( how to avoid it as it is pretty close ). Staff were nice and friendly, food was OK . The only gripe I have was that the airport transfers are not well co-ordinated. The VERY poor signs inside the OR Tambo Airport itself are hopeless: cant understand how such a new airport has such lousy directions inside the complex.

Room Tip: book on line only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed overnight at the Aviator side of Life Hotels and it was quite nice. Nothing fancy, but great staff and very close to the OR Tambo Airport. They picked us from our flight too.
Food was good, breakfast included.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

This hotel was dissappointing. Even though I was only going to stay for one night in Joburg on my way to Hoedspruit, I had hoped to stay at a nice hotel close to the airport. The pictures of the Life Hotel made me believe that this was kind of a boutique hotel. Oh boy was I wrong! The only good thing about the hotel was its proximity to the Airport. I had to wait almost one hour to my transfer to the hotel and once there, the hotel looked like a car parking lot, which has been adapted for accomodation.
Next time in Joburg, I would stay some where else!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

I traveled to J'Burg for one night enroute to Kruegar from USA. I arrived quite late and upon arrival the kitchen was closed. My sister and our friend had already arrived but had not eaten. We went to restaurant and Johnson , our waiter immediatly went to the kitchen and was able to produce some great fish and chips for us and enticed kitchen staff to stay to prepare it. He was so personable and accomodating. The room was clean and neat. We left after one night as we had a long drive but on our next trip will spend more time. Everyone we met at hotel was very nice and shuttle to hotel was on time as promised. The hotel is very clean and beds were very comforatble.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg

Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Life Hotels Airport Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.